Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yin Yoga A quiet practice
This slim volume (118 pages) by Paul Grilley has much of interest for yoga practitioners. It has only 6 chapters and a bibliography, which has not just the titles of references but also, usefully, a brief description of what's to be found in each recommended text. The first chapter describes the meridian theory, which hypothesises that the meridians, along which flows...
Published on 1 Mar 2005 by Jenniconn

versus
4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars possibly the worst yoga book I have ever bought
and I have a fairly extensive collection... Dull uninspiring pictures, all fairly insipid looking. The whole principle of the book I find questionable. What's wrong with just 'restorative' yoga or 'easy' yoga - which is what is basically yin yoga all about. I can get more information on a good restorative yoga sequence by looking up old 'yoga journal' magazines. Dont...
Published on 24 Nov 2007 by Louisa Philippé


Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yin Yoga A quiet practice, 1 Mar 2005
This review is from: Yin Yoga: Outline of a Quiet Practice (Paperback)
This slim volume (118 pages) by Paul Grilley has much of interest for yoga practitioners. It has only 6 chapters and a bibliography, which has not just the titles of references but also, usefully, a brief description of what's to be found in each recommended text. The first chapter describes the meridian theory, which hypothesises that the meridians, along which flows the vital energy known as chi (or prana in yogic psychic physiology) have been identified as the matrix of connective tissue that surrounds every structure in the body. The author explains that Yin yoga is the practice of yoga postures that involve staying in each posture for several minutes, in order to allow slow stretching of the vital (yin) connective tissue structures, mainly the ligaments and tendons. Muscles should be relaxed during this holding. More active (yang) postures include those that are performed more dynamically, as in Power Yoga, or are more intrinsically yang such as back bends. The book goes on to give detailed descriptions of 23 postures, and gives four suggested routines. The final three chapters cover sitting, chakras, and the breath, mind and meditation. A tall order indeed in less than 30 pages. Overall the book gives much food for thought. In my view it is not really suitable for beginners, the suggested routines being very interesting but quite challenging, with little in the way of warm up. And more experienced practitioners may well find themselves (as I did) writing in the more usual names for the postures. For example, halasana the plough is called snail pose; and savasana the relaxation pose is called pentacle. For these reasons although I continue to use the book I have only given it 4 stars. Paul Grilley's DVD on Anatomy for Yoga is linked with this book and is fascinating, definitely 5 stars. Readers may also find "Acu-Yoga" by Michael Reed Gach of interest, as it explores the links between yoga and acupressure in more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspired read for anyone who's interested in yoga, 29 Oct 2004
This review is from: Yin Yoga: Outline of a Quiet Practice (Paperback)
Paul Grilley's book contains all you need to know to try out this wonderful style of yoga at home. It's a great mix of practical instruction and theory - yoga teachers interested in Yin Yoga will find it a useful teaching aid while students who've been practicing for some time will find the approach outlined in this book a great way to shake up their practice and try something new.
The writing style is non-fussy throughout with helpful diagrams to explain the anatomy and theory where necessary. There are photos to accompany each posture and the variations are included too so you can take a look and make sure you've got it right. What's really useful is the bibliography where the author credits all the reading and reasearch that inspired him to write the book - great if, like me, you want to know more! Perhaps my favourite thing about this book is the author's tone - it's confident and encouraging throughout, like any good yoga teacher should be!
As a teacher, I would have found a section on contraindications included but aside from that, I can honestly say this is one of the most useful, informative and inspiring yoga books I have found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book , clear , quiet and informative, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yin Yoga: Outline of a Quiet Practice (Paperback)
a very useful book with sequences, good information , great to use without a teacher. i am a yoga teacher and have used this to change my personal practice. thank you paul grilley you are a great teacher. loved the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful introduction to Yoga, 21 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yin Yoga: Outline of a Quiet Practice (Paperback)
I have always been a bit mystified by yoga and unable to get started, especially as I don't feel attracted to the idea of going to a class. This book was suggested to me and it is exactly what was needed, simple, straightforward yet deeply meaningful and informative. The list of positions, with clear photographs is so easy to follow. Much of the content on meditation and chakras seems to be very advanced, but clear and open;there is no attempt to make you feel a beginner, or that your are dabbling into hidden secrets for which you are not ready. My practice at home has started thanks to this book and I feel all the effects of yoga I knew were attainable. I am very grateful for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't hesitate! Go for it! This is well worth reading and practice!, 31 May 2011
By 
Marie Söderberg (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yin Yoga: Outline of a Quiet Practice (Paperback)
This is a great book no matter whether you are a beginner or already an experienced practitioner. I appreciate the whole theoretical introduction which gives a great fundamental understanding when it comes to the practice of yinyoga. Here, there are photos which gives you a clear and easy picture of how to start and even continue.
Moreover, there are some advanced practices as well for those who feel like having a go.

The book has been created by one of the pioneers of contemporary yinyoga which is also why I truly recommend it, rather than reading and get practice of others who might think they do yinyoga but in fact practice something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good complement for his author's DVD, 28 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Yin Yoga: Outline of a Quiet Practice (Paperback)
This book it's a bit superficial, but it's great as a compliment of his author's DVD on yin yoga. The pictures in the book are very good and the explanations to get into the asanas are fine too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow and very effective, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yin Yoga: Outline of a Quiet Practice (Paperback)
Very easy to follow. Found the sequences very effective for easing the aches and pains of playing a lot of sport. What I really liked was that the moves were very efficient.. you did not need to use many complicated poses, the book just seemed to focus on what was effective.
A kindle edition and all would be perfect..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars possibly the worst yoga book I have ever bought, 24 Nov 2007
This review is from: Yin Yoga: Outline of a Quiet Practice (Paperback)
and I have a fairly extensive collection... Dull uninspiring pictures, all fairly insipid looking. The whole principle of the book I find questionable. What's wrong with just 'restorative' yoga or 'easy' yoga - which is what is basically yin yoga all about. I can get more information on a good restorative yoga sequence by looking up old 'yoga journal' magazines. Dont waste your money on this book if you want to buy something worth keeping get, Moving into Stillness by Erich Schiffman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yin Yoga: Outline of a Quiet Practice
Yin Yoga: Outline of a Quiet Practice by Paul Grilley (Paperback - 1 Sep 2002)
Used & New from: £8.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews