Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good study for those interested in faces
I can see by the review below that if you're looking for a quick route to being the next Darren Brown this book might be less than expected but then I don't think one book will fast track you anywhere in that direction, especially if you only read half of it! But if you are someone really interested in facial perception this book is invaluable. It explains all the...
Published on 24 Jun. 2007 by Ms. P.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too technical and too many details
I have read many books on this topic but I couldn't really finish this one. It's insufferable to get to the end, too many useless technical details and very little substance apt to remember. In my opinion.
Published 21 months ago by Alessandro Bottazzi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good study for those interested in faces, 24 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Unmasking the Face: A Guide to Recognizing Emotions from Facial Expressions (Paperback)
I can see by the review below that if you're looking for a quick route to being the next Darren Brown this book might be less than expected but then I don't think one book will fast track you anywhere in that direction, especially if you only read half of it! But if you are someone really interested in facial perception this book is invaluable. It explains all the movements of the facial muscles in conjunction with each of the 6 basic emotions and explains variations. "Fear" can have at least 4 mouth positions and each one symbolises a slightly different type of anxiety or level of fear. Also interesting is the discussion of expression blends; such as Happy with disgust,anger,or surprise.

I remember seeing an advertisement a few years ago where someone was supposed to look really worried but in the closeup photo the actor just raised his eyebrows, the basic signal for surprise. The advertising company probably spent £100k on the campaign, based on facial expression, but didn't know the basic expressive signals, or see their error, they definitely should have read this book!

The Darren Brown-o-philes will be interested in Chapter 11 which explains "micro-expressions" which last less than a second but indicate the true nature of what the subject is feeling. These operate a bit like a blush, by the time you've felt it, its already happened.

If you are interested in portraiture, acting, makeup, or any kind of analysis of emotional states espressed on the face, it is a great reference book and one that is always cited in other face perception studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defining what you believe you know, 21 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. J. Anderson "J@" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasking the Face: A Guide to Recognizing Emotions from Facial Expressions (Paperback)
its easy to say this book states the obvious, but actually defines what the expressions are, and why and how they occur. its a practical book that cant be understood till it has been put to use.

The book appears simple but truthfully it defines what the true scientific understanding of face expressions is. to my knowledge its the best starting point for looking at 'micro expressions' and anyone interested in work by Paul Ekmans work. would highly recommend this book to any one.

Also to anyone who is interested in science behind 'lie to me' its a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmasking The Face, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasking the Face: A Guide to Recognizing Emotions from Facial Expressions (Paperback)
Unmasking the Face is a great read, i read through it then i went back and studied it and i found it very informative.

Ekman and Friesen do an excellent job in explaining the different emotions and not just how they look but how they feel.

Personally, I loved the book it was exactly what I wanted. Overall i'd say buy it, you wont regret it. But maybe only for people that are really into studying facial expressions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good, it was basic but I think that's the point forgivable and you go on to build your knowledge with some of Ekman's others. Emotions Revealed by Paul Ekman is next on the list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasking the Face: A Guide to Recognizing Emotions from Facial Expressions (Paperback)
A lot of this book in common sense but as you get further into the book it starts to show its true depth of knowledge of how the face expresses emotion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to learn about facial expressions, this is the book you want. From the works of Dr Paul Ekman its amazing how you can learn all about how your face can give you away. If like me you enjoyed the TV series Lie To Me, then you need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too technical and too many details, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many books on this topic but I couldn't really finish this one. It's insufferable to get to the end, too many useless technical details and very little substance apt to remember. In my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasking the Face: A Guide to Recognizing Emotions from Facial Expressions (Paperback)
Paul Ekman's research into facial expressions has always interested me as a Psychology and counselling student. I like how everything was written in detail and throroughly explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, Everything is easy wrote. I love it, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasking the Face: A Guide to Recognizing Emotions from Facial Expressions (Paperback)
Easy wrote
Nice ilustration
I like book by Paul Ekman, He is expert on nonverbalic Communication.
I Absolutely recomend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book!!, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasking the Face: A Guide to Recognizing Emotions from Facial Expressions (Paperback)
Very interesting book!!!!
I really like it! Can be very useful!
I am really happy that I bought it!!
Enjoy reading the book:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unmasking the Face: A Guide to Recognizing Emotions from Facial Expressions
Unmasking the Face: A Guide to Recognizing Emotions from Facial Expressions by Wallace V. Friesen (Paperback - 30 Sept. 2003)
£15.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews