Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars a compelling read, couldnt put it down, a good mix of characters all with believable lives and families
a great mystery of unusual circumstances and getting to know all the characters own lives and loves and guilty secrets
Published 16 months ago by Agnes Buglass

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Geddorff moy laaand !
Val McDermid grew up in Kirkcaldy, a small mining community on the east coast of Scotland and studied English at Oxford University. The books she has written featuring Tony Hill and Carol Jordan have provided the basis for the popular "Wire on the Blood" television series, while her novels have won a number of awards, including the Macavity award, the Anthony Award and...
Published on 28 May 2007 by Craobh Rua


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Geddorff moy laaand !, 28 May 2007
This review is from: Common Murder (Paperback)
Val McDermid grew up in Kirkcaldy, a small mining community on the east coast of Scotland and studied English at Oxford University. The books she has written featuring Tony Hill and Carol Jordan have provided the basis for the popular "Wire on the Blood" television series, while her novels have won a number of awards, including the Macavity award, the Anthony Award and Grand Prix des Romans d'Aventure. "Common Murder" is her second novel and - like her first - features journalist, Lindsay Gordon. The book was first published in 1989.

Lindsay is now living in London with her girlfriend Cordelia and working for the Daily Clarion. She's assigned a story centred around the women's peace camp at Brownlow Common - which was set up to protest about the of nuclear weapons sited at the American airbase. Lindsay, as it turns out, is a supporter of and a regular visitor to the camp. (Cordelia, a noted and successful playwright, also supports the camps aims. However, since Cordelia's more stereotypically middle-class than stereotypically lesbian, she prefers not to get her wellies muddy. Instead, she sends letters to the Guardian and makes cash available to buy lentils for the camp). The differences with regards to the camp are, indeed, a sign that things aren't going terribly well in the relationship.

The problem for the women's camp is a local action group called Ratepayers Against Brownlow's Destruction, headed up by a local solicitor called Rupert Crabtree. RABD wants the camp removed from the Common since, they believe, it's being destoyed by the women living there. (You'd be amazed how much damage candlelight vigils and singsongs can cause). Of course, the damage to the common isn't entirely down to the women : the camp is regularly attacked by a vicious gang of mad, bullying bikers. (Nasty stereotypical bikers). However, the story that brings Lindsay down has nothing to do with mad bikers and everything to do with Crabtree - he was, allegedly, assaulted by one of the women based at the camp. The woman in question turns out to be Deborah Patterson - who is, would you believe, an ex-girlfriend of Lindsay's. (It is such a small world, isn't it ? What a coincidence, that she turns up just as Lindsay's current relationship hits a sticky patch). Things, naturally, get even trickier when Crabtree is murdered close to the Common - not long after Deborah is released on bail.

On the whole, I'd describe "Common Murder" as a very quick and easy read - though McDermid's done much better than this. There's nothing special or memorable about the storyline and there's nothing particularly engaging about the characters. Lindsay 'solves' the whole thing far too easily - especially bearing in mind where the ending takes her - with the key people in the investigation give her all the answers for no reason whatsoever. The promised "often comic prose" wasn't all that funny - I'd have been more inclined to laugh at the book, rather than with it at times. Very ordinary overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis - 2nd Lindsay Gordon mystery, 25 Nov 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Murder (Paperback)
A protest group hits the headlines when unrest at a women's peace camp explodes into murder. Already on the scene, journalist Lindsay Gordon desperately tries to strike a balance between personal and professional responsibilities. As she peels back the layers of deception surrounding the protest and its opponents, she finds that no one -- ratepayer or reporter, policeman or peace woman -- seems wholly above suspicion. Then Lindsay uncovers a truth that even she can scarcely believe.

Entertaining, well-written, likeable and realistic protagonist, but I'm still expecting more from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Murder (Kindle Edition)
Just found it boring. Clunky and peopled with people I just did not feel a thing about. After Iain Rankin this does not hold up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard work, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Murder (Kindle Edition)
This book was ok - she does go on a lot about her sexuality in all of these Lindsay Gordon books and it gets a bit tiresome - the reader can read between the lines!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tepid thriller, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Murder (Kindle Edition)
Val McDermid likes to push her lesbian lifestyle using only female characters. Otherwise a reasonable story line for early books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a compelling read, couldnt put it down, a good mix of characters all with believable lives and families, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Murder (Kindle Edition)
a great mystery of unusual circumstances and getting to know all the characters own lives and loves and guilty secrets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Murder (Kindle Edition)
Too much Lesbianism I don`t mind a bit of it but I don`t like it shoved down my throat (no pun intended)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lindsay in Danger Yet Again!, 3 July 2012
By 
Kay (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Common Murder (Paperback)
Common Murder In this second Lindsay Gordon book from Val McDermid our intrepid reporter is onto another story, one that involves struggle between the establishment and the fighters for peace in our land, and, as we know she will, she triumphs in a spectacular fashion. Another great story that I'm sure all those that lived through the 'Greenham Common' days will find fascinating. It can be difficult for a reader that has read so many later books to try and put themselves in that frame of mind that can forget who wrote the book and treat it as if it were just off the press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good service, 5 Sep 2011
By 
jezano "jan" (dorset ,england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Common Murder (Paperback)
The book is in very good condition and received in good time,overall I am pleased with the service and would use them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, but I prefer the Brannigan books., 24 Jun 2000
By 
Mr. D. J. Carr "David Carr" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Whilethe five "Lindsay Duncan" schoolgirl mystery books are not in the same class as the five Kate Brannigan Manchester private eye mysteries, I recommend buying all of them then reading them in chronological order. You will then benefit from the continuous storylines of the main characters, as well as enjoy seeing the active development of the mature and experienced author now capable of writing "Killing the Shadows", a book in an entirely different league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Common Murder
A Common Murder by Val McDermid (Paperback - 30 Nov 1995)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews