Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good patterns, good format
Good sturdy construction and very clear patterns and illustrations. Probably not for a first-time sock knitter. There is a lot of variety in the patterns. Most take their influences from sock-knitting traditions in various parts of Europe. All the yarns used are of American origin, so you have to find your own local substitutes, though as the guage is shown clearly,...
Published on 13 Dec 2006 by Knitting Nellie

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good designs but poor sizing
The format of this book is great, the designs are great but there is only one size given for each design. So for someone with larger feet - no good at all as all the patterns are for small/average ladies. I will need to spend alot of time working out how to adapt the patterns before the books title would become appropriate to me. The designs are varied but there is not...
Published on 19 Feb 2010 by Mrs. F. Huxley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good patterns, good format, 13 Dec 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting On The Road: Sock Patterns for the Traveling Knitter (Spiral-bound)
Good sturdy construction and very clear patterns and illustrations. Probably not for a first-time sock knitter. There is a lot of variety in the patterns. Most take their influences from sock-knitting traditions in various parts of Europe. All the yarns used are of American origin, so you have to find your own local substitutes, though as the guage is shown clearly, this should not be a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One that every sock knitter should have in their library, 23 Jan 2007
By 
alltangledup (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knitting On The Road: Sock Patterns for the Traveling Knitter (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book about 4 years ago when I was first interested in sock knitting and have regularly dipped back into it. Aside from the gorgeous patterns, there are many good things about this book

(1) Hardback and spiral bound, means that the books stays neat and tidy and sits flat on the table

(2) I love the layout. With every pattern, you have written instructions, charts and a clear photo.

(3) Nancy Bush uses a wide variety of yarns, some American, some European, so being able to find good substitutions is key. She includes a handy yarn guide in the front of the book with weight, recommended needle sizes, meterage and tensions for many, many brands of yarns.

(4) There are a few simpler patterns but all the patterns have some nuances to keep even the advanced knitter interested.

(5) The patterns are easy to memorise. You might want to glance at the instructions every now and then, but you'll probably find that you don't need to.

(6)New (to me) techniques like the vikkel braid in Spey Valley and the nub stitch in Denmark.

It's really important to check the gauge and the sizes provided to ensure a good fit as many of the designs ran a bit snug. Although it's usually easily rectified with larger needles or an additional repeat, it's still a bit depressing to do all that work and to have something not fit.

Every sock knitter needs to have this book in their library. Even if you don't knit the patterns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good designs but poor sizing, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. F. Huxley (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting On The Road: Sock Patterns for the Traveling Knitter (Spiral-bound)
The format of this book is great, the designs are great but there is only one size given for each design. So for someone with larger feet - no good at all as all the patterns are for small/average ladies. I will need to spend alot of time working out how to adapt the patterns before the books title would become appropriate to me. The designs are varied but there is not much variation in the construction method used for each sock - i.e. top down with a standard gusset heel. Also I point to note is that the yarns used are not readily available here in the UK -as this is a US published book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just LOVE this book !, 27 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Knitting On The Road: Sock Patterns for the Traveling Knitter (Spiral-bound)
Im new to sock knitting with just 4 months under my belt and was delighted to recieve this book for christmas.

I like the way the author has put so much thought behind each pattern evoking memories of her travels around the world, the inspiration behind this book.

The patterns themselves are lovely with short ones, lace ones, cabled ones, ribbed ones and so on. I love the books spiral bound format which makes following a pattern much easier as your not fighting to hold the pages back. I cant wait to get started on some if the projects in this book! :)

One to add to the shelves of any self respecting Knitter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Knitting on the Road: Sock Patterns for the Travelling Knitter, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Knitting On The Road: Sock Patterns for the Traveling Knitter (Spiral-bound)
This is a brilliant book with great patterns. Usefully there is a full page picture of each finished sock so you can really follow the pattern visually. The format is great as well for a book you are constantly referring to: laminated hardcover with spiral binding. Nancy Bush is THE name in design and sock knitting - particularly from folk traditions, and in this book it's interesting to read the ideas that have inspired her designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knitting on the road, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. Jennifer P. Garner "cuckoo65" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting On The Road: Sock Patterns for the Traveling Knitter (Spiral-bound)
Great Book, Great service and postage. I just need to get to grips with the art of sock making!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knitting On The Road: Sock Patterns for the Traveling Knitter
Knitting On The Road: Sock Patterns for the Traveling Knitter by Nancy Bush (Spiral-bound - 14 Sep 2001)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews