Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thorough description of Orenburg lace technique
A very good introduction to Orenburg lace design. The tone of the text comes across as somewhat condescending, considering that a novice lace knitter is unlikely to be reading this book. Hence stars rather than 5. There is a good range of patterns and the technique can be used for your own designs. I am looking forward to exploring this lace further.
Published 15 months ago by Tyranosaura

versus
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs Experience and You need to work things out
If you are looking for historical facts and lots of them, this is not that sort of book. It is however, a project book with patterns and charts to knit 3 lace shawls. The patterns themselves are not complex to knit but the instructions which accompany each project are. The author has made assumptions that the reader will be an 'experienced' knitter of Russian shawls...
Published on 2 Oct. 2010 by Freespirit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs Experience and You need to work things out, 2 Oct. 2010
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit (Paperback)
If you are looking for historical facts and lots of them, this is not that sort of book. It is however, a project book with patterns and charts to knit 3 lace shawls. The patterns themselves are not complex to knit but the instructions which accompany each project are. The author has made assumptions that the reader will be an 'experienced' knitter of Russian shawls and therefore, one chart only gives the pattern and instruction for 1/4 of the shawl. The author then leaves you, the reader to work out by yourself how to construct the remaining 3/4 of the shawl. To be fair, the author does recommend that you knit the other two shawls first to get some experience, but I really think that it isn't good advice as I believe that all charts and instruction should be easy to follow. There is not a lot of guidance on "how to" with this book - you are referred to 'working the short rows' when turning corners but there is nothing to point out exactly which short rows you need to work. This book is hard work for any knitter and although the finished shawls would be beautiful, I have to admit, even as a very experienced traditional Shetland Lace knitter using 1.5mm needles and gossamer yarn, I put this book back on the bottom of my bookshelf and went back to the book of Heirloom KNitting by Sharon Miller - which even a moderate beginner can follow and produce a fabulous piece of true Heirloom knitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars duplications, 25 Jan. 2010
By 
Liz, a knitter (Isle of Arran, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit (Paperback)
It's not worth buying this if you already have.
Gossamer Webs: The History and Techniques of Orenburg Lace Shawls by Carol R. Noble and Galina Khmeleva (Paperback - Nov 1998)

The methods, techniques and stitches and one of the 3 shawl designs in this new book are straight from the earlier one (i.e. identical in text and pictures)

If you haven't already got the previous book (which now seems to be difficult to get), then this one is fine and should provide all you need to work Orenburg shawls. The main thing that you miss out on is the history and information on the author's contacts in Orenburg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what it seems, 16 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit (Paperback)
If you buy this book expecting a pattern for the shawl shown on the cover you will be disappointed, also, the other three patterns are not clearly written/charted so definitely not for even an intermediate knitter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thorough description of Orenburg lace technique, 16 Dec. 2013
By 
Tyranosaura (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit (Paperback)
A very good introduction to Orenburg lace design. The tone of the text comes across as somewhat condescending, considering that a novice lace knitter is unlikely to be reading this book. Hence stars rather than 5. There is a good range of patterns and the technique can be used for your own designs. I am looking forward to exploring this lace further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gossamer shawls, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit (Paperback)
I love this book I drooled over the designs, now in the process of knitting one, the book was delivered within the date line in excellent condition and well packed. This is the book for any serious ( or want to be) shawl knitter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful shawls, 23 Jun. 2013
By 
Mrs. C. Thomson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit (Paperback)
This is a lovely book and the shawls are beautiful. The little practice piece is a good start to get into it but practiced lace knitters will be able to dive straight in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit (Paperback)
For the price this shawl book it well worth the money = good pattern plans and not really that difficult toan experienced knitter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, just the charts need enlarging, 4 Jun. 2010
By 
A. M. Henderson (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit (Paperback)
I knitted from this book, after enlarging the charts A LOT. The repetions from previous book are acknowledged by the author. Very unusual patterns. Recommended for experienced knitters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medallion Square Shawl full pattern, 10 Mar. 2011
By 
C. F. Paige "cfpaige" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit (Paperback)
I'm not the most experienced knitter, but I really wanted a Shetland wool lace shawl, and this book gave me a chance. I went for the Medallion Square Shawl. Not to leave anything to chance, I've expanded the pattern myself (pdf available from my blog - [], or email me for the spreadsheet), and had great fun working with it so far. At places the pattern isn't the most obvious (e.g. turning corners), but I just ignored it and followed the written instructions instead, and it all worked out. I didn't bother putting the loops at the base of the set-up border stitches on a holder either, but just picked them up with knitting needles when I needed them (turning the 2nd corner).

Having read a few less favourable comments, I was wondering if part of the problem may be that the patterns are designed to be worked with the European way, and trying to knit the English way could make it feel more difficult?

Beautiful designs overall, but admittedly not the most user-friendly patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heirlooms in the making, 17 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit (Paperback)
The shawls in this book are beautiful. The patterns are in chart form with very fine thread.
At the beginning is a shawl to practice on with lots of close up photo's. Then there is a section on different borders and stitches so you can create your own patterns and finally the patterns for the main 3 shawls.
If you like the fine Shetland lace shawls you will love these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit
Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit by Galina Khmeleva (Paperback - 8 Aug. 2000)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews