Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2012
I urge all parents and grandparents to read this book. The information it contains will give you the confidence to make an informed decision regarding the vaccination of small children.

With news of plans to vaccinate all children and young people between the ages of 2 and 17 with a nasal flu vaccine by 2014, as well as plans for vaccinations for shingles, we all need more information than we are offered by health professionals.

Please read this important book. Now in a new 2012 edition.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
Thank goodness for books like this!

It is such a difficult decision when the time for "immunisation" for a new baby is looming.

As a new parent you read the standard NHS booklets given out by the Health Visitor and are led to believe that if these injections are NOT GIVEN then all these diseases are just out there waiting.

These booklets are often read not long after giving birth when the Mother is feeling vulnerable.

What you are not told is that if these injecions ARE GIVEN that there is a real chance of VACCINE DAMAGE.

This book provides excellent facts and figures regarding vaccinations. The book has a scientific basis and is easy to understand.

Neil Miller cites cases where vaccines have damaged babies and the results are horrific.

Parents need to read books like this to fully understand the possible consequences of these injections for which all babies are a target. A member of my family is vaccine damaged from the whooping cough vaccine (pertussis vaccine) and will never lead a normal life. This, from an injection for a disease which is so rarely seen he may never have caught it (or if he had would probably have made a full recovery).

It has now been suggested that the vaccine for Chickenpox (varicella) may be added to the schedule for the UK. It has been used in America since 1995 and the side-effects are shocking. This excellent book illustrates the severe problems with the vaccine used for a disease which is rarely dangerous. It also shows that as with most vaccines THE DISEASE STILL OCCURS IN THE VACCINATED POPULATIONS.

It would seem that these vaccines are a complete waste of money. The justification for vaccines keeping diseases at bay is being used to coerce parents into accepting these injections. When you look at research it is evident that these diseases were sharply on the decline before vaccines were introduced.

There is a financial gain for Doctors to administer these injections, they are PAID BONUSES for a high percentage of babies and children who are given the vaccines.

Remember it won't be the Doctor who is left with a VACCINE DAMAGED BABY.

It is YOUR decision as a parent whether or not to accept these injections not that of the DOCTOR.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
It is a very well written book for anyone, even without basic knowledge of all the diseases where vaccination is used. It covers the basics plus the history behind the vaccinations and provides information how the diseases had been treated before vaccine had been introduced. Everyone who has a questions regarding whether to vaccinate a baby should have this book on a bookshelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2008
This book is easy to read and contains numerous understandable charts that are footnoted to credible sources. I buy this book 10 copies at a time and keep them in my car so I can give it to women I meet that are expecting. I normally say "Have you heard about the vaccine debate?" If they're at all open to the subject, this book saves a very detailed discussion of vaccine pros and cons.

He has a whole chapter on the following vaccine disesases, polio, tetanus, measles, mumps, rubella, diphtheria, pertussis, hepatitis B, chickenpox, haemophilus influenzae type B (that the hib vaccine is given for), pnuemococcus, meningitis C, hepatitis A, RSV, flu, anthrax, and smallpox.

He says that several studies have shown that injections increase susceptibility to polio. He has an awesome chart that shows the increase in polio following the introduction of diphtheria and pertussis vaccines. He also has charts demonstrating that the polio death rate was already significantly decreasing before the vaccine was introduced. Then there's another chart that shows how reported cases of polio actually increased following mass vaccination.

In the pertussis chapter, he has a great chart that again demonstrates how significantly the death rate had decrease prior to the introduction of the vaccine. About 1 in 200 children that received the full DPT series suffered a serious reaction. It really scared me that babies die at a rate 7 time greater than normal within three days of a pertussis shot!

He quotes surveys in medical journals that say that 87% of doctors do not think the hepatitis B vaccine is needed by their newborn patients. The groups at highest risk of contracting hepatitis B are IV drug users, prostitutes, and sexually active gay men. It is given at birth, 1 month, and 6 months.

He explains that Hib-vaccinated children are up to 6 times more likely to contract Hib during the week following their vaccination versus non-vaccinated children. Research shows that antibody levels actually decline immediately following vaccination. A landmark study of 200,000 children was done in Finland and published in the British Medical Journal. The group that received 4 doses of the Hib vaccine had 26% more cases of diabetes than the non-vaccinated group. The study concluded that the "increased risk of diabetes in the vaccinated group exceeds the expected decreases risk of complications of Hib meningitis"

He has another pie chart that graphically shows that 70% of doctors and nurses do not get flu shots.

One of the most shocking chart was the one that shows that in a survey 82% of doctors admitted they don't report a serious vaccine reaction! That's how many doctors admit it. How many don't admit it?

This is a wonderfully easy to understand book. While it is based on solid research, it was written by a lay person, which may account for how easy it is to read. I recommend it to anyone who is considering vaccinating.

Review written by Tenna Merchent, author of He's Not Autistic, But...:How We Pulled Our Son From the Mouth of the Abyss.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
A great book for those looking to get clear and concise information about the negatives of vaccination when deciding what to do for your child. At only 140 pages I read it in one sitting and found it a real eye opener to the lack of effectiveness of vaccines and the devastating side effects they can cause and all backed up by scientific research. Even though it is mainly US based research, it is still relevant to the UK (and we do get a couple of mentions!) Have found it hard to find a UK based book so this is one I will be recommending to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
So I'll happily say I'm not anti-vaccine. If you want to ignore the review at this point then please do.

I was asked to read this book to get opposing views on my decision making as a parent and dutifully did. This book is completely anti-vaccination and makes no effort to provide you with an informed or balanced view. Which would be fine if it didn't also deliberately misrepresent facts and if it wasn't so horribly compressed in its delivery.

More than 15% of the pages in the book simply list the references used (over 800). Which is great because you get to cross reference them, which you MUST do to add any kind of context or understanding to the bite size paragraphs presented to you.. With less than 100 pages of content, in a large font and with many diagrams taking up more space, the reader is given sentences such as "Studies show vaccines increase the risk of XXX." followed by several notes of reference. Reading these gives a context and understanding of the actual study and reveals a more nuanced reality, be it supporting the authors assertions or not. Some references are acceptable and historical, others are horrible summations of lengthy and detailed work. The author further pads out the book by telling you such facts as "The vaccine is taken in three courses, costing $120 per instance or $360 for the full course". If you cannot determine that fact alone then you have more pressing issues than what this book is trying to tell you.

Language used is very selective. In order to avoid making a clear point, words such as "many", "some", "may" and "might" are bandied around with no accompanying reference or statistic. Magnitudes and units are used interchangeably in a way that can easily cause confusion with percentages having widely varying acceptability. 10% rates of an event in support of non-vaccine use is described as fantastic where as 4% for pro-vaccine is wrapped as "only 4%!". Some statistics are deliberately not framed. 25,000 events over 7 years is presented in one case with no framing of what the number of potential events is in either percent or raw numbers. Multiple occur simply "in the thousands".

The book also uses a usual trope of graphic parental testimony as well as big scary words. Either those the reader would need to research to understand, or simply things like mercury, aluminium or formaldehyde with no explanation or reference as to why they are bad or how quantity relates to natural occurrences in the body, food or environment.

Overall, if you actually want to be informed then this book may provide that. But only if you're prepared to cross reference almost all of the articles and studies the author makes use of. If you really are anti-vaccination then this book won't do you service. You're better off writing down "vaccines are bad" 500 times and reading that instead as it'd save you £10 and you'd be as about informed. This book might help you stay cynical but it won't help you stay smart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
I ordered this book for a friend who had just had a baby to give some insight into debates centred around vaccines which are not always highlighted. It is an informative book which does not overwhelm the reader with science, but summaries research findings in laymen's terms/ with suggestions for further research. I recommend this book for new parents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
excellent book. our health professionals know very little, if anything, about vaccines yet we let them jab our children and ourselves willy-nilly. and always remember, your gp gets paid for each vaccination given!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2009
A concise and informative review of the most common vaccines highlighting the possible side effects of taking them. Fully referenced but may be biased toward avoidance but may be not.
Having a masters (MRes) in marine biology i have some knowledge of biological effect and am left thinking that vaccines are not the panacia that i was lead to believe. I will certainly think twice before using them.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Very good, interesting read lots of references and up to date information.
Well written and helped educate me on vaccines defiantly would reccomend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse