Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Harrington on Cash Games: v. 1: How to Win at No-limit Hold'em Money Games
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£22.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on 18 May 2009
Dan Harrington's three 'Harrington on Holdem tournment books have a generally excellent reputation, as does the author himself, particularly in NL tourneys. Now, he has turned his attention to cash games, again with co-author Bill Robertie.

As a regular cash game player with four years of experience at the micro-limits - 1/2c - 25/50c - I have found that Volume One, which focusses on pre-flop and flop play only, is invaluable because many concepts that are crucial to succeed in NL cash play are explained in the clearest way that I have come across so far in poker literature.

One important thing to mention is that essentially Volume 1 and 2 are two parts of the same book. Consequently, the reader will need both volumes to improve all parts of the game. However, Volume 1 includes an extremely useful introduction to basic ideas and key principles of cash game holdem (c. 115 pages), about 50 pages of Tight-Aggressive pre-flop play and approximately 100 pages each of Tight-Aggressive Flop play Heads Up and the same for Multiple opponents. There are also a number of problems, which should help illustrate key concepts, at the end of the three sections on the play of hands.

On the down side, some players of cash games suggest that his advice is a bit on the tight side for today's very aggressive online games. Sadly, too, there are some typing errors so be careful. Also, this book assumes the reader is familiar with many basic concepts and may not be a suitable introduction on its own.

Any cash game holdem player who is prepared to read this and think about the concepts, the hands, and their game should find that this book pays for itelf hundreds of times over. A must-read / must-have for anyone who wants to improve their cash game play considerably.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 21 June 2009
As with all the other Dan Harrington books - top draw.

It's best to read this book very slowly and to stop an reflect at each section so you can take it all in correctly. It's very easy to skim over something quickly and realise later that its quite an importand principle - not that the book is hard to follow: far from it. Just that it's quite compact with good information and advice.
If you're a regular cash player, buy this book - period!

If you're just starting out, you're probably better off reading the tournament blue book first in my opinion.
If you're serious about poker, I'd recommend buying the 3 tourney books blue, red and grey. Then buy the cash games. My reason? you can lose a lot of money in cash games and starting out you really need to limit this as much as possible. In tourney play your loses are limited so I suggest you start there.

Its another 10/10 for 'Action Dan'. Well done!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on 10 August 2008
This book brings Dan Harringtons excellent teaching style straight to the novice Cash game player for No Limit Texas Holdem.

The book demands that the reader has some knowledge of Poker, this is not an ABC guide of Poker from "how to play in position" the reader should have a basic grounding of strategy before embarking on unravelling this book.

The book mostly deals with pre-flop and post-flop play and whilst the turn and river are covered, Harrington leaves the in depth discussion of fourth and fifth street to the second book (Harrington on Cash Games 2 - Blue Book) which focuses more on the turn and river play and strategies.

What I enjoyed about this book is that I picked it up with little if any knowledge of cash games but finished the book fairly confident I could mix it with even a reasonable cash game player. Especially at the lower limits, you will be much better equipt for having read this book than not. Players at the lower levels are generally straight forward and understanding the virtues of the books principles will stand you in good stead.

The way that you approach cash games is different to tournaments, and Harrington really drills down on what the main differences are - especially when it comes to dealing with pocket pairs, position, and hole cards in relation to the size of your stack. The size of your stack of chips makes a lot of difference to how you play the hand. Harrington uses clever analogies to demonstrate the differences between what hands you play compared to what you might do in tournaments where blinds are high and you must act decisively with strong pre-flop hands. This is possibly the hardest thing for a cash game newbie to grasp. You really can, with good intentions, play 10 8 offsuit (in position) in order to gain the opportunity to win your opponents entire stack, whilst in a tournament that would be stretching the "mix it up" deception plays to the maximum.

Check this book out on amazon.co.uk by following the link. It is not cheap, but worth consideration if you are seriously wanting to understand the principles of cash game play.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
on 1 May 2008
Harrington's tourney books are probably the best books on the market for no limit hold em tourney's.
I was a little sceptical though whether Harrington would be able to write a book just as good for cash games.
I didn't need to worry, he explains the difference of why hands like top pair top kicker are great in tourney's but are very average in cash games.
Also the chapter on small hands small pots was very good at explaining that even pocket aces on a flop can be a small hand.
The explanation that the difference between hands like 67 suited and poket aces comes down in deep stack poker was very good.
Basically if you're a new player or a player moving from tourney's to cash, this is a must read.
I've been playing cash and tourneys on-line now for 5 yrs and still found it very useful even if only to confirm what I thought was the case.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 November 2010
Having been playing poker for a few years, i recently bought Harrington on Cash Games: v. 1: How to Win at No-limit Hold'em Money Games and also Harrington on Cash Games: Volume II: How to Play No-Limit Hold 'em Cash Games: 2 with the view to educating myself to make money at online poker.

Most importantly these books are not aimed at Low limit players, like myself, i play NL10 mainly. None of the ideas, methods or strategy's will work at the low limits, BUT will allow you to increase your knowledge with a view of progressing up the limits..

the book tells of the basics of the game, the usual bet good hands, check mediocre hands and throw any junk. while most books tell the same. harringtons book after a reread makes things much more clearer about reasons why to bet, why not to bet and reason's when hitting top pair and not betting pot at this

the book explains when to bet but more importantly why you should be betting, and when you should not bet but just check it down.

the book has made my game alot better before in cash games ( where i was spewing chips away ) and also in tournment games.

a great example is when u have AK and hit AK on flop and you bet, then bet, then get put all in and loose a whole stack to a hand that you cant believe beat you.

rereading the book lots of times will make you aware of the pitfalls with cash poker. i cant wait to finally get the bankroll up and move away from low limits, which thanks to the book is happening - be it slowly.

a great book that i personally recommend and do frequently go back to re reading chapter.
if u buy this though, buy Harrington on Cash Games: Volume II: How to Play No-Limit Hold 'em Cash Games: 2 as i would say the second book is far better, but it leads off from the first
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 September 2010
I've just finished readnig Harrington on Cash Games Volume 1, and I think it is a fantastic book. Everything is explained very clearly. You get a full understanding of not only why you should play in certain ways at certain times, but the full thought process and reasoning behind it.

The only thing I dislike about it is how when doing hand analysis, the book often changes to different ways of giving you the info. e.g. in some cases, it shows a diagram of the full ring then explains hands, in others it just tells you your cards, and in others its in a table. The book loses 1 star because of this, but for the actual content of the book, it couldn't be better.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
I can reccomend Harrington on Cash in an instant.

I bought this after struggling in cash games whilst doing pretty well in low level tournaments. The book takes you through the differences in approach to cash and tournament play with lots of very clear examples throughout. Harrington advises a tight but aggresive style of play which feels comfortable to play.

A year on and I play far more cash games than tournaments and although I play low level blinds it has paid for itself many times over.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 16 March 2013
without any shadow of a doubt, Dan Harrington is as good a teacher as he is a player! After purchasing both volumes of his cash game books whilst been a consistently good winner at 0.25/.50 limit hold'em I never got round to actually studying them. More fool Me!
After a 3 yr sabbitacal from poker, due in large part to family/business commitments, I have come back to the game & after reading through these books have found my appetite for poker well & truly whetted once more. As a comparative novice to NL cash games I feel these 2 volumes are an indespensable guide to explaining both the basics and the intricacies to NL cash games.
It is common knowledge and widely accepted that Harrington's tournament books did more to raise the understanding and performance of the average tournament player than any other poker book, myself included, and while falling slightly short of that standard these 2 volumes could do the same for the majority of NL cash game players.
In more recent times there have been several NL cash game books published to keep up with the pace of the game but in my opinion Dan Harrington's 2 volume reading is essential knowledege in the education of any NL hold'em player & should not be missed out on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Taken together, volumes one and two of Harrington on cash games are the best books I have ever read on NL hold em. Harrington gets across difficult ideas in as simple a way as possible, with plenty of examples and questions (as in his tournament books).
Very interesting exposition of the difference that stack size has on overall strategy, as well as the best section on hand reading I've yet come across.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on 28 April 2008
Action Dan, whose Tournament books, are rated as amongst the best has gone and done it again but this time for Cash NL Holdem. His Tournament books quickly gave beginners some real skills needed to start winning and more advanced tactics that cost a lot of people time and money to find out.

The book is set out the same and you will find not only more stats to help you but some gems that I hoped he would not be revealed ;) Perhaps some of the best quick advice is especially good for MTT players and thats how to play TPTK in a cash game scenerio. Revealing the reasons why you surprisingly see hands like this checked down or little action.

Cash Action Dan reveals some of the real secrets to Cash games and, if you believe what he says about his prefered bet frequency regarding high starting hands on the flop, now needs to be called Cash Action Dan.

He is a few £million times better than me and i like to bet at the flop if i am the aggressor but are his suggested continuation type bet rates a little high for some of the hands?

Its another must read by Dan the Action Man and buy both books as you will want to carry on reading the 2nd one straight away. Do I get a % commission sale for saying that?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Harrington on Online Cash Games: 6-Max No-Limit Hold 'em
Harrington on Online Cash Games: 6-Max No-Limit Hold 'em by Dan Harrington (Paperback - 15 Jun. 2010)
£26.20
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.