Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars killer strategy
i'd been playing small stakes sit n go tourneys for 2 months starting as a complete rookie and was down about $50. Then i read this book and im now, a few weeks later, up about $130. The big difference between this author and someone like Harrington, is that he concentrates solely on single table tourneys. He teaches you to play ultra tight when the blinds are small to...
Published on 4 Aug 2008 by Matthew C. Cudlipp

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
I have read many poker books. This is a target audience. It works, but i was left wanting more. Post flop play seemed a little light and i had to go else where to fill the gap.
Published 4 months ago by Russ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars killer strategy, 4 Aug 2008
By 
Matthew C. Cudlipp (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sit 'N Go Strategy (Paperback)
i'd been playing small stakes sit n go tourneys for 2 months starting as a complete rookie and was down about $50. Then i read this book and im now, a few weeks later, up about $130. The big difference between this author and someone like Harrington, is that he concentrates solely on single table tourneys. He teaches you to play ultra tight when the blinds are small to make it to the high blinds and then loosen up considerably to exploit bubble play with ruthless aggression concentrating on your opponents playing style and stack size as well as your own cards. Im sure not everyone will agree but speaking for myself my winning % has shot up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STT success manual, 12 Oct 2008
By 
K. M. MacLean (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sit 'N Go Strategy (Paperback)
STTs differ from MTTs and ring-games in that they can, to a large extent, be played pretty much entirely according to fixed mathematic/strategic principles. That's good news for beginners (who need to learn hand-reading skills) and also multi-tablers who are prepared to sacrifice a degree of quality for increased quantity. Moshman's system pretty much does teach you everything you need to know for STT success. Chapters are: Low-Blind play; Mid-Blind Play; High-Blind Play; Sit 'n Go Career Play. Appendixes are: What is the Probability of...?; Pushing Tables; Drawing Odds Chart; Pre-Flop Hand Probabilities; Your hand verss a Random Hand; Consecutive Hands Starting as the Bubble Short Stack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful, 27 Aug 2010
By 
R. Pratt "rpratt21" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sit 'N Go Strategy (Paperback)
Wont really say more than what has been said above but this book is very well written and contains great advice on sit and gos. it has obivously had alot of thought but into it and goes into great depth with hand analysis and explanations as to why you should act like recommended. While some criticise the maths they are a fundemental part of poker and as the book states if you struggle with this you can buy software that helps you.

I have incorperated this advice into my game and seen an instant improvement and while some of the advice seems ultra agressive it is accurate and weaker oppenent do seem to act as predicted. I also like the fact that the author does not make spurious claims that you will beat high stakes after one read but im sure if you study diligently it will pave your way to improving your game and progressing to bigger games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great advice for low level Sit 'n' Go, 24 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sit 'N Go Strategy (Paperback)
Sit n Go tournaments are very popular on the Internet, and Moshman indicates he has had good success following this system. The book is laid out logically, going from the start of a tournament, where the blinds are low, through the middle game and finally the end game, where blinds can often be very large.

Moshman's advice is all about controlled agression against the right opponent at the right time. It is not a magic formula to earning millions of dollars, it is more of a framework in the you follow the advice for different table conditions. For that, you need to make sure you can analyse your opponents by watching their betting patterns, where they are seated related to the button and what cards they showdown. He also advises very tight play in the first few blind levels, and I for one have improved just on that point alone!

You will need to understand poker principles and have a sound understanding of different types of player, such as tight aggressive, loose passive, etc. If you have this understanding, then the play advised is useful and effective against poor quality opponents. I think the variations that better opponents bring, usually found at the higher buy in tables, would scupper some of the advice here. But then, if poker were a formula, it wouldn't be such a fun and challenging game to play.

Moshman's writing style is a little frantic and rushed sometimes. Just when I think he is building up a point, he finishes it and then injects a load of hand examples. The hand examples are good, but they do not always follow the hand to the end. It is useful to know that sometimes, a certain strategy does not always pay off and why that might be. Yes, this happens in some of the examples, but not enough in my view. Harrington's books are much better at this aspect of writing, so if you are coming from reading those, as I did, you may find it a little frustrating.

Overall, a good foundation for being more successful than not in STT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sit 'N Go Strategy (Paperback)
I have read many poker books. This is a target audience. It works, but i was left wanting more. Post flop play seemed a little light and i had to go else where to fill the gap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me profitable, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Rob Collins "Bobby C" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sit 'N Go Strategy (Paperback)
This book is not an easy read. It takes time, dedication, effort and lots of practice. But like a lot of things in life, you get out what you put in. Moshman has transformed my game and made me profitable at the low-stakes Sit'N'Go over the course of the last few months

There are tonnes of hand examples to work through in the book. The temptation is to skip over these, but I'd advise that you do every single one and then sit and think deeply about them to make sure you fully absorb the lessons he's trying to teach you.

One minor way I think the book could be improved - I'd like 1 page which is a summary of the key lessons throughout the book. That way I can keep that page open as I play if I'm unsure of what to do on a certain hand.

Having said that, this is where the practice and experience comes in. Play tonnes of SNGs, every day going back and reviewing your Hand History. Try to spot where you made mistakes by referring back to Moshman.

Awesome stuff - highly recommended for anyone who wants to make money at SNG poker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another GREAT title, 10 Dec 2008
This review is from: Sit 'N Go Strategy (Paperback)
This took me from break even sit and go play to profitable.Easy to read and implement in to your game.If you play sit and go"s,your gonna need this book,in my eyes its the bible of sit an go play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better ones !, 18 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sit 'N Go Strategy (Paperback)
There are lots of books about poker, some good and some not so good.

This is one of the "GOOD" books out there.

If you play single table sit n go tourneys you simply have to get it.

Even If you don't follow the authors advice, at least you will know what others are using against you.

I'll go out on a limb here, and say this is the best book on playing STT's that I have read, and on various poker forums the "chat" is very positive about this book.

In a nutshell, get it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY VERY GOOD!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sit 'N Go Strategy (Paperback)
I was quite tempted not to write a review - the information provided in this book is priceless and the fewer people playing at the tables with this information the better! Don't expect to understand all the concepts or mathematics on a first read through, but keep playing, re-reading and applying the principles and this will book will eventually turn you into a winning Sit 'N Go player. This is without doubt the best poker book I have ever read. If you buy this, then I will hopefully never see you at the tables!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definitive guide to SitNGo, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sit 'N Go Strategy (Paperback)
This has everything you need to know about SitNGo (well mostly everything) - I think if you learn properly what is in here, you will easily be a winning player - however, as Moshman shows, it is hard to make a lot out of SnG, unless you can successfully apply the strategy here to multi-tabling - some have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sit 'N Go Strategy
Sit 'N Go Strategy by Collin Moshman (Paperback - 20 July 2007)
14.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews