Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrington�s second volume is a masterpiece
I, along with most other tournament players I know, had been eagerly awaiting the release of this second volume of Harrington's work after being blown away by the first, and it does not disappoint. The first volume discussed only early and mid-stage tournament play, and this one completes the circle with excellent analysis of late-stage and endgame play. It helped me...
Published on 1 Oct. 2005

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Reading the reviews of this book on here i eagerly anticipated delivery of this thinking it would help to up my game and as it says, help develop my skills in the end game.

It didnt.

While I did take some good points away from it with regards to Heads Up play, i found the authors style of writing not to be as concise as it could be. The example hands...
Published on 19 July 2011 by PabloMendoza


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrington�s second volume is a masterpiece, 1 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame (Paperback)
I, along with most other tournament players I know, had been eagerly awaiting the release of this second volume of Harrington's work after being blown away by the first, and it does not disappoint. The first volume discussed only early and mid-stage tournament play, and this one completes the circle with excellent analysis of late-stage and endgame play. It helped me win a satellite tournament that won me a seat in the 2005 world series...hopefully it serves me there just as well! Understanding the thought processes of a master such as Harrington really leaves you in awe about the true skill difference between he and the amateurs he routinely runs over. If you have seen him play, it is like watching a man amongst boys, and this book brought me a step closer to understanding just why that disparity exists.
A couple sections I felt were overhyped as utterly revolutionary in the months preceding this book's release, especially the concept of "inflection points", described by editors as theory that had never before been put into print. I found this claim to be somewhat exaggerated. The fact is that in poker there are really only 3 decisions to be made: bet, call, or fold. That's it. Every strategy has, at one time or another, been published, and sometimes I felt like the authors were just slapping a new name on an existing strategy. But I suppose I can confidently say that never before have many such strategies been covered so thoroughly, yet succinctly, with underlying reasoning explicitly laid out. The examples at the end of each chapter continue to be my favorite: they're not just hypotheticals, but often actual hands that Harrington played in various tournaments, where he describes not only the cards but also the reads he had on other players, and how they affected his play. His is also one of the first books I have found that addresses the very real differences between live and online play (in fact, he pre-faces each of the example hands with a description of whether it's online or in a live setting). I've found other authors to assume that online strategy is analogous to live play, which - as anyone who's played online for a while will attest - is nonsense. Even an "old geezer" (as my son likes to call me) such as myself plays online these days. Another review here had a good suggestion to check out pokercroaker.com if you're going to open an account online as they had site reviews and sign-up bonus codes for most major sites. In fact, most online sites have tournaments going around the clock, meaning you don't have to wait for the once-a-day tournies most casinos run if you want to try out some of Harrington's strategies. In summary, Harrington's 2 volumes have set the standard by which all other NL tournament holdem books will be measured. The price is a pittance compared to how much it has improved my game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid foundation for tournament play, 12 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame (Paperback)
Following on from the start of the tournament principles in Vol 1, Harrington now turns his attention to the closing of a tournament. We move through short-handed play (i.e. less than 10 players at a table), we learn how to deal with the blinds going higher and then we enter heads up. Along the way, Harrington gives us his views on playing the bubble (i.e. how to play when you are nearly in the prizes) and how the pot odds we learnt in Vol 1 can be applied to great effect through the various passages of play.

In commentary during the Poker Million in December 2010, Neil "Bad Beat" Channing remarked that Harrington's theories are now out of date when compared to modern poker. I certainly don't have the pedigree to argue with Channing, but I would suggest that if you are looking to take your game to the next level, this is the book for you. Harrington will help you understand the more confusing passages of play that are crucial in this stage of the tournament. He gives you guides to appropriate raises, calls and folds and then you put these into practice using real hands from real tournaments.

For me, the two outstanding sections of the book are the concept of calculating your M (i.e. your stake size, divided by the size of the starting pot) and the section on heads up play. Many poker commentators talk a lot about players "only having x number of big blinds", but I always figured that wasn't a great calculation, as it doesn't reflect how many rounds are left before your stack is gone. "M" calculates this precisely. If your "M" is 3, you have 3 rounds left before the blinds and antes leave you with nothing. Time to start shoving all in!

The heads up section was very eye-opening. Harrington then reviews a heads up match between the legend that is Phil Ivey and Internet wunderkind John D'Agostino from 2005. Harrington comments on the players decisions, and why they have made certain plays. He then takes another heads up, and puts you in as one of the players. A fantastic way to learn.

Has my play improved. Definitely. Decisions are no longer "instinctive" but made with an understanding gained from Vol 1 of flop textures and of pot odds, combined with a refined strategy for deep into a tournament. I play low stakes online, so varying play isn't as needed as most people haven't got a clue what you are doing, but when you do meet a formidable opponent, you have the knowledge to "change gear" against them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it., 5 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame (Paperback)
Ive not been playing poker for too long but im very keen and have read quite a few books all ready. This book and to a lesser extent the 1st one is by far the best one. Very well written and easy to understand with lots of new concepts I hadn't come across in any of the other books ive read. Loads of set problems to solve in each chapter make you think about what you've read before and help the information to 'go in' and hence remember for the future. Some people may be put off as Harrington is renowned for being super tight (everyone wants to play like Doyle Brunson and Gus Hansen these days), but i think you may be surprised as to some of the moves he is happy to make. All in all a crackin' book that any poker player can't fail to learn from. My advice - Buy it and start winning!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps up the high standards set by the first book., 12 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame (Paperback)
Harrington follows on from the excellent first book with a book devoted in the main to the middle and later stages of tournaments. With the blinds rising and the stack sizes shrinking critical adjustments to your game need to be considered. Again the pages are laden with example hands that are full of information. Inflection points are discussed in depth, as are short handed play and the often over looked importance of having a solid heads up game. In fact the heads up section is the first book I have read that goes in to any depth on this subject. After reading these two books you'll be able to turn up at your local casino or card club confident that the decisions you make will be more informed and purposeful than before you sat down to read these two books. Only negative is that you are paying double price for what is just a long book, but it's superiority over lot of the others on the market make it a worthwhile investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poker Brilliance From Dan Harrington, 15 April 2006
By 
L. S. Sinclair "louise318" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame (Paperback)
As a newcomer playing NL Hold 'Em I have read a few Poker books. My game showed rapid improvement after I read a couple of chapters. This book is written in a sensible logical fashion without straying from the point. The author demonstrates skill in understanding the requirements of his readers (unlike some other Poker players/authors).

I have relegated most of the poker books to my top shelf. Dan Harrington remains near to hand for quick reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent strategy, 2 Sept. 2007
By 
Wayne Redhart "@wayneredhart on Twitter!" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame (Paperback)
Few players rape the tables as brutally as Harrington. In this valuable book he 'tells em as they is'. Standard strategies like the 'San Andreas Meat-grinder' (perfect for unloading double buffers into an end-zone packed with natural flankers) and the 'Chicago Sandstorm' (a honey-trap that could leave your opponent fencing against a semi-Lazarus) are explained with great attention to detail. He also has plenty of cavalier gambits for more experienced snipers to deploy. Although the 'Fibonacci Fallout Shelter' may be too complex to smoke out an amateur cave-jacker, he claims that you can use it against pros to rotate the step of a goose-dance. Just DON'T go trying to detonate a Dutch grenade with it- use the 'Tallahassee jail-break' instead! My favourite is probably his slant on playing the 'Kentucky Monkey' (the best racket to reverse the polarity of a south-bound pot). Although there is the danger of being drowned in a mud-slide before the penultimate flipper, it usually guarantees the chance to fire a clockwork shotgun into the flood.

PS. I haven't tried my hand in any tourneys yet, but I did beat the rest of the Redhart family once- after I decided to go all in before the flop (with an unsuited 4 7) and pulled a lucky straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on Tournament end game bar none, 1 Jan. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame (Paperback)
This book follows on from the first book and teaches all the skills necessary to adapt your game when your stack gets small compared to the big blind. The later section on heads up is worth the price of both books on its own and is the only work on heads up play I have found worthy of reading. The key to both of these books which no other poker book covers is the art of betting - how much to bet and when. Its what separates the average poker player from the pros and up to now kept as a closely guarded secret.
Basically these two Harrington books make every other poker book redundant. If you want to learn the basics of texas holdem get the Matthew Hilger book. Learn and digest that and then get these two Harrington books and you will have everything you need to know to become a winning poker player.
There is a third book on the way which has 400 hand examples which I am sure will further add to this already superb work.
Buy them now and then get onto a poker site like getmintedpoker.com or ladbrokespoker.com and start building your bank roll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrington - Hold em, 20 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame (Paperback)
Its easy to read and very well laid out. A great book that makes an awful lot of sense. If only I coud actually remember it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent Hold'em Book, 16 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame (Paperback)
This is the second ina series of three books which are the best books on Hold'em I have read ( and I've read several). If you play sit & go/tournament hold'em this series are a must read! This is the best of the three book. book one is basic theory, book two is what you need to know to advance your game, the third is a revision work book, which takes you though hands and asks you questions then gives the thinking behind the answers. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Poker, 5 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame (Paperback)
The second of Harringtons books has less content in terms of new ideas but the ideas that are their are subtle requiring repeated reading. If you can invest the time you are rewarded with excellent strategies that I have proved work on the low limit tables i play on line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: The Endgame
£29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews