Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the Price
This book will probably pay for itself within a few days if you study it's contents diligently.
The small-stakes games on the internet, and those home games between friends, are notorious for being populated by many poor players. By poor I mean that they play far too many hands pre-flop and that they often play hands for far too long e.g.they'll often call with...
Published on 6 Oct. 2005 by Mr. J. J. Niland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Aimed at Limit Hold'em
A bit out of date, but a classic. Wouldnt' recommend it for the novice player, but if you are interested in improving your limit game then worth a look.
Published 8 months ago by OldHand


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the Price, 6 Oct. 2005
By 
Mr. J. J. Niland (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play (Paperback)
This book will probably pay for itself within a few days if you study it's contents diligently.
The small-stakes games on the internet, and those home games between friends, are notorious for being populated by many poor players. By poor I mean that they play far too many hands pre-flop and that they often play hands for far too long e.g.they'll often call with hands like J-8 offsuit reasoning that 'any hand can be a winner', and will often play Ace high hands to the showdown just because they have an Ace. Given these tendencies of weak players, Ed Miller describes the startegy and thinking processes you must go through to exploit weak players to the max.
One of the most useful sections of the book is devoted to pre-flop play. It's summerised with the use of tables indicating what hands you should play, given your position, action so far in the hand, and the number of players who usually see the flop. If you remain disciplined and stick to just these hands, then you should see an immediate improvement-mainly by not losing as much through calling pre-flop with very mediocre hands.
Miller then moves onto post-flop concepts, which are far more important and difficult than pre-flop decisions. If you can understand the concepts, and I really do mean understand, then post-flop will become much more profitable for you.
The book ends with a large hand quiz. To get the maximum benefit from this quiz, really think about the question before you look at Miller's answers. You'll be able to pin-point where your game is going wrong, and also which parts of the book you might need to re-read.
In conclusion: A fantasic book which, once studied thoroughly, will reap vast rewards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 July 2005
By 
Mr. S. Pryce (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play (Paperback)
This is by far the best work I've read on how to play Hold'em. The book simply lays out the different aspects of the game in easy to digest sections. There is a lot to read, but then again there is a lot to learn. If you're looking to improve your play on small stake tables this book is your bible.
All in all, this book is a must buy. £12 is a small price to pay for a lifetime of improved pay at the table.
Definately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the first poker book you should pick up, 22 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play (Paperback)
This book, I believe, is the first one anybody should pick up, if they're looking to improve their skills at the poker table. It explains concepts far more clearly and concisely than does Sklansky and Malmuth's Hold'em for Advanced Players, which I - like most readers, I think -had a fairly hard time getting through the first time I picked it up.
There is nothing that stands out as a noticeable shortcoming, although I think that readers may initially have a little trouble getting comfortable with the more aggressive style of play the book recommends. That being said, aggressive play is essential to improving your poker skills.
The sections on post-flop play are outstanding; in fact that's probably the most important piece of advice I internalized from this book: there are so many books and websites out there that devote tons of time to laying out preflop charts and guidelines, when post-flop play is exponentially more complex and important. I think readers still may not be equipped to handle the tougher games against super-aggressive opponents, but this book will go a long way toward helping you clean up against your buddies at your next poker night, or in the internet poker rooms - I was initially hesitant about doing the online thing, but you can find some free money sign-up bonus codes floating around the internet that will make it worthwhile...I find that POKERCROAKER.COM updates their codes frequently. Bottom line is that this is where I recommend all of my friends begin their reading; by far the best and most concisely written book I've read on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overall but beware certain advice, 21 Jan. 2005
By 
Mr. L. P. Weston "big_wes" (Warrington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play (Paperback)
Unlike another reviewer here, I do not consider this to be the first book you should read about holdem - in fact, this is stated by Ed Miller himself in the introduction to the book. The first book you should read in my opinion is Matthew Hilger's 'Internet Texas Holdem' - a superb book which will give you a solid grounding - and a lot more.
This said, this is an excellent book once you have gone beyond the basics and have learnt to grind out a small profit by playing tight ABC poker. Miller says you have to get in more pots by playing a few more hands and that overall you simply have to play aggressively in many spots post flop in order to protect your hand. Sound advice. The chapter about value betting on the river against loose players is bang on. I have a few issues with the text, in terms of paying off even when you are convinced you are beat - this is what bad players do - but overall the book rewards and repays serious study.
An excellent addition to the literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strategy for loose limit hold 'em games, 12 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play (Paperback)
This book is aimed at loose limit hold 'em games, where three or more players are frequently seeing the flop, and preflop limps and cold-calls are extremely common. Nowadays these games are usually only found in Vegas live games and very low-limit online tables ($2/4 and below).

Good preflop play will take you a long way in these games, and the book appropriately devotes a large number of pages to this part of the hand. On the one hand you will want to be playing much more tight and aggressive than your opponents, but in some situations -- especially in the big blind versus a raise -- high pot odds will enable you to play a wide range of hands. Mastering this round will give you a good headstart on your opponents.

The book then moves on to flop/turn play. In these games the key element to these rounds is learning how to weigh up situations so as to leverage bets and raises to knock out opponents and increase your chances of winning at showdown. This is very different to tougher games, where heads-up pots stress the importance of semi-bluffing and bluff-catching.

Finally there's the river. Like in any limit hold 'em game, you need to play the river with enough aggression -- not missing profitable value bets. Secondly, in these games the pots tend to be extremely large by the river, and large odds can in some situations make calls with fairly weak hands profitable.

This book's treatment of this type of game is commendable, my only wish is that this type of game was more commonly found in today's games! Play in mid/high limit or extremely shorthanded games is very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book for those multi-hand on-line poker games, 6 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play (Paperback)
I love Harrington's 2 Hold 'em volumes - but the trouble with those (and similiar books) is they are focussed on No Limit and assume your opponents play sensibly, call/raise infrequently and with logic! For someone getting used to on-line pot-limit poker (even if only with play money at present) I was finding that in most of the games everyone was calling, too many people were raising wildly and most hands were reaching the river with straights and flushes galore. My tight play guidelines were giving me little action and it was frustrating to see big pots being won by some real maniacs with some outrageously bad, over-bet pre-flop hands.
This book is a very good attempt to focus on how to play against such essentially poorly-skilled players with clear pre-flop guidelines and some very useful post-flop advice. The mathematics isn't too bad and the quiz section is very enlightening. Only the advice on the size of raises etc is less clear.
Overall, a book that has definitely sharpened my game within the pot-limit on-line arena. Time will be the true judge, but this book and Harrington's books should be excellent guides that I can utilise as the varying situations demand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Limit Hold 'em, 18 Nov. 2007
By 
Gill Lambert "Career Coach" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play (Paperback)
Overall a good second or third book to read for Limit Hold 'em. The format works well and whilst some of Sklansky's comments are farily arrogant the book will certainly help you make more money which is the whole point. I wish I could find games quite as loose as Sklansky seems to believe on-line play is but there is still plenty of margin out there against the average low limt game.

Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book for LIMIT poker Hold'em, 9 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play (Paperback)
Beware, this book is particularly aimed for limit poker but the general plays are too loose for No Limit. To get the best out of this book then read in conjunction with Millers No Limit book. What this will do is give you a better understanding why this book is stating apsects of play. Conversely, this book will help No Limit players appreciate that game but don't mix the too plays up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bar none the best book on the market for poker players, 1 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play (Paperback)
This book, I believe, is the first one anybody should pick up, if they're looking to improve their skills at the poker table. It explains concepts far more clearly and concisely than does Sklansky and Malmuth's Hold'em for Advanced Players, which I - like most readers, I think -had a fairly hard time getting through the first time I picked it up.
There is nothing that stands out as a noticeable shortcoming, although I think that readers may initially have a little trouble getting comfortable with the more aggressive style of play the book recommends. That being said, aggressive play is essential to improving your poker skills.
The sections on post-flop play are outstanding; in fact that's probably the most important piece of advice I internalized from this book: there are so many books and websites out there that devote tons of time to laying out preflop charts and guidelines, when post-flop play is exponentially more complex and important. I think readers still may not be equipped to handle the tougher games against super-aggressive opponents, but this book will go a long way toward helping you clean up against your buddies at your next poker night, or in the internet poker rooms - I was initially hesitant about doing the online thing, but you can find some free money sign-up bonus codes floating around the internet that will make it worthwhile...I find that pokercroaker.com updates their codes frequently. Bottom line is that this is where I recommend all of my friends begin their reading; by far the best and most concisely written book I've read on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fixed low limit bible., 10 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play (Paperback)
At the low limits on line you just implement what is taught in this book and count your profit.Yes it really is that simple.At higher limits you will need to add some deception to your game.Basicly he teaches the mathmaticly correct way to play fixed limit holdem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play
Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big with Expert Play by Edward Miller (Paperback - 31 July 2004)
£24.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews