Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful guide to the "anti-Western" aesthetic.
So simple--the beauty of things imperfect, impermanent, and incomplete--yet so powerful. A wonderful antidote to the classical Western aesthetic of things massive, enduring, gorgeous, and slick. This book has helped clarify and fine tune my thinking about the various modes of beauty in architecture, my profession.
Published on 11 Jun. 2001

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Empty yet Pretty, like a Fabergé Egg
Having discovered this interesting aesthetic, I first did some internet research and then ordered a book. Having read the book, I find myself wondering if the author did the same internet research I did. I close its sparse pages feeling no more enlightened than I did when I started, and the actual content is utterly minimal: clear, large type and plenty of page-size...
Published on 18 Jan. 2011 by Dave Redman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple things, 28 July 2004
By 
S. Thomas (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wabi-Sabi: For Artists, Designers, Poets and Philosophers (Paperback)
While this book did not offer anything remarkably new to me, its message is delivered in a way that is different to the majority. As a Zen Buddhist I feel it deserves a place in every Buddhist's library because of its refreshing approach to these familiar topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Happy with book, its condition and the delivery. There were no problems. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
daragh (dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a fantastic book. meditative and inspiring in equal measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable read with wonderful images., 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous book, very enjoyable read with wonderful images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome book, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Mar. 2013
I really enjoyed reading this book about Wabi Sabi. It will come in very useful for me as a textile artist...thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book that should not have been written, 23 Sept. 2010
Following the precepts promoted in this book it would be an acceptable conclusion to say that perhaps the book should have been so impermanent as to not being printed at all.

After 40 odd pages the author still has trouble helping the reader ease into his take on the subject. It is a poorly written book for a fashionable subject that without any doubt will appeal to those of equally flaccid intellect.

Maybe after all that has been said about Wabi Sabi as the author writes the best way to preserve it is not to write about it at all and just chase it where it appears spontaneously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exploring the Japanese concepy of Wabi Sabi, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rather erudite exploration of a nebulous concept. For aficionados of mindfulness and meditation. Beautiful if rather difficult to grasp ideals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book didn't really cut it for me, it wasn't awful, I read it through, but it was just okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wabi-Sabi: For Artists, Designers, Poets and Philosophers
Wabi-Sabi: For Artists, Designers, Poets and Philosophers by Leonard Koren (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2003)
Used & New from: £5.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews