Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful guide to the "anti-Western" aesthetic.
So simple--the beauty of things imperfect, impermanent, and incomplete--yet so powerful. A wonderful antidote to the classical Western aesthetic of things massive, enduring, gorgeous, and slick. This book has helped clarify and fine tune my thinking about the various modes of beauty in architecture, my profession.
Published on 11 Jun 2001

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Empty yet Pretty, like a Fabergé Egg
Having discovered this interesting aesthetic, I first did some internet research and then ordered a book. Having read the book, I find myself wondering if the author did the same internet research I did. I close its sparse pages feeling no more enlightened than I did when I started, and the actual content is utterly minimal: clear, large type and plenty of page-size...
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by Dave Redman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful guide to the "anti-Western" aesthetic., 11 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wabi-Sabi: For Artists, Designers, Poets and Philosophers (Paperback)
So simple--the beauty of things imperfect, impermanent, and incomplete--yet so powerful. A wonderful antidote to the classical Western aesthetic of things massive, enduring, gorgeous, and slick. This book has helped clarify and fine tune my thinking about the various modes of beauty in architecture, my profession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple and great, 23 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very compact book with essential things to think about and to consider when you create something in design, paintings etc... It is always with me that book and im glad I buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wisdom of simplicity, 13 Nov 2009
By 
Rosa Vasconcellos "reader tyszki" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wabi-sabi is a wonderful book about the impermanence of life, the value of simplicity,the importance of letting go, of that which cannot be perfect because true life is not about perfection. Phylosophical and poetic, it is great reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift for artists, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wabi-Sabi: For Artists, Designers, Poets and Philosophers (Paperback)
This is the second time I've brought this book as a gift for a creative loved one. Hope one day to buy my own copy. A really beautiful looking book on the Japanese aesthetic wabi-sabi - the acceptance of transience and imperfection. Recommend it for anyone that sees beauty in the imperfect, impermanent and incomplete...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful reading experience, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There was nothing I didn't like about this book, it captivated me from the first page to the last. Easy to read and also very informative, it presents clear notions of what Wabi-Sabi is and what it is not. It goes down to the roots of the concept and follows its evolution through time and space. The comparisons with our Western art principles are also very clear and helpful. I'd recommend this book to almost anyone who likes reading and very specially to some Western authors who publish their own books on Wabi-Sabi techniques using colours and textures in great excess, that are exactly the contrary to the Wabi-Sabi approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love wabi wabi, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A simple book, well laid out with arti grainy photos throughout.
A book for all who want a simple explanation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wabi Sabi, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book about Wabi-Sabi. Very interesting and proves to be a great way of life if one can stay with the idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Mar 2013
I really enjoyed reading this book about Wabi Sabi. It will come in very useful for me as a textile artist...thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple things, 28 July 2004
By 
S. Thomas (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wabi-Sabi: For Artists, Designers, Poets and Philosophers (Paperback)
While this book did not offer anything remarkably new to me, its message is delivered in a way that is different to the majority. As a Zen Buddhist I feel it deserves a place in every Buddhist's library because of its refreshing approach to these familiar topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Empty yet Pretty, like a Fabergé Egg, 18 Jan 2011
Having discovered this interesting aesthetic, I first did some internet research and then ordered a book. Having read the book, I find myself wondering if the author did the same internet research I did. I close its sparse pages feeling no more enlightened than I did when I started, and the actual content is utterly minimal: clear, large type and plenty of page-size photographs of "natural" objects like leaves and wood-grain which, while thematically superfluous, do serve to fill up the space not occupied by what little text there is.

I had hoped for an edifying explanation of a concept I was assured was elusively complex while being deceptively simple. Perhaps I am myself too simple to understand, but I find it more likely that the rambling, equivocal essay contained within the slim yet admittedly pretty binding betrays an author who no more understands the concept than I do, and as such he is worthless to me as a guide to it. I would give it away, were it not such a nice-looking thing to furnish a shelf with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wabi-Sabi: For Artists, Designers, Poets and Philosophers
Wabi-Sabi: For Artists, Designers, Poets and Philosophers by Leonard Koren (Paperback - 1 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: 4.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews