Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2009
I heartily recommend this book. I used to be a bit half-hearted with my home training, but it really helps you understand how to use your home training time to improve your fitness and techniques.

It gives you lots of ideas for exercises to sort out any problems and build up your strengths so you can use your training time more effectively.

Mine's really dog-eared and tattered because I refer to it all the time. It's a great motivational tool too. If I'm sitting in front of the TV and can't be bothered training, I just open a page, read a couple of lines and get excited about working on a technique and hey presto, I can't wait to get up and at 'em.
Love it.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2004
This book is a must for any martial artist training at home either exclusively or to supplement dojo training. The drills are excellent for the solo practioner and new and interesting techniques are also found within it. Unlike other works on the subject the book does not focus overly on expensive equipment and offers a huge variety of training ideas. Also, Christenson's writing style is light-hearted and you feel you are being taught by someone who knows what they are talking about - he is not pretentious or arrogant (a trap many MA authors fall into) and points out clearly problems which you may find with your technique and solutions to them. Trying to train without a partner? You wont find a better manual.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2003
This is the kind of book that mostly has you say "Well... I knew that. And that too...", there's very little in here you haven't heard before or couldn't just figure out yourself. But most of us don't bother to do these kinds of things. The best thing about this book is that it gives a concice list of stuff to do, so if you grasp it and start training, you will benefit a lot. A nice bonus is the fact that L.C. is a good writer and has a lot of martial arts experience both in and out of the dojo. Very recommended book for one who is serious about his training.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
I bought this book because i was not being able to get to my martial arts classes due to work commitments and wanted some advice and ideas on some training techniques to keep my taining up and progress! And that is exactly what i got...

It is a great book for the beginner to the advanced, giving great ideas for training yourself and others, with limited space, equipment or whatever. It starts From grass roots stuff right through to more indepth detail of some techniques, giving you drills along the way to help improve and hopefully master each technique!

The only flaw is not ever technique has pictures. As much as they are described and thoughtout brilliantly, I feel having a visual reference would have been an added bonus for some practicioners!

For all martial artist I would have to say it is a must have as it helps improve the techniques you already have, gives you insights to new and different techniques, helps you think out the box a little in true Bruce Lee style phylosophy, and most importantly makes you revisit and check your techniques that you may have been doing for years, but forgot the whys, hows, wheres etc...

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and find it a great reference book when i need some new training routines on techniques, and it doesnt exactly cost much compared to some, more dogmatic martial arts companion books! Looking forward to purchasing book two!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2008
The book is great, far more detailed then the other martial arts books i have purchased. It explains all exercises in detail concerning kicks, punches and other drills you can do to improve strength and speed, if you already dont have this title on your bookshelf then get it, you wont regret it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
I'm a bit undecided about this book - it holds many good ideas and surgestions to drills and execises you can do alone or with a partner.
Unfortunately it also holds some very veird stuff - execises I would not waste time on.

Its devided up in sections covering punches, kick and other stuff - but its written for the expeirinced martial artist - if you don't have trained in a karate club or similar - this is not the book for you.
The authour assumes that you are familiar will all the basic kicks and punches and therefor mostly deals with the more "veird and funny stuff".

What I would have liked more of was more combinatiosn work on bags and the like.
All in all its a good read - but its more like a catalogue over exercises than a cohenent book on fighting.

I think it would have been better if the book had been 20% shorter and more structured about building you up for more specific goals.

Still if you have practised martial arts for a couple of years - there are lots of good stuff here.

Henrik
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2001
Solo Training is fantastic! What an amazing teacher Loren Christensen is; he is the martial arts instructor you have always dreamed about. And while his previous books set a new standard in martial arts writing, Solo Training may yet be his masterpiece.
This book is an exciting (yes, his writing is that good!) and enthusiastic exploration of training methods and techniques for training alone, outside of class time. Christensen's exercises and drills are easy to learn, and are the key to becoming excellent in your sport. Within a very short amount of time, you will find yourself surpassing any personal goals of fitness and competency. You will also be surprising your fellow students and instructor with your incredibly enhanced improvement.
No matter what style, no matter what belt, and no matter how many years you have practiced you will never have been able to grasp the whole picture of martial arts without reading Solo Training. This is one hell of a book, one you will be turning to again and again. Thank-you Loren Christensen!
11 comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
Pointless. Street defence is defending from martial art attacks (roundhouse kicks to the head etc), totally ridiculous. Not grounded in reality. Some horrible drills that will no doubt damage your body/joints. I feel like the author believes he is living in one of the "No Retreat No Surrender" films... Anybody who has seen those jokes will know what I mean. All in all, just avoid it if you train alone practice your associations syllabus. This book gives you nothing. I mean nothing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2011
This is a very useful book with lots of tips, tricks and recommendations for training alone. Well written and techniques are explained and illustrated well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Buy this book. I have "Solo Training...2". That is not so good as this one although very well written and contains many interesting, useful information. I have read many comments on this book. I still had some doubts before buying this one.. I have been looking for very particular exercise/technique like "Broken rhythm" excise explanation. I have found many explanations before. The explanation that contains this book I do consider the best one. So, I bought this book just because of this explanation. What I found in this book made me surprised. Friendly speaking this book is so well written in a such language that only lazy to think and lazy to do can say there is something wrong with this book. If anybody looks for a miracle spoon that pour skills and knowledge into mouth, this is the book. These approaches , from my point of view, can and may be applied to all martial arts, combatives etc.Buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)