Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, simple advice, if you use it
This is the kind of book that mostly has you say "Well... I knew that. And that too...", there's very little in here you haven't heard before or couldn't just figure out yourself. But most of us don't bother to do these kinds of things. The best thing about this book is that it gives a concice list of stuff to do, so if you grasp it and start training, you will benefit a...
Published on 18 Jun 2003 by jackofsometrades

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor advice in parts
In this book some poor advice is given and some good,and seems to talk more about himself and his life rather than going into detail about training and moves,its kinda like a mini autobiography rather than a book for training.
Published 22 days ago by sean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, simple advice, if you use it, 18 Jun 2003
This review is from: Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone (Paperback)
This is the kind of book that mostly has you say "Well... I knew that. And that too...", there's very little in here you haven't heard before or couldn't just figure out yourself. But most of us don't bother to do these kinds of things. The best thing about this book is that it gives a concice list of stuff to do, so if you grasp it and start training, you will benefit a lot. A nice bonus is the fact that L.C. is a good writer and has a lot of martial arts experience both in and out of the dojo. Very recommended book for one who is serious about his training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the home trainer!, 2 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone (Paperback)
This book is a must for any martial artist training at home either exclusively or to supplement dojo training. The drills are excellent for the solo practioner and new and interesting techniques are also found within it. Unlike other works on the subject the book does not focus overly on expensive equipment and offers a huge variety of training ideas. Also, Christenson's writing style is light-hearted and you feel you are being taught by someone who knows what they are talking about - he is not pretentious or arrogant (a trap many MA authors fall into) and points out clearly problems which you may find with your technique and solutions to them. Trying to train without a partner? You wont find a better manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - A brilliant motivator, 2 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone (Paperback)
I heartily recommend this book. I used to be a bit half-hearted with my home training, but it really helps you understand how to use your home training time to improve your fitness and techniques.

It gives you lots of ideas for exercises to sort out any problems and build up your strengths so you can use your training time more effectively.

Mine's really dog-eared and tattered because I refer to it all the time. It's a great motivational tool too. If I'm sitting in front of the TV and can't be bothered training, I just open a page, read a couple of lines and get excited about working on a technique and hey presto, I can't wait to get up and at 'em.
Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative,insightful......a worth while purchace!, 7 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone (Paperback)
I bought this book because i was not being able to get to my martial arts classes due to work commitments and wanted some advice and ideas on some training techniques to keep my taining up and progress! And that is exactly what i got...

It is a great book for the beginner to the advanced, giving great ideas for training yourself and others, with limited space, equipment or whatever. It starts From grass roots stuff right through to more indepth detail of some techniques, giving you drills along the way to help improve and hopefully master each technique!

The only flaw is not ever technique has pictures. As much as they are described and thoughtout brilliantly, I feel having a visual reference would have been an added bonus for some practicioners!

For all martial artist I would have to say it is a must have as it helps improve the techniques you already have, gives you insights to new and different techniques, helps you think out the box a little in true Bruce Lee style phylosophy, and most importantly makes you revisit and check your techniques that you may have been doing for years, but forgot the whys, hows, wheres etc...

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and find it a great reference book when i need some new training routines on techniques, and it doesnt exactly cost much compared to some, more dogmatic martial arts companion books! Looking forward to purchasing book two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB BOOK!!!, 29 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone (Paperback)
The book is great, far more detailed then the other martial arts books i have purchased. It explains all exercises in detail concerning kicks, punches and other drills you can do to improve strength and speed, if you already dont have this title on your bookshelf then get it, you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good stuff - but also a lot of filler, 21 Mar 2010
By 
J. Jürs "Henrik Jürs" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone (Paperback)
I'm a bit undecided about this book - it holds many good ideas and surgestions to drills and execises you can do alone or with a partner.
Unfortunately it also holds some very veird stuff - execises I would not waste time on.

Its devided up in sections covering punches, kick and other stuff - but its written for the expeirinced martial artist - if you don't have trained in a karate club or similar - this is not the book for you.
The authour assumes that you are familiar will all the basic kicks and punches and therefor mostly deals with the more "veird and funny stuff".

What I would have liked more of was more combinatiosn work on bags and the like.
All in all its a good read - but its more like a catalogue over exercises than a cohenent book on fighting.

I think it would have been better if the book had been 20% shorter and more structured about building you up for more specific goals.

Still if you have practised martial arts for a couple of years - there are lots of good stuff here.

Henrik
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good addition to any MA Library, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone (Paperback)
I found this book hugely useful in devising a routine to improve general condition outside of any Martial arts traning dicipline . The author clearly lays out loads of drills which are beneficial to many striking arts and it is easy to adapt these routines to benefit your needs. The black and white photos are very clear & helpful in illustrating the various drills. The author had a very clear, accessible writing style which in itself motivates you to get going and train & the section on Mental discipline is a great read if the sofa had grabbed more of your attention than it should. The anecdotes Christensen throws in are also entertaining and will you to read on!

All in all- a straight forward easy to read & useful training companion for any MA'ist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solo Training, 16 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone (Paperback)
This is a very useful book with lots of tips, tricks and recommendations for training alone. Well written and techniques are explained and illustrated well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unparalleled in the field of martial art books!, 1 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone (Paperback)
Solo Training is fantastic! What an amazing teacher Loren Christensen is; he is the martial arts instructor you have always dreamed about. And while his previous books set a new standard in martial arts writing, Solo Training may yet be his masterpiece.
This book is an exciting (yes, his writing is that good!) and enthusiastic exploration of training methods and techniques for training alone, outside of class time. Christensen's exercises and drills are easy to learn, and are the key to becoming excellent in your sport. Within a very short amount of time, you will find yourself surpassing any personal goals of fitness and competency. You will also be surprising your fellow students and instructor with your incredibly enhanced improvement.
No matter what style, no matter what belt, and no matter how many years you have practiced you will never have been able to grasp the whole picture of martial arts without reading Solo Training. This is one hell of a book, one you will be turning to again and again. Thank-you Loren Christensen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK!!, 8 Oct 2007
This review is from: Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone (Paperback)
Loren Christensen is a great author who presents lots of different ways in which a martial artist can train at home. His writing suggests that he has a high knowledge in the martial arts which should give readers a comforting feeling when considering this book. Solo training will always be a part (but not a whole) for every martial artist and this book gives a lot of inspiring content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone
Solo Training: The Martial Artist's Guide to Training Alone by Loren W. Christensen (Paperback - 1 Jan 2001)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews