Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch!, 10 Dec 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighters Fact Book: Over 400 Concepts, Principles and Drills to Make You a Better Fighter (Paperback)
There is just loads of great and very practical stuff in here from drills and technique to preparing for gradings, mental focus and street fighting. This is my most refered to Martial Arts book - it's literally falling apart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AKA 'The Fighters Bible', 4 Aug 2005
This review is from: Fighters Fact Book: Over 400 Concepts, Principles and Drills to Make You a Better Fighter (Paperback)
Full to the brim with excellent training advice. This book covers a massive range of topics regarding training. There is an astonishing amount of information put forward in an easy and inspiring way. This book comprises of two parts, the first part deals with the physical side of the martial arts and the second with the equally important mental side.
I find it hard to put into words how informative and well written this book is. Put simply if you want a book to improve your martial arts there is no doubt that this is it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Training Bible, 2 May 2003
By 
J. Barber "ukjon77" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighters Fact Book: Over 400 Concepts, Principles and Drills to Make You a Better Fighter (Paperback)
An excellent book. Inspiring, informative, educational. Great for revision and motivation. The sort of book that you can pick any page and learn something new. Although based around Karate, as an intermediate Tae Kwon Do enthusiast I find it invaluable. A must buy for anyone serious in martial arts, I believe it is suitable for all abilities. The author's style is infectious and inspirational. It covers all aspects of the art from improving hand techniques, improving kicks, to solo training, sparring, etc. You do not have to read this book from start to finish, it's layout means that the information you require is at hand very easily. I believe that aided with this book and the inspiration and motivation it's given me, with a little effort in my own time I will have unfair advantage over my fellow students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book almost substitutes for training under Loren., 9 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fighters Fact Book: Over 400 Concepts, Principles and Drills to Make You a Better Fighter (Paperback)
I've had the pleasure and privilege of training with and under Loren Christensen. He's one of those rare induviduals who is a truely great fighter AND instructor. Loren is also an excellent writer. The Fighter's Fact Book covers a broad area, yet it provides the essentials to just about every aspect of the martial arts. Loren teaches from a realistic fighting aspect and he does so with a sense of humor. If you haven't read his other books, you'll finish this and buy his others on Amazon. If you have read his other books, chances are this will be your favorite.
Ted Weimann, author of Warrior Speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book has practical advise., 20 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Fighters Fact Book: Over 400 Concepts, Principles and Drills to Make You a Better Fighter (Paperback)
Well what can i say about this book. First thing it is shows practical ideas, like diagonal stepping and ways of speeding your hand strikes, kicks and blocks. There is no fancy flash stuff which i like. Overall a good book with good ideas which instructors and students can use to make their training more fun, interesting and in some cases more painful- no pain no gain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to improve your martial arts then read this book, 12 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighters Fact Book: Over 400 Concepts, Principles and Drills to Make You a Better Fighter (Paperback)
This book is an outstanding guide to overall skill improvement. It is so jam packed with drills and ideas that it is next to impossible to go through them all. There are some drills that are very taxing on your body like the 1,000 punch and 1,000 kick drills. When Loren says the final rep he really means the final rep before your arms and legs either fall off or you fall to the floor exhausted, but after a few weeks training I noticed my endurance dramatically improved. He gives so many tips on how to improve your speed in punching, kicking, and blocking that you would just not have the time to go through them all. This book is excellently written and presented with techniques that really work from a former police officer and professional martial artist. I recommend this book to people who are both beginners and experienced martial artists. Forget best of the best... This book will you better in all aspects of your training. I have a number of Loren Chistensen's books and each and every one is loaded to the capacity with great advice and training methods. His books are with out doubt the most comprehensive training manuals I have ever read. If you want to take your training seriously then this book will get you training harder than you have ever trained before with great results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy all his books now, 20 July 2008
By 
Crazy Foo (England Land) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fighters Fact Book: Over 400 Concepts, Principles and Drills to Make You a Better Fighter (Paperback)
It's a shame the books of this man do not have more reviews, as it suggests that not that many people have read them. Every martail artist who even thinks about actually using or relying upon his/her abilities should read his works.

Loren W. Christensen is a man who's obvious enthusiasm for martial arts is infectious, yet it is well tempered with a grounding in reality, and the wisdom of experience.

This makes his books invaluable, and also remarkably fun reading(at least if you have a slightly nasty streak, which, lets face it, most of us do).

Buy all of his books and absorb their tasty goodness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely vital, 15 July 2008
By 
K. T. Sims "Kayts" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighters Fact Book: Over 400 Concepts, Principles and Drills to Make You a Better Fighter (Paperback)
A really great book, information on everything from fitness, preparing for belt tests and awarness in potentially dangerous situations. Much better than anything else I've read, Christensen's writing makes the book easy tounderstand, he does not talk down to you and the book is a help to people who are just beginnig martial arts or people who are experinced. It's the first training book I'd recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighters Fact Book: Over 400 Concepts, Principles and Drills to Make You a Better Fighter
Used & New from: £7.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews