Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars50
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2010
I am a print editor with an interest in getting into film/video editing, so by no means a professional but I certainly have some knowledge of how a book should work. The obvious enthusiasm of Murch's prose cannot help but rub off on those who read his book. At the same time the imagery of his metaphors and analogies further increase the readability of the text, as well as it having a very well structured format.

I would highly recommend this text to anyone who just wants to dip into the film editing world as an amateur, it's short, well-written and still contemporary despite it's being written,, initially, 30 years ago.

C
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2007
An absolute must for anyone even remotely interested in film and film practice. If you haven't read it, read it! and if you have read it, read it again!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
I bought this book for a bit of an introduction to editing.
On the whole, the book is a good introduction, from the off there are various hints and tips for making the editing process far simpler. The main focus of the book however is the evolution of the practice of editing, which is fascinating - albeit a little dated ('The Future' being anything beyond 1999).
There isn't much advice on the more technical details of editing but this introduction from one of Hollywood's most highly renowned editors is superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
A wonderful book written by one of the greats of modern cinema. Much not only explains the art of editing and his approach to it but he also looks into real life and tells stories.

It's partly a book about film and partly a book about the experience of Walter Murch. If you have any sort of interest in film you should read this but if you love cinema then you pretty much have to read it.

Oh, and it's endorsed by Francis Coppola and George Lucas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Very good book. I'd like to read an updated version because there's been many advances in technology over the past 10-15 years.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Please read the book to the end. I would say it have 3 parts: first - personal inside with the bits of phylosophy, second - history of editing technology. You may feel this is a bit boring, but don't despair! :) In third part author explains how different editing technologies work and affect the final result. So, yes, read it to the end. Recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
I'm about to embark on a masters in post production editing and a friend recommended I read this to help me with my course. All I can say is, the man is brilliant and you learn so much about how to go about editing. Obviously it's not designed to copy everything he does but you learn methods that you can adapt to suit your methods. Well worth buying for anyone interested in editing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2010
Walter Murch is one of the most inspiring figures in filmmaking today. He has a lot more to offer than this book, but this is a great way to start. It is only thanks to Murch's crystal clear mind that this treatise is so short, for it is a way better book on film editing than most of the titles out there that purport to be as much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I'm still reading this, but what I've read so far gives a great insight into what goes into a movie. It won't necessarily improve your own editing, or film making, but it may do. And it is an interesting read. It also makes you realise that the editors name should be more prominent within the credits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
A nice approach to editing thanks to Walter Murch who has edited many famous films (the godfather, apocalypse now, cold mountain...)
Really important for those out there who believe in making the cuts of one film match with the unconscious blinking of the audience.
Easy to read and clever. Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)