Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last an Objective View Based on Science!
This book makes bold claims. However, it backs each one up with hard scientific fact - something, that sadly, orthodox Egyptologists fail to do.

The evidence for an advanced civilization has always been here but unfortunately has been suppressed by elitists who wish to retain their rank and power by keeping the "masses" in the dark and subservient to their...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by M. McGrath

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only For The Science Illiterate
I've tried to read this book with an open-minded attitude, but the more I advanced through the work, the more difficult to digest it became.

The whole "theory" is just a mashup of eccentric interpretations trying to explain the existence of a number of curious features present in the pyramid. I won't spoil the "theory" here but I'd like to mention it makes...
Published 14 months ago by jSmith


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last an Objective View Based on Science!, 21 Jun 2011
By 
M. McGrath "Amazon Addict" (Belfast, N. Ireland, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
This book makes bold claims. However, it backs each one up with hard scientific fact - something, that sadly, orthodox Egyptologists fail to do.

The evidence for an advanced civilization has always been here but unfortunately has been suppressed by elitists who wish to retain their rank and power by keeping the "masses" in the dark and subservient to their "truth". However, with the dawning of our latest technological age (and thanks to YouTube) the real truth of our past is becoming more easily accepted and the evidence for it is becoming more accessible to ordinary people like myself.

When I read an excellent book like this one and marvel at the sheer weight of evidence presented by Dunn I am left bewildered as to how this evidence is still not being reviewed. Dunn makes a very strong case for his theory and backs everything his says with facts not conjecture.

Dunn also rightly points out that archeologists are not experts in machining or engineering and can easily miss or misinterpret important evidence (in my opinion many times this is done deliberately. If I feel unwell and want advise on getting better I listen to a doctor before I listen to a mid-wife, if I want to know how a car engine works I will listen to a mechanic before I listen to a car salesman ...... if I want to know how the pyramids where made and what their purpose was I will listen to a machinist, builder and engineer before I listen to an archeologist.

If you are open minded and eager to find your own truth rather than thoughtlessly digesting the spoon-fed versions of history given to us by the mainstream communities then you will be fascinated by this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars left with ittle/no doubt, 2 Aug 2009
By 
M. J. Ryder (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
The Giza Power Plant left me in awe, as the thought of non-linear development excites me, especially when we are dealing with something so long ago and on such a grand and precise scale that often surpasses our current levels (and I'm sure the research I have read so far is only the tip of the iceberg). It also leaves me in fear, as I have always thought that our society is going to destroy itself... and the fact that this advanced society who seemingly knew so much was wiped out and left such little trace, whether due to self-destruction or a cataclysmic event, leaves me with no doubt that the same will happen to us. (I hope to become a professional pessimist when I'm older!)

Dunn's writing style is straight-forward, and makes it very easy to understand the points he is making - and I hope that more evidence is discovered (and as soon as possible!) that further proves this theory.

I would find it very hard to believe that anyone who read this book would not be fully persuaded by the theory... I think Dunn is right in saying that it took someone with some engineering experience to think of some of the ideas he has come up with, but to understand and believe them takes merely common sense and a pre-GCSE level of design/engineering knowledge.

I think that this book is incredibly mind-opening, and that anyone who reads even just the first few chapters, interested in advanced machining or ancient Egypt or not, will benefit greatly. I plan on recommending this book to anyone with an open-minded inclination, and plan on passing my copy around to as many of my friends as I can...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a believable explanation of the true nature of the Great Pyramid of Giza, 31 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
(Edited 29/09/2012)

Whilst it is of course open to anyone to come up with a theory about the Great Pyramid and write a book about it, and indeed many have done so, as someone who has had a deep interest in ancient Egypt since early childhood I have always found the theories to be lacking. Generally it seems most theories don't explain everything that has so far been found inside the pyramid or they resort to orthodoxy one way or another. Christopher Dunn's theory on the other hand is the most complete and the most convincing that I have yet read, and the engineer in me tells me that he's right, or very nearly right.

The beauty of his theory is that not only does it explain everything found and recorded, from the noxious smell reported by early explorers to the salt encrustation on the walls of the so-called Queen's Chamber, without any single component it would fall apart. In other words, it demands the existence of everything which is currently known, and even allows the author to predict the nature of previously undiscovered features such as the apparent downward hole in the cavity behind Gantenbrink's Door.

Christopher Dunn is a machinist, someone who has spent half a lifetime with machines and tools, and has spent the last 20 years or so working to "reverse-engineer" the known features of the Great Pyramid of Giza with a technologist's knowledge and experience and has arrived at the unshakeable conclusion that this was without a doubt an energy-generation device; a coupled oscillator which was precisely tuned to the resonant frequency of the earth itself; which operated on acoustical energy generated in the so-called "Grand Gallery" (in reality an acoustical resonance chamber), amplified in the King's Chamber then emitted from one of the shafts which are conventionally thought to be air-shafts. The other shaft carried into the King's Chamber the microwave input signal, the ever-present background resonance of universal hydrogen for which the perfect waveguide would be the exact dimensions of this shaft. The granite box in the King's Chamber, reputed to be a sarcophagus, was in reality (due to the high quartz content in the granite) essentially a crystal oscillator.

Whilst the author, with disarming honesty, admits he does not know exactly how the microwave energy emitted was harnessed, it is of course well-known that Nicola Tesla demonstrated over a century ago how to transmit electricity without the use of wires; if the ancients were knowledgeable enough to create such devices then it goes without saying they would have found a way to harness the energy created.

Dunn shows how the "Kings Chamber" is essentially a resonant cavity such as found in a guitar, perfectly tuned to the F Sharp chord despite being made of granite; how the massive granite beams in the so-called Relieving Chambers above the King's Chamber contain holes which show where material was removed in order to perfectly tune them to very specific frequencies (or notes); and how there was a massive explosion in antiquity which damaged the walls and ceiling of the King's Chamber, cracked the granite beams above it and effectively ended the Giza Power Plant's operational life. Conventional thinking is that the damage is the result of an earthquake. This however does not make sense; the 350-feet long Descending Passage deviates by approximately 1/4 inch over its entire length despite being bored 200 feet into the bedrock beneath the pyramid, yet shows no sign of any earthquake disturbance in the very place where it would be most expected.

The nature and date of the event which put an end to this civilisation is, in my opinion, a hugely interesting question with a number of possible answers. Whilst as always conventional theories, paying lip-service to the principles of uniformity, fail to explain anything convincingly, for anyone who has read the works of "catastrophists" such as Immanuel Velikovsky, David Talbott, Dwardu Cardona, and a host of others, there are many possibilities worthy of consideration. Velikovsky, perhaps the "father" of modern catastrophism and also possibly the most perceptive, suggested there were global cataclysms around 3500 years ago, around 6000 years ago, and the greatest, the Universal Flood, possibly some time within the last 10,000 years. He also suggested there were others, on a greater or lesser scale, that have occurred whilst homo sapiens has lived on the planet. There are, of course, many variations. Cardona and Talbott for instance, both originally influenced by an unpublished suggestion of Velikovsky's, came from completely different directions yet both arrived at the exact same conclusion: that the Earth was once a satellite of the planet we now know as Saturn, once the father of all mythological gods. It seems likely to me that the cataclysm which undoubtedly ended the working life of the Great Pyramid occurred rather earlier than later, perhaps 10,000 years ago, and that the scattered remnants of a once-great people took many millenia to recover and rebuild a civilisation which was a shadow of its former self, no longer possessing the knowledge or wherewithal to regain its former glory. Its rather pathetic attempts to emulate earlier works culminated in the Step Pyramid of Djoser, an artefact which we have always been told is the oldest pyramid due to its crude construction but is actually most likely the youngest for the very same reason. I think the reason we have so far not stumbled across the machinery that undoubtedly once absolutely MUST have existed in order to creation this amazing machine is because numerous planetary catastrophes have occurred within the past 10 millennia or so and that if it still exists it lies buried far beyond our present capacity for recovery - if we knew where to even start looking.

Many will scoff at such theories as far-fetched, conditioned as they are to believe that the majority view is the correct one. Yet so far no-one has proposed a satisfactory explanation for the existence of the Antikythera Mechanism, a mechanical astronomical computer recovered from a Greek ship which sank in approximately 100 B.C. This, it seems, offers irrefutable proof that the majority view is desperately in need of major revision at least, and possibly even complete rejection, for it clearly demonstrates that, even if it were the only such artefact ever to have existed (which is highly unlikely for many reasons), still there was at one time in grey antiquity a civilisation which possessed a technology which would not have been out of place in the early 20th Century. The fact that this object may have been today's equivelant of a Grandfather clock in its own time is neither here nor there; no conventional explanation has yet been able to account for it, and its very existence is a stark reminder that the more we insist we have now discovered everything there is to be discovered, the less we, or rather those who insist on clinging to such narrow-minded views, actually know about the recent history of the planet Earth and the human race.

The now undeniable fact that there was previously an advanced civilisation capable of creating the industry necessary to manufacture the precision tools with which to then engineer a precision instrument such as the Antikythera Mechanism is lent additional weight by the superlative work of Dunn who documents what seems to be irrefutable evidence that the ancient Egyptians possessed advanced machining techniques which allowed them to cut and drill through igneous rocks such as granite, diorite and basalt apparently far quicker and more efficiently than we can today. They also apparently possessed the ability to guide high-powered precision stone cutting, shaping and inscribing tools through three or more axes with incredible accuracy and reliability in order to cut and shape granite and other hard igneous rocks, among the hardest known naturally occurring substances, into huge and yet intricate shapes as though they were plastic, and suggests that for him the question of the nature of the technology used to guide these tools, rather than the fact that the tools themselves indisputably once must have existed, is perhaps the more fascinating aspect.

There is much much more to this book. Whilst only 280 pages there is a huge amount of information and analysis contained within it, and for anyone who finds themselves dissatisfied with the current paradigm of Egyptology which insists that these staggeringly huge and yet amazingly precise structures were built by the ancients for purposes as prosaic as burial or stargazing, this is to my knowledge the most holistic theory yet presented. Read it yourself - I am sure you will similarly feel that the apparent mystery of the true purpose of the Great Pyramid of Giza is no longer a mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well that explains the how - anyone know who?, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
I had to read this book after seeing a reference in The Greatest Lie Ever Told. There is so little research that is done into finding and establishing facts about the pyramids and too much guesswork and speculation that is put about as fact with no basis in research. Christopher Dunn writes as someone who has an enquiring, analytic mind and a practical engineering background. He is open to possibilities, but they have to make some sense, even if they do infer origins beyond our current knowledge, or even comprehension.

Dunn looks at what is there, uses his knowledge of science and engineering and says "What if?" The answers he supplies make sense within the parameters of the evidence he provides to support his thesis. They will never make sense to anyone who wants to take the "that can't be possible" view. Even the mathematics alone show that a few thousand primitive men with ropes and ramps weren't building anyone a tomb! If you want to know what the Giza pyramid complex is, read this book, it makes more sense than anything you've heard about the pyramids so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can any other giza theory be seriously considered after reading this?, 5 Jan 2009
By 
M. Sugden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
Incredible! At first it sounds an almost silly proposition - that the Pyramids were powerplants. But once you've read (and understood) this book I guarantee you'll struggle to see them as having served as tombs for past Kings. Christopher Dunn makes a prediction in his book - which I will not spoil here - but suffice to say in the years since being published this prediction has been found as fact - noted in an article on his website.

The book is quite technical - a lot of dimensions and comments are used as recorded by Flinders Petrie who was apparently one of the very few people to record much of the Pyramids from a technical and highly-observant perspective.

I know this isn't the most detailed of reviews, but all in all if you're in any doubt about this book (as I was) - buy it, read it, and just see what you think afterwards! I'm sure you won't look back!

It's just a shame those Egytian Scholarly Archaeologist types don't open their eyes once in a while...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buries the Pyramid-as-tomb theory once and for all!, 15 Sep 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
Christopher Dunn has written a tremendous book--far and away the best work about the Great Pyramid in the last 25 years. Using his background as a master machinist and engineer, Chris has seen the Great Pyramid as it really was and is, a magnificent structure built by master craftspeople (scientists and engineers) to be a practical device, a power plant. Chris explains why it was built so precisely, why the particular materials were used and how advanced machining and techniques had to be employed to accomplish the task. Anyone interested in recovery of ancient wisdom, understanding how the Great Pyramid could not possible have been originally designed and built as a tomb for a king, and interested in the concepts of sacred geometry, acoustical harmonic resonance theories and the great knowledge of the Ancient Khemitians (Egyptians) must read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Giza Power Plant, 27 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
Very interesting author, makes one wonder what life is all about. Can't say much more as I am still perusing it.
The book was in excellent condition and very well packed and the seller sent the parcel in PDQ. Well done and thanks for a smooth transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books published on the Great Pyramid of Giza, 22 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
As Director of the Great Pyramid of Giza Research Association (gizapyramid.com), I am familiar with most of the major theories regarding the Great Pyramid. Since my background is in physics and biophysics, I have always favored a scientific explanation with facts that can be substantiated. Mr. Dunn's new book is a very scientific approach to discovering the purpose of the Great Pyramid of Giza. His theory is based on sound scientific principles which include acoustics, vibrations, piezoelectric effect, and others. He has synthesized a scientific theory that is consistent with the history of ancient Egypt. Of all the new theories published to date, I find his theory to be one of the most promising. Further work needs to be done but Mr. Dunn has set the stage for a new approach to the Great Pyramid.
Also the first part of his book is a real encyclopedia of the history and discoveries of the Great Pyramid. This book is a must for any serious student of the Great Pyramid and also for any layman interested in it. It makes fascinating and enjoyable reading. If I was going to recommend three books to someone regarding the Great Pyramid, Mr. Dunn's book would be one of the three that I would choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Giza Power Plant - highly recommended, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
I am an avid reader of books of all kinds, but this is the first book I have ever read that has blown my mind. At last I have found a theory that rings true regarding the Great Pyramid, and potentially the pyramids across the whole world too.
For those of you contemplating buying this book, the author, currently at least, has a presentation about his research for this book on Youtube (in ten 10-min clips). He comes across as a humble man who does not try to dictate what we should believe, and he has adapted his own hypothesis over the years whilst researching this matter, as more discoveries were made.
His youtube presentation summarises this book quite well, as long as you can stay with his little forays into irrelevance. His book most certainly does not. It is clear, concise, and very convincing. The best literary purchase this decade for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on the pyramids I have read in years., 22 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
At last, a book that provides you with a logical and well explained reason for why the Egyptians erected the world' largest and most accurately built structure so many years ago. I couldn't put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt
The Giza Power Plant: Technologies of Ancient Egypt by Christopher Dunn (Paperback - 31 Oct 1998)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews