Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but . . .
Substantially better than the Trevor Thom books, which I found to be dull and impenetrable. Plenty of illustrations and clean, spacious layout makes the book easy to follow, with helpful revision questions at the end of each section.

Why not 5 stars? Although in its third edition, there are still irritating typographical errors which should have been ironed out...
Published on 26 May 2006 by David G. Bobbett

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not that impressed
i bought all the Pratt books with out looking at the Trevor Thom books. The Pratt books do explain it all in detail and with nice pics but at the end of the day you are doing the exam to pass. The Thom books cut out all the waffle and cut to the chase .
Published on 28 April 2007 by Mr. N. Charlton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but . . ., 26 May 2006
By 
David G. Bobbett (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Principles of Flight: Aircraft General Knowledge Flight Performance and Planning (Private Pilots Licence Course) (Paperback)
Substantially better than the Trevor Thom books, which I found to be dull and impenetrable. Plenty of illustrations and clean, spacious layout makes the book easy to follow, with helpful revision questions at the end of each section.

Why not 5 stars? Although in its third edition, there are still irritating typographical errors which should have been ironed out long ago, together with the (very) occasional bizarre sentence which seems to have abandoned the English language entirely.

Those issues apart, this series is the best I have come across for Private Pilot training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality book, 17 May 2006
By 
Oleksandr Kalinin (Munich, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Principles of Flight: Aircraft General Knowledge Flight Performance and Planning (Private Pilots Licence Course) (Paperback)
I like this book very much. Although there is a lot of material in it, structure is consistent and clear. At the end of each chapter there is a number of questions for self-control. Text is detailed and is written in solid, precise manner which makes this book a potentially good long-term source for reference.

This book is about technics, and to go through and understand bits of it will require quite some attention and concentration even if you are an engineer or technical person, so be prepared.

The only thing I disliked about this book (and the whole series) is very small font size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not that impressed, 28 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Principles of Flight: Aircraft General Knowledge Flight Performance and Planning (Private Pilots Licence Course) (Paperback)
i bought all the Pratt books with out looking at the Trevor Thom books. The Pratt books do explain it all in detail and with nice pics but at the end of the day you are doing the exam to pass. The Thom books cut out all the waffle and cut to the chase .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says..., 8 Jun. 2013
By 
A. Leak "Wheelsup" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Flight: Aircraft General Knowledge Flight Performance and Planning (Private Pilots Licence Course) (Paperback)
Good material, not at all hard going and plenty of pictures and diagrams for the newby. I came back to flying and this was not only a good refresher, but a good starter for anyone who has just caught the flying bug... Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 13 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Principles of Flight: Aircraft General Knowledge Flight Performance and Planning (Private Pilots Licence Course) (Paperback)
good book if you are interested in taking a private pilots licence or are just interested. I did not know there was such a lot to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 1 Mar. 2015
By 
H. V. Gael (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Flight: Aircraft General Knowledge Flight Performance and Planning (Private Pilots Licence Course) (Paperback)
Excellent book. Sometimes going a bit far (why explain the wankel engine as it never made it in aviation?) but very complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Principles of Flight: Aircraft General Knowledge Flight Performance and Planning (Private Pilots Licence Course) (Paperback)
AN INTERESTING BOOK FOR ALSO NON PILOTS AS ME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contradicting stability descriptions-Error????, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Flight: Aircraft General Knowledge Flight Performance and Planning (Private Pilots Licence Course) (Paperback)
So far I found the AFE series quite good, however in this book there appears to be confusing statements on pages PF28 to page PF31. On page 25 it seems to have the correct analysis of the three planes of movement, ie Pitch around the lateral axis, roll around the longitudinal axis and yaw around the vertical axis. However on the very next page I was completely thrown when it went into the detailed description of pitch by saying "stability in pitch is known as the "longitudinal stability". It then goes on in the next few pages PF31 describing roll as "lateral stability" apparently contrary to what was said on page PF27. As a student this was very confusing to say the least , as far as I can tell (through further investigation), Page PF 27 is correct and the following pages PF28-Pf31 appear contradictory. I think what is being said is Pitch rotates AROUND the lateral axis and Pitch stability occurs ALONG the Longitudinal axis, likewise Roll rotates around the Longitudinal axis and roll stability occurs ALONG the Lateral axis. I think? This could have been explained better for students like me trying to get to grips with the science for the PPL. Other than that I think they are a good series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews