Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vin Denson, 2 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full Cycle (Paperback)
Vin Denson....what a modest man, with a great way of putting his memories and thoughts into words. Vin is one of the few Brits who were able to pave the way to the European cycle road-racing world in the 1950s and 60s. Good to have his perspective, as a highly accomplished and worthy competitor at top level, of the inside workings of what went on in those days when all you knew or heard at the time, as a 'layman', was what the Press printed. Lovely recollections of his amateur days, too. Great to see one of the few successful 'old-time' professionals stay with cycling for the love of it...after the glory days were over. Truly a man who has not fully received the accolades he deserves, possibly because of his modesty and desire to live a 'normal' life. A marvellous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Denson review, 16 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Full Cycle (Paperback)
A good read for any cycle fan regardless of age. Although Denson rode as a pro during the sixties long before I was born it was tremendously interesting. It was a great insight into one of Britain's best riders who really has never gained the recognition he deserved. His post professional cycling was delightful. Back to club racing and touring, with no high and mighty attitude, just because of his history abroad. A great man worth reading about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 10 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Full Cycle (Paperback)
A cycling life story told frankly, I read this book in one session one very wet Sunday, this is no dry list of races won or lost. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full Cycle (Paperback)
Met Vin Denson at a Dave Rayner dinner about 4 years ago and this prompted me to buy his book . I'm glad I did, for it is a good read. Not only does he recount a successful career, more successful than I had been aware of, but his personality shines through, and it is the better for that.
There is no shortage of cycling biographies available nowadays, but this is one of the better ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read for cycle fans, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full Cycle (Paperback)
Bought as a present, my husband enjoyed this book. He would recommend it to those who enjoy cycling programmes and reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling as a way of life, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full Cycle (Paperback)
A wonderful book. The cycling club activities, touring, racing and social are just as I remember them from that era when I was a Clifton CC member. The description of the top class amateur, independent and professional is so well covered. I vividly remember Vin Denson winning the Coventry to York road race, I was marshalling that day. I can recommend this book to all cyclists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining life story of one of the best Brit cyclists, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Full Cycle (Paperback)
Very well written account of Vin Denson's cycling career.
It takes the reader from his first wobbly attempts to ride a two wheeler, through his British club life and amateur race successes, to his Continental career first in the GB Tour de France lineup and later in the biggest French and Belgian Teams.
Much interesting detail emerges about how the teams function around their leader and the differences between the outfits and their managers.
Regretfully at the very top level Vin was always fated to be a "super domestique" to the stars and he was rarely given the chance to take the leading role. Given that chance he proves how capable he is in Luxembourg with the backing of Shay Elliott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROAD RACE MEMORIES, 15 July 2010
This review is from: The Full Cycle (Paperback)
great book giving you a good insight into tht life,and struggles of a professional cyclist,one of the hardest but best of sports.
It brought back many memories and of people I met in the sport,and of my time in the Royal Signals,and has Vin said in the book once a racing cyclist always a racing cyclist.

Bill Probyn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 18 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: The Full Cycle (Paperback)
Vin seems a really down to earth great guy with an obvious love for his family - compared to the modern day mamby pamby footballers (and even some cyclists) here is someone who loved waht he was doing for very little material reward.
A really well written book - it brought back memories of my Dad's stories of the exodus of cyclists across to North Wales at the weekends from the Wirral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vin Denson, 11 Feb 2009
By 
E. Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Full Cycle (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed the book. With knowing Vin on a personal level it brought back some great memories of events we rode together in the early days, before he turned professional.

Paddy Ward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Full Cycle
The Full Cycle by Vincent Denson (Paperback - 8 Dec 2008)
Used & New from: 10.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews