Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrow We Ride
Jean Bobet is a cultured and articulate man. His book is an evocation of his famous brother, Louison, and a memoir of the traditions of the peloton and the workings of pro cycling in the fifties, the Golden Age of Continental road racing. The brothers' lives intertwined, the clever academic and the iconic champion. Everyone wanted to see Louison, to touch him, to read...
Published on 21 Sep 2008 by G. Daniels

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a jump in the passed
A nice jump in the passed in cycling history that I didn't know very well. The English translation suffers and let the book down.
Published on 29 Jan 2010 by Michelangelo Russo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrow We Ride, 21 Sep 2008
By 
G. Daniels "velovet" (Staffs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow, We Ride (Paperback)
Jean Bobet is a cultured and articulate man. His book is an evocation of his famous brother, Louison, and a memoir of the traditions of the peloton and the workings of pro cycling in the fifties, the Golden Age of Continental road racing. The brothers' lives intertwined, the clever academic and the iconic champion. Everyone wanted to see Louison, to touch him, to read about him. He was the first to win the Tour de France for three consecutive years. Flamboyant, for some he could do no wrong. Perhaps, unsurprisingly, the writing is largely uncritical of its main subject, but he was not beyond rebuke from his younger sibling.

Louison Bobet's career ran in parallel with French society as it came to terms with occupation and collaboration together with post-war social and economic modernisation. However, by the end of the decade there was a shift in cycling hierarchy. Koblet and Kubler were gone. Coppi died in 1960 and Bobet retired not long afterwards. Jean Bobet himself quit cycling in 1958 disillusioned by the influence of drugs on the peloton. He became a journalist, kept the secret until he could stand it no more and joined his brother in his thalasotherapy institute.

Jean Bobet offers unique insight into the mores of pro cycling when in its pomp. His book is memorable and emblematic of the period yet, more than that, it overflows with the intimacies and delight of cycling for its own sake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very evocative of the era, 18 May 2009
By 
G. Hancox (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomorrow, We Ride (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book a lot, as it was a wonderful evocation of cycling in the golden era of the 50's. All the great names are here, and lots of good yarns about Coppi (who Bobet along with all other ex-pros reckons to be godlike), Gaul (a great story about the battle in the Giro in '57), and Geminiani, who is rapidly emerging (to me) as a great character. The story about him bashing tifosi with his bike pump is a classic!

It is unusual mixture of autobiography about Jean Bobet and biography about his brother Lousion, falling exactly half way in between the two. This works well, as the two brothers stories are so closely linked anyway, and Jean adds quite a few telling insights without labouring the point, or writing about his brother at huge length. The final chapter is very touching as the two continue to cycle every Sunday into their old age, until Louison's death. Worth the money, for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgia for cycliing buffs, 13 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow, We Ride (Paperback)
"Tommorow we ride" by Jean Bobet, brother of Louison Bobet.
This short book by Jean Bobet recaptures the excitement and thrills of competitive cycling in its heyday, the time of Fausto Coppi, Louison Bobet, Koblet and Kubler and all the post WWII aces that rode in the Tour de France. He also describes the sheer physical joys of cycling in ways that I have not read before. As a piece of recorded history it is unbeatable, not least because so few professional sportsmen have the ability and training to write well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 9 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow, We Ride (Paperback)
Remembering Jean Bobet as an occasional contributor to the "Sporting Cyclist" magazine back in the 1960s, I eagerly awaited the delivery of this book.
I wasn't disapointed, although in essence a cycling autobiography of Jean Bobet, the intertwining with his more famous brother Louison is inevitable. This gives a very unique insight into life in the profesional peleton in the 1950s.
My only slight criticism is that in places the translation to English is a bit clumsy, and you can only wonder why Jean who was a confirmed Anglophile as well as studying at Aberdeen University didnt undertake the task of translation himself. That is though a very minor criticism of what is an excellent outstanding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brotherly Love!, 27 April 2014
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow, We Ride (Paperback)
I have to admit that I haven't read much from the `golden age' of cycling. The era of toe clips, non wicking clothes, no helmets and the galacticos of their time who did not disappear after a race to the blacked out team coach. The author Jean Bobet was a fine professional cyclist in his own right. He managed to win the 1955 Paris/Nice race which was no mean achievement. He was a man always doomed to live in his brother Louison Bobet's shadow. Not an easy cross to bear, but one that he bore lightly. Louison was the first cyclist to win the tour de France three times in a row. A mighty achievement given he was up against legends like Fausto Coppi and Charly Gaul. More than enough to make him an adored sporting icon in France! Bespectacled Jean was the more thoughtful and scholarly of the two. He was an anglophile who studied in Scotland. No surprise he finally gave up cycling to pursue a literary career, where he clearly had great talent.

Jean Bobet above all comes across as a decent man. He sticks by his brother throughout and clearly worshipped him, but even so he was not blind to his faults. Through his writings we get to understand a little about the self doubt that can beset a champion. They are there to be shot at, and none can stay on the pinnacle forever. The decline of the champion who can no longer keep the wheel is touchingly described. Bobet doesn't forget to describe the simple joys to be had from cycling with his brother after they were both retired. The `volupte' as he describes it. He speaks candidly about the use of drugs on the circuit. In those days it wasn't illegal. The great races are described and the characters around them. It was a book that I was sad to leave. Above all it was a book about brotherly love. Louison Bobet retired in 1959, appropriately up in the clouds at the top of the lofty Col de L'iseran. His own personal fiefdom where he reigned supreme in his pomp was on the Col de L'izoard. His brother writes poignantly of a ride the two took together on those slopes after their retirement. The last chapter was so moving that it actually brought a tear to my eye. I hope to cycle over the L'izoard later this year, at a rather different cadence to Louison's. I will spare a thought for a great champion at the top! That's if I make it of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest sporting book I have ever read, 3 April 2012
By 
M. McCann "rednotdead1976" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow, We Ride (Paperback)
"On the following Sunday, he escaped"- a single sentence that, like Hemingway's "For sale, baby shoes, never worn" uses six words to tell a gripping, emotional story more than reams of flowery prose ever can. This is typical of a very untypical sport biography/autobiography- it is said that cycling and boxing promote the best sports writing, but Jean Bobet has gone much further in this one. As well as being a successful professional cyclist and brother of first 3-time winner of the Tour de France, Louison Jean Bobet was also an academic- leaving a life destined as a lecturer in university in Scotland at his brothers behest, and together they experienced the highs and lows, triumphs and failures of the Classics and Grand Tours in the 1950s.

Within the first 17 pages Roland Barthes has been quoted, and a couple of pages later the protective Jean actually turns Barthes away from Louison's hotel room after a hard won stage victory. This is a book that really could only be written by a Frenchman or woman. As well as bringing to life the strain and horror that is climbing the Ventoux on a scorching hot day, Jean also draws from many aspects of life-intellectual, physical, cultural- and with an obvious love of language has created what I consider the best sporting book I have ever read. He is poetic but never mawkish in describing the sight of Coppi, Gaul, Kublet, Kobler and other post war greats heading the peloton, taking on the pave or conquering the legendary climbs that make up the Tour, the Giro and the Veulta. His writing is so enlightening and eases the reader in, that even someone with no interest in cycling would get drawn into it.

It is probably obvious that I am a big fan of this book, and its combination of influences mean it is no simple "he did this, I did that" narrative, but an inspiring, emotional and sometimes funny revelation of what life as a pro-cyclist in post-war France was like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jean Bobet, 30 Aug 2009
By 
K. Blackwell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow, We Ride (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book a great deal. I also echo G Daniels' review of the book.

Louison Bobet was a champion in the golden age of cycling from after the War up to Coppi's death in 1960. There was a changing of the guard thereafter. Coppi, Bartali, Kubler, Koblet, Van Steenbergen and Bobet. All capable of winning in the grand manner in the era pre television. We get a history of these rivalries that existed, but equally enjoyable for me was the explanantion of the sheer enjoyment of cycling itself.

Anyone who has raced or been a club rider will understand these sentiments of riding a bike. There are those days when we feel tired to start with and end up flying; and the opposite when we feel great but end up grovelling with tiredness or the bonk (hunger knock). This book helps to bring that out.

A nicely relaxed read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow, We Ride (Paperback)
This is a great book and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is interested in cycling and the Tour de France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow, We Ride (Paperback)
I bought this book as a birthday present for a real cycling fan, he just loves it. There are too few 'good' books about cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cycling classic, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow, We Ride (Paperback)
The Bobet's were from a time when cycling was still a working man's sport. Jean was able to provide unending support & love for his more talented brother, despite him not always acknowledging whether he needed it or not. A great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomorrow, We Ride
Tomorrow, We Ride by Jean Bobet (Paperback - 3 Sep 2008)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews