Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slim but deep
I never expected this to be a very in depth history of cycling, it isn't a very large book and there is a lot of history to cover. The book does give a good overview of the history of professional road racing, starting with a very interesting chapter on the earliest races in Paris and covering thoughtfully the commercial motives of the organisers.

In fact the...
Published on 18 May 2010 by Mr. Richard Brooks

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sweat of the Gods
Not bad reading but has a lot of material I have already read in other books on cycling history. Book arrived in mint condition and was delivery promptly. No complaints on that score.
Published on 13 May 2010 by Spilly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slim but deep, 18 May 2010
By 
Mr. Richard Brooks (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing (Paperback)
I never expected this to be a very in depth history of cycling, it isn't a very large book and there is a lot of history to cover. The book does give a good overview of the history of professional road racing, starting with a very interesting chapter on the earliest races in Paris and covering thoughtfully the commercial motives of the organisers.

In fact the main strength of this book is that it gives a good overview of how and why changes happened in the sport, these are mostly for financial reasons but the interested parties change with time. Starting with newspapers, then manufacturers and finally outside sponsors. Without this wider view the development of cycling makes little or no sense. The author makes the book an entertaining read and the little pieces of myth busting are rather enlightening. Maso forms a strong argument about why riders of the past are regarded as greats in a way that no cyclist since the 60's has been.

My only problems with the book are that it tends to focus on the Tour de France, I realise that this is the greatest race around and that it is a very slim book but I had hoped for a little bit more on other races. There is a section on the Giro and a few pages on the spring classics but I don't remember reading a single word about the Vuelta the third grand tour.

On a personal level I don't agree with Maso's views as to doping which has probably coloured my recollection of the book as this is the focus of the last chapter of the book but as a whole this is a entertaining read which gives a really good idea of the way that cycling has changed over the hundred plus years that races have been run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing (Paperback)
Not much about British cycling, but a cracking read about the media/industry/cycling interface. Very enjoyable to read and a complete page-turner. Recommended to anyone interested in cycling and the history of cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing (Paperback)
Excellent product which was a good holiday read recently. An Informative and intriguing read about many of cycling's legendary riders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Debunks the mythology, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing (Paperback)
Cyclists like their sport/hobby to have a history of "epic" rides and "heroic" riders: it makes their activity seem to have a more illustrious history. This book shows how much that history (as regards the Tour de France) is at best based on exaggerations, and at worst based on downright lies. It demonstrates how the history of the Tour has been written by people with an interest in creating myths, rather than in recording the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dispels some of the myths of yesteryear, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Darren Edwards (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing (Paperback)
A very well researched book about the myths and legends of the cycling Gods from the time before TV cameras. Don't read this book if you don't want your impression of the cycling heroes from times past brought down to earth, as Benjo Maso reveals some of the truths behind the legends and the motivations behind the creation of these myths.

Don't get me wrong, the cyclists from that era were no doubt superb athletes, but I think today's cyclists would match up to their predecessors in terms of performance, but the presence of TV cameras and other media will prevent them being elevated to God-like status.

An essential read, if you want a rounded view of the early years of the Tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasic history and stories of the Tour De France, 22 Aug 2005
By 
Bruce A. Johnston (Mariposa Ca.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing (Paperback)
I have read this book and it was quite interesting. While being a medium size book, it is filled with a wealth of information, rich in stories, and gives an excellent timeline of the great riders of the TDF since its beginning. Also the Tour of Italy's roots are described in detail, and give excellent accounts of how Italian riders who rode and won the Giro like Alfredo Binda and Octavia Bottachia also went on to win the TDF. This is a great book since it also spans several chapters detailing accounts of the great expolits of Gino Bartali and Fausto Coppi as well. Well done! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sweat of the Gods, 13 May 2010
This review is from: The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing (Paperback)
Not bad reading but has a lot of material I have already read in other books on cycling history. Book arrived in mint condition and was delivery promptly. No complaints on that score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sweat of the Gods, 8 April 2008
By 
Daniel Hayes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing (Paperback)
Provides a stunning insight into the achievements and personalities of a golden age of cycling.

Brilliantly written and a superb translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets..., 8 April 2008
This review is from: The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing (Paperback)
A refreshing insight into the myths and legends of professional cycling, and a cracking good read. A must for any committed fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing
The Sweat of the Gods: Myths and Legends of Bicycle Racing by Benjo Maso (Paperback - 21 Jun 2005)
8.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews