Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for beginners or out-of-practice seasoned pros.
I was in two minds about buying this book after reading the previous reviews. However, I am very happy with the purchase.
The book is great for students new to the study of rocks in thin section. It covers all of the most important rock-forming minerals and then introduces the rocks that they are most commonly found in. There are also sections covering most of the...
Published on 4 Mar 2004

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced
A small, thin, book with some nice colour pictures. It has only one or two examples of each rock type. For this money, you should expect much more.
Published 15 months ago by Not Titmarsh Again


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas (Paperback)
The Book arrived before the time stated which was great and there were no other problems with the book. The book itself is great for people looking to learn or study more about Geology. My lecturer recommended this book and this can get you the first year of your geology degree. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas (Paperback)
A small, thin, book with some nice colour pictures. It has only one or two examples of each rock type. For this money, you should expect much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas (Paperback)
A really useful guide to rock in this section. Good quality photographs outlining the more common rock types in thin section. Good review on key concepts of rocks and minerals. RECOMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction - very good quality colour plates, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Andrew Peter J. More "Book Lover" (Hong Kong/ UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas (Paperback)
Recently bought a copy of this to complement my second hand polarizing microscope. The text is clear, informative and well written, but the real strength of this book are the colour plates / quality of the printing. Written descriptions are no substitute for seeing the minerals in thin section. Plates are relatively clear, large and of good quality printing - worth a thousand words! I can only say that I wish that I had access to this when i was a first year Earth Sciences undergraduate some 30+ years ago! A must buy for any undergraduate student, or, like me, a living fossil revisiting the subject (for interest and pleasure) after many years away! Buy and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good overview with plenty of technical detail, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. A. Crawford (Knebworth, Herts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas (Paperback)
I wanted a pictorial guide for use with my petrological microscope. This is perfect and has all the detail plus the correct terminology (reminds me of my geology training). Just what I needed and now I can start to make my own slides. Perfect for the student needing a full guide, and the amateur needing a reference. Lots of pictures, just what I needed for use with my microscope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A well written insight into thin sections, 7 Jan 2013
By 
AE Hunter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas (Paperback)
This book is very well written, I can assure you of that.
If however, you are trying to equate it with what you see in a level 2 Geology course, it doesn't necessarily gel.
That being said - it's terms you would know, (twinning, crystal shapes etc) and despite the thin sections being far more magnified than you could get from the magnifiers online in your level 2 geo course, it's not too hard to put them together - though at first glance, you may be left thinking that what you see is in no way the same.

All in all, I'd say this book gives you a great grasp of thin sections, but don't expect it to translate your course exactly for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book!, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas (Paperback)
It is a very essential book for geology students who want to learn about rocks and minerals. It is one of the best book which I have bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas (Paperback)
Came on time and was of high quality. Would recommend for people studying first year undergraduate geology/related courses. Great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rocks in thin section, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas (Paperback)
An essential book for the student of crystallography , optics and mineralogy . Good descriptive text with good sharp and clear pictures of specimens in both PPL and XPL .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atlas of rock & minerals in thin section, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas (Paperback)
The book arrived on time, and make a very colourful addition on my bookshelf.
Rocks and Minerals in thin section really does do as the title suggests. The photographs are very clear, showing all cleavage lines etc. with very good colour. The text is informative. I am very pleased with it, a good buy and that should help me over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas
Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section: A Colour Atlas by A E Adams (Paperback - 1 April 1994)
24.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews