Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowing, 19 Sept. 2003
By 
Splinter (Somerset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diary of a Hangman (Paperback)
What can you say about this book except, gripping!
This is one of the few books I have read in my life and found great difficulty in putting down.
John Ellis puts the facts forward as he see's it. Going into great detail as to how he would achieve a swift death for those that climbed the scaffold.
Some ran to their deaths, some had to be held up. Either way this book makes for compulsive reading.
How could such a quiet, family man do such a job, as to hang nearly 230 people? Only he could answer that question, and he does so in great detail.
He tells the stories of famous murderers who he dealt with and others who were just downright evil.
This book will tug at the heart strings from the beginning to the end.
If you buy any book this year? Then this is the one to have without exception.
Excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 14 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Hangman (Paperback)
This is the second book written by a british state executioner I have read (the first being Hangmans Tale by Syd Dernley)and I found this book as interesting and well written as the first, although if I had to chose I personally though Hangmans Tale was the better of the two. What comes over in this book is the genuine humanity of a man carrying out the ultimate penalty of law. This book is a must for anyone interested in either crime or punishment in Britain in the early 20th Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diary of a Hangman, 5 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Hangman (Paperback)
This book is the second one I've read which was written by a hangman, the first being Executioner: Pierrepoint and the Diary of a Hangman is by far the better of the two.
It tells the remarkable story of John Ellis who between the years 1901-1923 hanged well over 200 people for the Crown.
It goes into great detail about the infamous people he hanged, the whole precedure of hanging which was actually kept secret from the public when we did have the death penalty, very few people knew exactly what happened to a condemned prisoner between sentence and execution but this book tells you everything. Mr Ellis was indeed a remarkable man.
When I started reading it I couldn't put it down, if you're interested in true crime you'll enjoy this book, I'd recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 7 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Diary of a Hangman (Paperback)
This small book tells of the life of john Ellis as a hangman for the crown. Ellis looks into the world of convicted murderers the night befor he hangs them.
To be a hangman is a technical act which he explains well.
No-one can have such employment and come away mentally stable. This book has a sad ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diary of a Hangman by John Ellis, 11 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Diary of a Hangman (Paperback)
The book was well written and very precise, it gave a good incite into the job of a hangman. John Ellis seemed to be an upstanding citizen and regarded his job as doing a public service. He was against the idea of women being hanged, even though he hanged a few. I rceived the book quite quickly. The reason I chose this book was because I am researching my ancestry and found a murderer in my husbands family, he was hanged by John Ellis and there was a section in the book about my husbands relative, the book was really helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet The Man Who Hanged Crippen, 29 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Diary of a Hangman (Paperback)
John Ellis worked as a hangman for over 20 years. Like those who came after him, he was a humane man who saw it as his duty to spare the victim suffering by dealing with them as swiftly as possible. He hanged some very famous murderers, including Crippen, who smiled all the way to the scaffold, Brides-in-the-Bath killer George Smith, poisoner Herbert Armstrong, and poor Edith Thompson, who had to be carried to the gallows.

This is a great read for anyone with an interest in true crime, but Ellis's story has a sad ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 19 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Hangman (Paperback)
Very good book. Written by a ghost writer but with obvious copious input from Ellis regarding the details of all the cases. So we have the best of both worlds, the truth [from Eillis] and a well written account c/o the ghost writer. Grips you completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Factual and Honest account of a hangman`s work, 6 Nov. 2001
By 
mlsjsph@aol.com (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diary of a Hangman (Paperback)
Ellis gives a factual and honest appraisal of the work of hangman. If you are a student of crime and punishment read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Hangman (Paperback)
Very interesting read. The book describes well the lot of the hangman and the role played in society. A book well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant book, 28 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. P. J. Coe "book worm" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Hangman (Paperback)
A brilliant book well written couldnt put it down a well respected man who died unexpectadly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diary of a Hangman
Diary of a Hangman by John Ellis (Paperback - 29 Aug. 1996)
Used & New from: £0.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews