Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sahara Overland, 3 May 2005
By 
Don Park (Central Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sahara Overland: A Route and Planning Guide (Trailblazer) (Hardcover)
I have to commend this book to anyone contemplating a trip to the desert; there's a lot in here even if "your desert" is not in North Africa. This is a first class work, and invaluable information is contained within. As an old desert-hand myself, it made an interesting read, and proved that you can teach an old dog new tricks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big, thick, detailed & excellent!, 10 Jan 2004
If you are thinking about a Sahara jaunt( not a weekend city break in Marrakesh), then this is the starting point. Though extremely detailed, it is readable & more to the point, useful. Not a holiday poolside book, but then again, if you are happy with 7 days all inclusive in Malaga, then maybe this isnt your typr of thing anyway. Now I have to sort out my life & get my expedition started for real...........10 months & counting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 28 Nov 2000
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unless you have considerable experience of desert overlanding , if you are considering a trip to the Sahara, this book will be the best few pounds you could spend.
Chris Scott provides an exhaustive account of the subject in a no-nonsense style intended for first time desert travellers plus detailed routes descriptions (complete with GPS waypoints) which would be useful for anyone. There is no english language publication to compare. Subjects covered include vehicles & equipment required, visa and document requirements, driving tips, how to avoid and deal with emergencies, and suggested itineraries.
I have just completed a trans-saharan trip planned almost entirely on the basis of the excellent advice in this book and would have been at a loss without it. There is no English language publication on the subject to compare.
Aside from a couple of minor inaccuracies in the route descriptions and the fact that Scott is so keen to present a clear-eyed account of what you are getting yourself into that he occasionally verges on discouragement, there really isnt much to crticise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, pity about the snide comments about Land Rovers, 27 Mar 2001
By A Customer
If you are overlanding North Africa, buy this book. Pure and simple. The GPS references alone make it worth buying. Inevitably some of the description becomes dated but it updates the Sahara Handbook of the Glens where such was much needed.
The BIG drawback as far as Im concerned is the barbed comments about Land Rovers, which are unfounded and aren't necessary. Chris doesn't quite use the word 'quaint' but he might as well. My Defender is quite happy with desert, mud and snow and is heading off again this summer to the Middle East. In my experience (less than Chris', I think) it's not, once you've narrowed the field, down to the make of vehicle used but the skill of the driver. This last year I saw a works Land Cruiser racer of the Toyota desert racing team get bogged on soft sand on a beach in southern Spain, where my Landy coasted happily through. Im not saying for a minute I can drive better than those guys (!) but what I am saying is Chris' book more or less writes off Land Rovers as desert transport. This is crazy. Fifty years of the SAS, Sir Rannulph Fiennes and others cant be wrong! Go easy, Chris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 4 Jan 2004
By 
I read this book many many times and I can say it well worth the money spent! Usefull as a first impression about organizing a trip throughout the desert is divided in two main section: vehicles description, modifications, and pistes along 9 countries. As a Land Rover Defender owner I didn't appriciate the notice about the Landies vs Toyotas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great overland experience shared, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Sahara Overland: A Route and Planning Guide (Trailblazer) (Hardcover)
Must read for every serious overlander in desert environment, great insights in do's and dont's for things to carry, car equipment and vehicle qualities and weaknesses. Routes well documented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Source for Overland Vehicle prep., 18 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sahara Overland: A Route and Planning Guide (Trailblazer) (Hardcover)
Great book about overlanding - Sahara specific but with enough content to make it applicable to anywhere. IMO: better than the rather prissy Africa Overland by Bradt or Vehicle-Dependent Expedition Guide by Tom Sheppard which is a massive door stop of a book and overly favours LandRovers.

CS next book the Overlanders Handbook should also be excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent handbook fo all vehicle dependant overlanders, 23 Aug 2004
A great review of all you need for a vehicle dependant expedition.Well written and easy to read usefull for anyone wanting information on off-road vehicles for use off-road.
As a 90 defender owner the comments on Landrovers are perfectly valid, the do break down alot and are very badly built, look at the consumer surveys,Ford are even looking to close Solihull down as the build quality is so bad.Despite this I love my Landie even if bits do seem to drop off now and again and it does spend alot of time in the garage.
Great book even for the armchair traveller,all the info you need,a classic, ranks up there with Tom Sheppards Vehicle -Dependant Expedition Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent handbook fo all vehicle dependant overlanders, 23 Aug 2004
A great review of all you need for a vehicle dependant expedition.Well written and easy to read usefull for anyone wanting information on off-road vehicles for use off-road.
As a 90 defender owner the comments on Landrovers are perfectly valid, the do break down alot and are very badly built, look at the consumer surveys,Ford are even looking to close Solihull down as the build quality is so bad.Despite this I love my Landie even if bits do seem to drop off now and again and it does spend alot of time in the garage.
Great book even for the armchair traveller,all the info you need,a classic, ranks up there with Tom Sheppards Vehicle -Dependant Expedition Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive!, 4 Oct 2000
By 
This is an excellant book written in a pseudo Lonely Planet style. There are excellant sections covering most areas of the subject matter. The route planning sections are excellant with GPS waypoints for extra precision traversing and simply great and useful information on such matters as Vehicles, health, visa requirements, photography and safety to name but a few, if you have ever seen a Lonely Planet guide this has more detailed information on the RELEVANT matters!
This is one of those books that has obviously been written by a person who is passionate about the subject and has actually been there and done it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sahara Overland: A Route and Planning Guide (Trailblazer)
Sahara Overland: A Route and Planning Guide (Trailblazer) by Chris Scott (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2004)
Used & New from: 13.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews