Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2011
After getting into the BBC 2 Great British Railway Journeys TV series with Michael Portillo who uses a George Bradshaw's Victorian Railway Guidebook to guide himself around the modern network I decided to order this map out of sheer interest and fascination. It is quite interesting as a novelty but it is very poorly executed which lets it down badly. The paper quality is certainly poor which means that it is something that you couldn't really refer to often without the map falling to bits. Not that you would want to look at it frequently as the print quality lacks definition and clarity which makes it far from enjoyable to look. It is a real opticians dream almost guaranteeing eyestrain! I know that the image is presumably taken from a 1923 map but I don't think that excuses the indifferent print quality used in this reproduction. Interestingly, had it been of higher quality I would have purchased other maps in the series. For a better quality I would have happily paid more. As it is, this map is currently being sold on Amazon quite cheaply. Sadly, that is the best thing I can say about it.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
If you want to see what the rail network of the UK & IRELAND was like in the early 1920s then this is a must have map.
It covers the networks of the big 4 rail companies, and the map is colour coded, so it's easy to follow the lines of the different rail companies.
Also it shows the rail network of IRELAND of the same period, all in all a very good map.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
The map provides an over-view and provides a superficial perception of the scope of the railway network but is of such a small scale that much of the detail, particularly at interfaces between railways or conjested areas is not sufficiently clear.

It is very much the sort of map that one looks at once and puts at the back of a drawer, never to be seen again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2012
Railway Grouping System Map of the British Isles 1923 (Folded in a Wallet): Big Four Railway Companies GWR, LNER, LMS, SR is the ideal map for the enthusiast or for academic reading, on railway or grouping subjects, it is large enough for most work, yet small enough to be usable in the field.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
Not much to add to the other reviews, it is of poor quality paper and is difficult to read.

A much better buy for around the same money is "British Rail Pre-grouping Atlas and Gazetteer" by Ian Allan, Far easier to read in conjunction with the Bradshaw Guide Michael Portillo uses, which can be downloaded as a free .pdf download.

google - "bradshaw guide to railways pdf" for that
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
Nicely printed but that is the only positive thing to say about this map Overpriced , little information , no detailed local maps . Avoid at all costs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This map was intended to be a Christmas present from Mum to Dad, but unfortunately the detail is far too small to be useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
I found this to be an excellant map. It serve my purpose greatly.It was informative and in good shape. A good valuve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Good product. The map gives a clear and concise overview of the 1923 grouping, showing all the lines in each group.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
Interesting read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)