Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reproduction of a fold-out map
Apparently, 1907 was the year in which the British railway network neared its peak, but it didn't sustain that peak for very long. Contraction of the network began even before the first world war, picked up pace between the wars and accelerated after the second world war culminating in the Beeching-inspired cuts. Since then, there has been a mini-revival with some old...
Published on 9 Jun. 2009 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bradshaw's Railway Map 1907
The content of this map is very interesting, but the map is let down by the paper on which it's printed. Although not thin, it's a type of "silk finish" paper which very quickly wears through at the folds, so even with limited use it will soon be necessary to resort to sticky tape to prevent the map from falling apart.

Also, the image reproduction is not of...
Published on 3 Oct. 2011 by Harold


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reproduction of a fold-out map, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 (Map)
Apparently, 1907 was the year in which the British railway network neared its peak, but it didn't sustain that peak for very long. Contraction of the network began even before the first world war, picked up pace between the wars and accelerated after the second world war culminating in the Beeching-inspired cuts. Since then, there has been a mini-revival with some old lines being re-opened, while some completely new lines have opened including the London to Paris line via the Channel Tunnel. Yet even if there is a further expansion of the network in the twenty-first century, I cannot imagine there ever again being a network comparable to that which existed in 1907.

The map itself is about the size of the average fold-out street map. About half of the space is taken up by the main island of Great Britain, together with the Isle of Man and Isle of Wight. Ireland is also featured, it being given space in the top right corner. The network is very dense in some places but larger scale insets are provided for Glasgow, Dublin, Manchester, Birmingham, London, Edinburgh, Leeds and Liverpool. Some shipping routes are also marked, but I don't think they all are.

Where space permits, a few places are marked on the map despite never having been connected to the railway network. I was surprised to find that Marshfield in Gloucestershire, where I lived for a couple of years in my childhood, was among them. Hatherleigh in Cornwall, another place that wasn't on a railway line in 1907 but is marked on the map, eventually got a station on the Halwill Junction to Torrington line, which opened in 1925. It may well have been the last rural branch line to be constructed in Britain; if not, it was certainly among the last. Passenger services only operated for 40 years, though the china clay traffic for which the line was primarily built lasted until 1982.

In Scotland, Ullapool and Braemar are among the places marked on the map. It is noticeable that they were always some distance from the nearest railway, even in 1907. There was a proposal to build a railway to Ullapool, branching from Garve on the Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh line, but it was never built. A plan was also proposed to build a railway from Aberdeen to Braemar. Queen Victoria didn't want a railway going anywhere near Balmoral so that didn't happen. A railway was built from Aberdeen along the proposed route as far as Ballater, perhaps with the hope that the royal family would relent, but the extension was never built. Elsewhere, there seem to be big areas in southern Scotland that never got a railway, but the people of England and Wales (even those living in Marshfield) were never far from a railway in 1907. It is all so different now.

I can imagine that it was quite a difficult map for any traveller to read in 1907, but it was at least a handy size for carrying around. Regular travellers would surely have wanted to invest in an atlas of some kind, to study the detail at home even if it was too bulky to carry around. In much the same way, I find it to be a handy quick reference, but I still usually have to go to the library to look up a specialist atlas.

A 12-page booklet comes with the map, with some useful explanatory notes. Among other things, it points out that the direct GWR route to Birmingham had not been completed in 1907, but eventually opened in 1910. This leaves me wondering why 1907 was chosen rather than 1910, as I don't know of any closures that took place in that period.

This map is interesting curiosity and useful for research up to a point, but anybody wanting to do serious research needs either a period road atlas with the railway lines marked or, better still, a specialist railway atlas such as Jowett's railway atlas (the one I look up in the library).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like a modern road map!, 4 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 (Map)
This old railway map show just how much the country misses having railways rather than roads for transport - so short sighted to axe the lines, and irrecoverable now. It is fascinating tracing all the old lines, they are like a modern road map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for enthusiast, 4 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 (Map)
really interesting recreation that the train lover I bought it for really liked. Not very clear by todays standards, but showing loads of old lines now long gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars map, 12 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 (Map)
my husband was delighted to recieve this item as a birthday gift. ideal for both railway enthusiasts and map fans. very goo quick service from amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bradshaws Railway Map, 3 July 2010
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 (Map)
Bought this as part of Fathers Day present (rail enthusiast) he loved it, good quality, received in post few days. Really pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1907 Map, 29 Sept. 2009
By 
ACJ (Aylesbury Vale) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 (Map)
Fascinating to see our history but you'll need a magnifying glass to make the best of the detail. Shame Amazon take so long to dispatch the order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bradshaw's Railway Map 1907, 3 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 (Map)
The content of this map is very interesting, but the map is let down by the paper on which it's printed. Although not thin, it's a type of "silk finish" paper which very quickly wears through at the folds, so even with limited use it will soon be necessary to resort to sticky tape to prevent the map from falling apart.

Also, the image reproduction is not of great quality. There are small, superfluous black marks ("noise") distributed throughout the map, which I would have thought two or three hours use of the clone stamp in an image editing program could largely have eliminated: and some of the smallest print really needs a magnifying glass to read (and I have very good close vision!). Of course, I have no knowledge of the quality of the original in these respects.

So, it's worth getting for the content, but don't expect much from the production quality.

[ASIN:1873590334 Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bradshaws rail map, 8 Mar. 2011
By 
J. SANDERS "Crime lover" (BUCKS. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 (Map)
Very good quality product.
Wish it was bigger as we need a magnifying glas to see all of the text!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Railways near their zenith, 9 July 2011
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 (Map)
This map enables one to see the UK railways network near its zenith, after this point very few more lines were built but by WW 1 (1914-18) many branches and even some through lines (especially in London) were closed or kept only for freight.

This verson is very clear indeed - better I think, and on better, paper than the originals.

City networks are shown enlarged which is a big 'plus'

David, Croydon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bradshaw's Folded Railway Map, 6 Mar. 2012
By 
Russell A. Dunn "Russell A D" (Kaernten, Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 (Map)
I found this map (to be read in conjunction with Bradshaw's guide) to be very informative.
There was a minor hiccup in the delivery of my copy from the vendor. However the vendor, when made aware of the hiccup, acted promptly and efficiently to get it to me.
Printing and paper are both of excellent quality and the information contained, when one recalls that this is from 1907, is tremendous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907
Bradshaw's Railway Folded Map 1907 by George Bradshaw (Map - 1 Jan. 2004)
Used & New from: £5.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews