Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch!
Top notch!
This is one of the best books on self-protection. It's also one of the few books to span the gap between martial arts and self-protection. Aside from martial arts training, I served as a Guardian Angel on the London Underground in the early 1990s; I have practical experience of being attacked by weapons and the odd gang. If 'Streetwise' had been...
Published on 18 Jan 2005

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In severe need of editing.
This book deals with a very important subject: How to deal with the reality of street violence. However, I found it almost impossible to read this book due to it being so poorly edited. Some points are iterated over endlessly while some other equally important points are buried among other stuff and are easily missed. After 100 pages I got so irritated I just couldn't...
Published on 9 May 2009 by Anders Grönlund


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch!, 18 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence (Paperback)
Top notch!
This is one of the best books on self-protection. It's also one of the few books to span the gap between martial arts and self-protection. Aside from martial arts training, I served as a Guardian Angel on the London Underground in the early 1990s; I have practical experience of being attacked by weapons and the odd gang. If 'Streetwise' had been published then, I might have escaped with less injury!
The reviewer who wrote, "the actual combat moves you were hoping for are seriously lacking" has totally missed the most important points of the book. Moreover, having attended training seminars by both Peter Consterdine and Geoff Thompson, I can attest that the "actual combat moves" could never be learnt solely from a book.
Whilst some self-protection books now mention the mental side of things, 'Streetwise' goes further by giving practical solutions to dealing with expectation, adrenal response, etc. As you would expect, the physical side is also well covered, but this book goes well beyond simply how to fight.
It is true that this book has appalling spelling mistakes and editing. However, it's well worth persevering to read past these, given the excellent content. 'Dead or Alive' by Geoff Thompson is also a highly recommended read. Given the option, it would be worth reading both books, as they cover some different material (e.g. Action Triggers in 'Streetwise' and interviews with perpetrators in 'Dead or Alive'). Peter Consterdine and Geoff Thompson founded the British Combat Association, which produces a newsletter and training, and would be worth joining for more information and to stay up-to-date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight Into Personal Protection, 29 Mar 2010
By 
J. Hatchard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence (Paperback)
Firstly and foremostly, I have to conceed that yes this book is riddled from beginning to end with spelling, grammatical and punctation errors and some areas/ points are laboured and case studies are some what out of date; however, for anybody who undertakes a frontline role such as a police officer or security guard, door supervisor or like me a train guard (lol),to just an individual wanting to look after themself, this book will prove invaluable when dealing with the likely threats that you may come across in your day to day dealings with the public or should avoid if just looking after number one when out and about on the street.
I bought the book following a "Confrontational Management" seminor, from which points from the this book where referenced. Our instructor was part of the author's British Combat Association programme of which he is one of the instructors and who's club I have visited since many times which complements the book in a "real" sense rather than just words and pictures of the book.
The book for me opened my eyes to what I was missing when I thought my eyes where already open. It gets you to see all around your enviroment and monitor potential threats and what to look out for in peoples body language to avoid a situation from escalating. More important for me the book explains the body's reaction to a stressful situation i.e. the adrenaline dump and how to cope with this so you do not freeze and react appropriately. Its deals with the home, workplace, car and out on the street in terms of how to protect from certain threats.
Whilst I agree some points for readers that are not involved in there day to day opeartions with dealing with the public seem common sense i.e. avoids gangs of youths in black tracksuits late at night etc, for those of us unfortunate enough to have to deal with them this book allows you to learn to keep safe by monitoring the situation and watch out for triggers that my engulf a situation further.
Overall a great read, bar those points mentioned initially, that should help keep you safe and explain the realities on the street. Give it a go and you will be surprised what you miss and what you WILL see after reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for the Student and Instructor, 18 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence (Paperback)
This book has served me as a Conflict Managment Instructor, a student and as a foundation on the seemingly complex issue of self defence. Peter categorises the book into several chapters that deal fully and simplfy such a wide and opinionated subject.
Especially interesting is his discussion of knife defence which I wholeheartedly agree with strategically since I have come across many sytems that taught it taught wrong for the street. There are many other topics which are addressed and you would be miising out if you did not purchase this book.
A must for any self defence student.
Im very happy to recommend this product along with several others that has provided me with the neccesary knowledge and and depth to teach the subject.
My congratulations go to Peter and I look forward to his forthcoming book/video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly as good as Geoff Thompsons' book!, 2 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence (Paperback)
This book contains excellent information on how to win a fight (or run away from it), and how to avoid it by being constantly alert. The book "Dead or alive, the choice is yours" by Geoff Thompson (another former bouncer, and 3rd dan Shotokan karateka) covers however better the stage inbetween: how to react to verbal aggression and e.g. staring.
I recommend reading both, but at least the Thompson one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best I've ever read on the subject, 29 April 2012
By 
G. P. Moran "Pirate Buster" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence (Paperback)
Having worked as a doorman, and also martial arts instructor, I guess I'm qualified to give an opinion on this book - the word 'excellent' will do. The aim of the book is how to avoid confrontation if possible, but if forced into street combat; how to react, or I should say, how to be pre-emptive. Those that moan on about grammar and spelling mistakes are simply missing the point of the book; it's not a dictionary, it's a book on self defence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Ever on Personal Security & Conflict Management., 27 Feb 2007
By 
Terry Tozer "TJSKA.com" (Reading & Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence (Paperback)
In retrospect, it's not just the BEST book, but probably the ONLY book that deals effectively with this subject in one comprehensive volume.

This book really is in a class of its own when it comes to self-defence. Yes, it's a large book but it's packed FULL of information that you'll ever need to protect yourself (or your family) with. Simply laid out in an easy to read fashion. Peter C. is in a league of his own when it comes to this subject, his lifetime of study and experience are all summarised in this book.

You don't have to be a martial artist or learn any fancy moves here - just easy to apply common sense practices to keep you safe, any time, anywhere.

Don't be put off by the price either, it's worth every penny. That's why it's becoming rare, everyone wants a copy!!

If you're a martial arts instructor or self-defence expert, this is probably the last book you'll ever need to buy on the subject. If you're 'just' a member of the public, it may just save you're life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to avoid trouble and crime? Then buy this book, NOW., 25 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence (Paperback)
This is the best self protection book that I have read. I am not a martial arts nut, I do not want to be either, and this book caters for ordinary folks like me. Sound advice for avoiding trouble and looking after yourself in the street, in and around a vehicle, and in the home. The only downer is the bad grammar, punctuation, and spelling, but do not let that put you off, better to suffer bad grammar than a bad mugging! Buy this book, STUDY it, apply the lessons to your life, and you WILL be much less likely to become a victim of crime. What more could you ask?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very rare treat, 20 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. N. Wildman "nickwildman2" (Beds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence (Paperback)
As a teacher of personal protection classes, I have been unfortunate enough to see some absolutely terrible books on self defense. These kinds of books advise victims of violent attack to attempt to perform techniques which people who have been training in martial arts for years can't pull off! As a martial artist myself, with over 13 years of training, I can recognise the effort it takes to perform some self defense techniques advised in other books. The techniques shown in this book take advantage of natural insticts and gross motor skills so that anyone can perform them. There is a fanstastic example in Streetwise of a woman trying to fend off a knife-wielding maniac by wrapping her coat around her arm. This is obviously shown as an example of the rubbish which is out there. As Peter says in the book, if you have had time to put your coat around your arm, you could have run!
The techniques in this book are quick, effective and simple, there is none of the completely ludicrous rubbish that depends on decades of training.
Although the physical side is obviously useful to know, where this book shines is the psychology of attacks and how to recognise potentially dangerous situations. As the infamous Mr Miyagi once said, the best defense is not to be there in the first place! Even topics such as the adrenaline dump, tunnel vision and loss of fine motor skills are covered.

Overall, a very thorough and useful book, both for an instructor and student of personal protection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REAL self-defence, 28 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence (Paperback)
This is the complete manual of personal security and self defence. Not another 'martial arts in jeans' type book. It combines detailed concepts and procedures of personal security with the very best of the physical aspects of self defence. Over 300 pages and over 100 photographs. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bible of self-protection, 6 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence (Paperback)
Peter consterdine, along with his partner geoff thompson are the most knowledgeble exponents of self-PROTECTION in the country (if not the world!), and this book basically contains absolutely EVERYTHING you would need to know in order to survive a street altercation, it covers principles of personal security,awareness (a pivotal topic in self protection wich is covered in great depth), threat pyramid, security on the street, psychology of conflict, fear and adrenal responses, perceptions and fear of crime, personal threat analysis, personal security procedures, home,mobile and office security,conflict resolution, self-defence and the law, myths of martial arts, ranges and tools, impact development, weapons of the body,multiple attackers, knife defence realities, and much, much more. Every time i pick this book up i learn something new. So i suggest you pick one up too as it is simply the best self-protection book on the PLANET!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence
Streetwise: The Complete Manual of Personal Security and Self Defence by Peter Consterdine (Paperback - 1 Oct 1997)
Used & New from: £24.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews