Customer Reviews


17 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Grit, 8 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Eastern Grit 2006: Rockfax Rock Climbing Guide to the Eastern Gritstone Edges of the Derbyshire Peak District (Rockfax Climbing Guide) (Rockfax Climbing Guide Series) (Paperback)
This guide is very useful, it not only tells you hundreds of routes but it also gives tips and has a rating system of how good the climb is and if the route is pumpy, has big moves or contains lots of jamming etc..
it also contains a few boulder problems but i would reccomend buying the Peak District Bouldering guide for more boulder problems :Peak District Bouldering
overall, it would definatly reccommend this guide and lots of my climbing friends would say the same :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive guide?, 20 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastern Grit 2006: Rockfax Rock Climbing Guide to the Eastern Gritstone Edges of the Derbyshire Peak District (Rockfax Climbing Guide) (Rockfax Climbing Guide Series) (Paperback)
It has been over 20 years since I last climbed in the Peak district. Now my son is getting interested. For us this requires at least a long weekend to make the trip worthwhile and I needed a guide to help me find suitable routes and so on (easy ones to start with). This guidebook was recommended to me and I can see why. If it is not the definitive guide to climbing in this area, I would like to know what is. It seems to cover just about every climbing location in the area with clear pictures and descriptions of graded routes from easy to the most technical with useful notes about access and popularity. Beautiful and inspiring action photography and some other useful general notes.

My only slight concern is it may need an update as it was published in 2006. It is now 2012 and I am sure a few things may have changed, in particular new routes and/or damage/erosion of the existing ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Grit, 28 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. Richard G. Thompson (Yorkshire UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eastern Grit 2006: Rockfax Rock Climbing Guide to the Eastern Gritstone Edges of the Derbyshire Peak District (Rockfax Climbing Guide) (Rockfax Climbing Guide Series) (Paperback)
A very good guide. Contains a multitude of climbs on every crag covered (most classics and star climbs, poss. all), over 900 climbs on Stanage alone. If you bought the definitive guides for each crag covered you would not get a great deal more for your money. There are enough climbs to keep an average climber going for 20 years or more. The photographic topo's and crag maps are very good. Crags covered :- Wharncliffe, Rivelin, Dovestone Tor, Bamford, Stanage, Burbage North and South, Higgar Tor, Millstone, Lawrencefield, Yarncliffe, Froggatt, Curbar, Baslow, Gardoms, Birchen, Chatsworth, Cratcliffe and Black Rocks (over 2900 routes in total).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect guidebook, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastern Grit 2006: Rockfax Rock Climbing Guide to the Eastern Gritstone Edges of the Derbyshire Peak District (Rockfax Climbing Guide) (Rockfax Climbing Guide Series) (Paperback)
What can I say,,,the Rockfax series of guidebooks for climbing are without a doubt the very best there are.
All the major gritstone climbing routes on the edge of the Peak District are featured as well as some lesser known ones.
The book is exceptionally well laid out with colour photographs of each rock face with the various routes described and superimposed on the photographs. Each area has a description together of details of how to access the rock faces. Each climb is graded and there are useful symbols which suggest whether a route is technical, powerful, sustained, has long reaches etc.

There are also symbols letting you know how far you need to walk to reach the route, approximate time the crag is in the sun (when there is any!!), whether it is likely to be deserted or crowded etc. For anyone interested in climbing in this region, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Grit 2006 (Rockfax Climbing Gude), 5 Jan. 2010
By 
S. Marshall "book worm" (Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eastern Grit 2006: Rockfax Rock Climbing Guide to the Eastern Gritstone Edges of the Derbyshire Peak District (Rockfax Climbing Guide) (Rockfax Climbing Guide Series) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son, as he lives near the Derbyshire Peak District and has just taken up rock climbing. It is an excellent book, giving indepth descriptions of the climbs, statistics, wonderful illustrations of the climbs. Highly recommended by me and my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really easy to use, 10 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastern Grit 2006: Rockfax Rock Climbing Guide to the Eastern Gritstone Edges of the Derbyshire Peak District (Rockfax Climbing Guide) (Rockfax Climbing Guide Series) (Paperback)
I havent climbed in years, so I'm writing this review as a climber at the lower end. A mate suggested he came up north to stay and do a bit of climbing. I bought this guide with a view to going to Stanage and couldn't believe how really easy to read this guide was. Plenty of routes of lower grades for us to go at and a nice colour coding system for the difficulty of routes. It also contain plenty of practical advise such as how easy to protect a route is.

In the end we ended up spending a morning at Rivelin, then the afternoon at Stangage and this guide had great coverage of both areas. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 6 Sept. 2013
By 
S31 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastern Grit 2006: Rockfax Rock Climbing Guide to the Eastern Gritstone Edges of the Derbyshire Peak District (Rockfax Climbing Guide) (Rockfax Climbing Guide Series) (Paperback)
This is an outstanding guide as climbers have come to expect from Rockfax. As a novice I was really surprised to see how vague and text-heavy guidebooks used to be (and some still are) but Rockfax are the antithesis of that; every page is full colour detailed photos with great graphics to help you get out and enjoy climbing. Even just thumbing through the book is a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 11 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Eastern Grit 2006: Rockfax Rock Climbing Guide to the Eastern Gritstone Edges of the Derbyshire Peak District (Rockfax Climbing Guide) (Rockfax Climbing Guide Series) (Paperback)
This book is my Bible for climbing in the eastern Peak District.
Great colour photographs of a huge amount of routes and good explanations. I think you could spend a lifetime of happy hours trying to climb every route in this book. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bomber, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastern Grit 2006: Rockfax Rock Climbing Guide to the Eastern Gritstone Edges of the Derbyshire Peak District (Rockfax Climbing Guide) (Rockfax Climbing Guide Series) (Paperback)
Very detailed and comprehensive. Ease of selection from vast collection of these titles and arrived quickly. Cheap and excellent brand new condition for a used book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Grit - excellent rock climbing guide, 18 Mar. 2013
By 
John Neale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastern Grit 2006: Rockfax Rock Climbing Guide to the Eastern Gritstone Edges of the Derbyshire Peak District (Rockfax Climbing Guide) (Rockfax Climbing Guide Series) (Paperback)
This is an excellent rock climbing guide with excellent and simple to follow pictures and descriptions.
It is just what a climbing guide should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews