Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow!
First, know that if you never played with Action Man as a child in the '70s, this book won't be for you.

If you did, as I did (I had about twelve at one point), the nostalgia effect is such that almost every turn of the page is like being slapped across the face. Wonderful. So many memories, so many small details I'd completely forgotten, all come flooding...
Published on 6 Jun 2009 by SUPER GT JUNKIE

versus
0 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed at all
I was disappointed with this book and found it to be bereft of any kind of imagination or inspiration. As the title suggests, I expected stories of adventures but instead was presented with a monotonous catalogue of images. However, I have found a use for it in the smallest room of my house!
Published on 13 Aug 2004 by the_tractor_man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 6 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man (Hardcover)
First, know that if you never played with Action Man as a child in the '70s, this book won't be for you.

If you did, as I did (I had about twelve at one point), the nostalgia effect is such that almost every turn of the page is like being slapped across the face. Wonderful. So many memories, so many small details I'd completely forgotten, all come flooding back. If looking at this book doesn't make you smile you've gotten cynical and hard in your old(ish) age...

My only reservation is that it focuses almost exclusively on the uniforms and doesn't cover any of the vehicles, which, to be honest, makes it feel that something's missing. I remember I had an armoured car, a helicopter, and much more - it would've been good to see them again, too.

But thanks anyway, Mr Taylor, whoever you are. You've made someone who's just passed his 40th 'crisis' birthday very happy for a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very accurate, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man (Hardcover)
I recomend this book to the action man collectors, it is very useful to complete uniform missing pieces. It met my espectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gobsmacked, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man (Hardcover)
This is a great book to identify every uniform & accessory that came with it. The photos are great & in color. I recommend it to the serious collector, as reference, & anyone else interested in GIJoe's much more creative overseas brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great books, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man (Hardcover)
if you want to buy a book on one of the most iconic toys of the past this is it pictures briliant history of action man and description of uniforms and weapons excellent only problem no cars or tanks would have liked that otherwise exhillerating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man (Hardcover)
Brilliant book a must for all Vintage Action Man collectors, well worth the read well illustrated couldnt put it down great reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you loved Action Man then this books for you, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man (Hardcover)
A must have book for anyone who ever played with Action Man. Excellent colour illustrations plus plenty of info covering Action Man from the 1960's onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic, 15 April 2009
By 
James Whelbourn (Bedfordshire, Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man (Hardcover)
At last! Someone who knows how to take decent pictures of Action Man. Someone who actually appreciates the figure is meant to be a person and has posed him in a realistic and convincing way. There's also some superb graphic design which complements the original packaging very well.
If you want a comprehensive Action Man product listing then see Alan Hall's three volumes. This book does not set out to do that again but, if anything, is an ideal companion to those books. Neil Taylor also gives valuable extra detail on clothing and equipment which must be valuable to collectors. Superb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wowsers!, 18 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man (Hardcover)
Hats must be duly taken off to N.G. Taylor; this is a true masterpiece indeed! I would recommend this fantastic book to any Action Man™ hard-core (of which I am sure there are many), as well as the passive collector and fan. One of the most fascinating aspects of the product is it's attention to detail: each page is finished with immaculate precision- a "painstaking piece of work", notes the author, and how true this is. Don't believe me? Check it out for yourself. I enjoyed the book immeasurably, and i urge anyone with a penchant for Dr X and crew to order a copy. Why not get one here (at amazon.co.uk) for £20? Not that really is as cheap as pomme frites!!!
Roy Ohah-Jepperson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book!!!, 26 Jan 2010
By 
C. Etherington "stereochris" (Rainy City Greater Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man (Hardcover)
This is just one fantastic publication.
The content is first rate, the photograhy is excellent.
A very bright colourful book thats a must for any Action Man collector or for anybody who has owned the 'Original Action Man' figure at any time.

A true labour of love from someone who knows his subject.

The memories that this book evokes is just fantastic.

The actual feel of the book is something to mention as well.
The Paper on which it is printed has lovely smooth almost glossy quality to it that makes handling the book a pleasure thats before you begin to start reading.

A true quality product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant., 13 April 2004
This review is from: On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man (Hardcover)
Having enjoyed some 270 pages of N.G.Taylor's first, somewhat pioneering book, I have no hesitations in recommending "On Land, Sea and in the Air" to every Action fan anywhere.
The glossy images, complemented by the book's rich textual style, render Mr Taylor's effort rather splendid indeed.
I can imagine that the author spent many an hour with our good friend- the almighty one!- however, I can trully say that his hard work has paid off.
A most enjoyable read, and useful for reference too! Certainly, this 45-year-old man enjoyed it, and I am sure I will for many years to come!
Well done, Mr Taylor- a fantastic insight into Action Man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man
On Land, Sea and in the Air: Action Man by N.G. Taylor (Hardcover - 1 Jan 1999)
Used & New from: £17.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews