Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable reference -handy size with 60 shiny quality pages
Measuring in around 21 cm x 14.75 cm this is an extremely useful little book in my experience.

It is an alphabetical listing of words and meanings from pages 3 to 51, followed by:

* Multiplication Tables
* Squares and Cubes
* Fractions, Decimals and Percentages
* Metric Measurement
* Metric Columns
* Time
* Non-Metric...
Published on 11 Nov 2004 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I wanted
Not what I expected, this book is aimed at school work, not uni.However it would be very useful to anyone taking GCSE
Published 10 months ago by mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable reference -handy size with 60 shiny quality pages, 11 Nov 2004
This review is from: Maths Dictionary (Paperback)
Measuring in around 21 cm x 14.75 cm this is an extremely useful little book in my experience.

It is an alphabetical listing of words and meanings from pages 3 to 51, followed by:

* Multiplication Tables
* Squares and Cubes
* Fractions, Decimals and Percentages
* Metric Measurement
* Metric Columns
* Time
* Non-Metric Measurement
* Useful Graphs
* Circle Rules
* Angle Rules

From the back cover:

'Maths dictionary...

* .....contains over 200 mathematical words and expressions with explanations in easy-to-understand language illustrated with simple diagrams

* ...is especially suitable for students aged 8 to 14 preparing for Common Entrance, GCSE or school tests, or for anyone wishing to revise mathematical knowledge.

* ...includes multiplication tables 2X to 13X, squares and cubes tables, vulgar fractions and their decimal equivalents, useful graphs, angle rules, circle rules and information on metric columns.

Some 'angle rules' just inside the back cover get a lot of use, closely followed by page 43 with good old 'Axis of Symmetry' and 'Rotational Symmetry'!

Shiny, high quality pages make this a durable reference book - my only grumble is that it gets lost on the shelf, despite its bright yellow paperback cover!

Peter ROBSON/Newby Books/2002 reprint
(First published 1979, completeely re-set in 1993, reprinted 1994 with minor additions.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths 'bible'., 21 Nov 2002
This review is from: Maths Dictionary (Paperback)
I have owned a copy of this book for many years and it has been invaluable in the primary classroom. We have used it as a point of reference for gifted mathematicians, to settle simple arguments and as a reminder for those facts you know you should remember from your own school days, but which seem to slip away when you most need them! Clearly laid out, explanations simple and a good range of examples make this dictionary a quick and relible reference. Recommended for students and experienced teachers alike - and in the home to help with homework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every maths student should have one...., 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: Maths Dictionary (Paperback)
The book is so useful that every student studying maths at primary school and the early years at secondary school should have one - a great little book that costs next to nothing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful during maths homework, 1 Dec 2005
This review is from: Maths Dictionary (Paperback)
This book was recommended by my son's tutor and even if you've been out of study for a few years it's a welcome handbook for revision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful little book., 6 Sep 2010
This review is from: Maths Dictionary (Paperback)
I teach numeracy and literacy to adults. This book explains all maths problems in easy to use formats and being in alphabetical order means that set subjects are easy to find.
Once there, it breaks down the problems into easy to understand language. A great guide for anyone sitting maths exams at any age and also very useful to refer back to when your memory goes blank. the only down side is that it is all in black and white, but it is clear. Deffinately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the 11+, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Dictionary (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son after his 11+ tutors suggested that he get one. It is well set out, easy to read and understand, and perfect for my son's ability at his current age.

A good book for those children studying that little bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U Dean, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Dictionary (Paperback)
We had had this book since year 5 and my son is now in year 11. Our book was mistakenly given to a friend in year 5 and when we realised this It had to be replaced as it is a Maths Bible as far as my son is concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book for kkids, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Dictionary (Paperback)
excellent book for my 9 year old,also for me as maths isn;t as i remember it at school now... good value for maney
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Dictionary (Paperback)
Item as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Dictionary (Paperback)
Bought for 14 year old who will be taking their GCSE Mathematics examination in 2016.
Well laid out and easy to resource information. An ideal revision book. Small enough to fit into a pocket but the text and diagrams are good size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maths Dictionary
Maths Dictionary by Peter Robson (Paperback - Oct 1995)
£3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews