Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the most beautiful love story y have ever read
Two wonderful women who meet and soon discover strong feelings for each other. It is written with a lot of knowlege and love, showing the difficulties of two women who above all had relationships with men before and make out that there is something more fulfilling. You will love the two main characters and won't be able to put the book away.
Published on 29 May 2001

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mills and Boon... with lesbians
I bought this book based on the great reviews and was disappointed. It's not a bad book, but it's not great either. If I had read it when it was first published I'm sure I would have felt differently but there are so many lesbian themed book out there now that are as good or better. I found much of the conversation in the book pretty dated, but maybe that's just because I...
Published on 23 Jan 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the most beautiful love story y have ever read, 29 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Curious Wine (Paperback)
Two wonderful women who meet and soon discover strong feelings for each other. It is written with a lot of knowlege and love, showing the difficulties of two women who above all had relationships with men before and make out that there is something more fulfilling. You will love the two main characters and won't be able to put the book away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unputdownable, 14 Jun 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (durham, co durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Curious Wine (Paperback)
Absolutly an amazing, passionate and very sexy story, this has to go onto the silver screen. I started reading at 8.30pm and could not put it down until i read the last page at 12.07am.
Possibly one of the best lesbian books i have read (and i have read quite a few of late) in a long time, bring on the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking... for an easy read this is a must, 8 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Curious Wine (Paperback)
Great book... Everything a good read needs... love, sex, dilemma's and argie bargies!!! Nothing to complex and very light hearted... but at the same time impossible to put down... I'd defo recommend this book to anyone... Such a brilliant feel good book... where's the next!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curiously Fantastic!, 30 Jan 2004
By 
S. Pegden "pixie_0" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curious Wine (Paperback)
Curious Wine is (or soon will be) classed as a classic. The book is so rich and vibrant with its descriptions that you are sucked into the story and absolutely cannot put it down. It actually feels like you are there at the cabin with the women, smelling the wood of the walls, hearing the crackle of the fire and the chatter of the women sitting around it and seeing the beauty of the night sky through the upstairs window.
I would LOVE also to see this book made into a film, but carefully and tastefully so as not to ruin the impact the book has on your imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy to read girl meets girl romance, 3 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Curious Wine (Paperback)
I read this book in 5 hours. The book is about a first time relationship between Lane and Diana who meet at an all girl ski trip in a remote cabin. The evolving friendship and subsequent relationship is well narrated, providing the right amount of balance between subtle eroticism and developing feelings between the two women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This needs to be a movie!, 4 Sep 2003
This review is from: Curious Wine (Paperback)
I have two bad things to say about this book,(1) why is this not a lesbain film? (2)The introduction of all the Characters is all a little quick, in the sense they are all introduced at the same time which means you really have to pay attention in order to get your head around them all... but having said that it does become clear throughtout the book who is who; so its not a big deal and nothing to worry about!
This book i couldnt put down it keeps you on the edge of your seat and asking yourself well what happens next?? i just couldnt read it quick enough! LOL. Fantastic book, i would really love to see this book in a film - but having said that sometimes films do wreck books... But somehow i doubt it with this one.. i adore all the Characters, Liz, Diana, Chris, Viv, Lane, Millie, Madge. This book could also have a follow up! Hint hint nudge nudge!
To sum this all off, GRAND BOOK i seriously recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 Feb 2005
This review is from: Curious Wine (Paperback)
I loved this book from the moment it began. The simplicity in the story of what is a complicated time, infused by a writing that makes us really feel the wonder of each woman's experience is a pleasure to find.
I've since read it numerous times, one to keep and cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lovely read, 8 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Curious Wine (Paperback)
If you are into lesbian romance and a good story, this is a great read. If you want a casual trashy lesbian sex book this is not the book for that. There are plenty of other good reads for that.. This is about old fashioned love, romance and sensual love making. I loved it and it is a favorite re read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mills and Boon... with lesbians, 23 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Curious Wine (Paperback)
I bought this book based on the great reviews and was disappointed. It's not a bad book, but it's not great either. If I had read it when it was first published I'm sure I would have felt differently but there are so many lesbian themed book out there now that are as good or better. I found much of the conversation in the book pretty dated, but maybe that's just because I wasn't around at the time so I don't appreciate it.
The main thing about this book is that I didn't think it was very well written. The characters have little depth, I found the dialogue unconvincing and the plot's not very interesting.
On the plus side the main characters are likeable and there was enough in it to make me want to finish it.
Bottom line... if you're looking for some (very) light reading and a mildly erotic lesbian romance, read this book. If you want something more, keep looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mushy + Romantic = Fantastic, 31 Jan 2009
This review is from: Curious Wine (Paperback)
I absolutely adored this book. It was one of the first books I read from the lesbian fiction genre and it set the bar pretty damn high.

I've read many since but very few have managed to match this beauty. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curious Wine
Curious Wine by Katherine V. Forrest (Paperback - 2 Jan 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews