Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good pocket sized book of walks
A handly 'pocket sized' book of walks. We did three of the walks during a week on Lewis and Harris but were a little cautious about tackling the longer walks because we found the walks we did took longer than we expected, but admittedly this is probably because I took a lot of photographs of the amazing scenary on route!
Published on 24 Sep 2010 by Travel addict

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good walking guide
good range of walks with at least five short but interesting hops ( mile or so) that are five year old child friendly to get you off the beaten track and see interesting sites on the Outer Hebrides. Also harder walks for the days when the adults want to go a little further.
Published on 17 July 2010 by ford family


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good walking guide, 17 July 2010
This review is from: Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides) (Paperback)
good range of walks with at least five short but interesting hops ( mile or so) that are five year old child friendly to get you off the beaten track and see interesting sites on the Outer Hebrides. Also harder walks for the days when the adults want to go a little further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good pocket sized book of walks, 24 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides) (Paperback)
A handly 'pocket sized' book of walks. We did three of the walks during a week on Lewis and Harris but were a little cautious about tackling the longer walks because we found the walks we did took longer than we expected, but admittedly this is probably because I took a lot of photographs of the amazing scenary on route!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides) (Paperback)
Extremely valuable for exploring the Outer Hebrides. The walks are varied and well planned with a range of difficulties for different skills of walkers. There's so much information in such a little book, the instructions for getting to the start of each walk are also very clear. We walked 10 of the 'B' standard walks. Without the guide we would not have been confident to set out on some of the routes or even to find the start points. Thanks for an excellent little book which added so much to our holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful pocket guide, 31 July 2011
By 
Paul Davies (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides) (Paperback)
We followed a few of the walks during a recent holiday in the Western Isles. They are a good way to get you off the beaten track. A word of caution, however. Thay are advertised as being simple walks, and tempt the unwary to proceed without maps or proper walking paraphernalia. In attempting the walk on Eriskay, the weather deteriorated suddenly, and there were no marked paths. Although near the end of the walk, we decided to retrace our steps for safety. On returning to the pub, we found we were the second party to get lost on the same walk that day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides), 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides) (Paperback)
Nice little booklet that has provided me with ideas of areas to go to and walks to do whilst in the Hebrides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VeryUseful, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides) (Paperback)
Just what we needed on a trip to the Hebrides. We walked 11 of the 34 walks (2-12 miles) and didn't get lost once, so the instructions and maps were fine. Definitely recommended for content and price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice range of walks, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides) (Paperback)
The book has a nice range of walks. They are quite easy to follow, given the wild terrain of the Western Isles. If there had been a few more nearer Scalpay, where we were staying, I would have given 5 stars.

It's nice to have a small book that is easy to carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good little book, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides) (Paperback)
Worth having little guide. There are walks for all classes which is good for people of a slightly less mobile ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy walking guide, 25 Feb 2012
This review is from: Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides) (Paperback)
Haven't actually been on any of the walks yet (holiday is later in the year) but I've used these guides before and have found them to be excellent. Good pocket sized booklet, very handy for carrying around and referring to. Good spread of walks right across the islands, and good variety of walks in this book - some short and easy, others longer and more challenging. There are 10 walks in Lewis, 8 in Harris, 13 covering North and South Uist and 3 in Barra. Easy to follow directions. Details of each walk include length, height climbed where relevant and also the condition of paths/tracks which I found particularly helpful when using their other guides. Can't wait to try some out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa679bdbc)

This product

Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides)
Walks Western Isles (Hallewell Pocket Walking Guides) by Luke Williams (Paperback - 11 July 2007)
2.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews