Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need
How anyone can give this anything less than five stars is beyond me.

The purpose of the book is to prepare you for the Foundation Licence examination and it does just that.

Complaints about the bandplan being out of date are ludicrous. The bandplan is in a constant state of flux. The book teaches you how to read a bandplan and that's all you need to...
Published on 22 Sep 2008 by Mr. D. Ricketts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars You need this book to attain your first call sign.
Essential volume for attaining your first amateur radio call sign. Seems to be much more logical laid out than the Intermediate and the advanced book. In general if it is in the book it could come up in the exam.

As a trainer I would advise foundation students avoid sites that produce tests on line, Except of course the RSGB site. As the questions these sites...
Published 7 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You need to have this., 28 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundation Licence Now (Paperback)
This is well written and concise, contains all of the answers for the Amateur Radio Foundation Licence. It came with a discount voucher to join the RSGB at a much reduced rate for the first year, and also means that you will get the excellent RADCOM magazine. It doesn't take very long to read, but it takes a while longer to understand it and put it into practice :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, does what it says on the tin., 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Foundation Licence Now (Paperback)
if you are thinking about sitting your foundation licence and are wondering if this book will help, well wonder no more.
i purchased this book after booking my foundation exam through my local radio club and it is probably the best money ive ever spent, it is laid out in an easy to follow format which covers all of the basic skills and knowledge you will require to pass your foundation exam.

some have mentioned the band plan is out of date but as any one who is interested in radio will know you get a copy of the current band plan supplied with your exam paper.

i have since passed my foundation thanks to this book and would urge anyone thiking about taking the exam to buy this book, read and absorb its contents and you should sail through.

br + 73s

mark b.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know, 2 Nov 2006
By 
James Waugh (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foundation Licence Now (Paperback)
Spot on - All I needed to know - easy to understand and informative - all you need to know in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable book, 16 Dec 2012
By 
M. J. Wishart (Salisbury England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foundation Licence Now (Paperback)
I bought the book on my course tutors recommendation, it was well set out for me, it is a constant source of information, I passed the exam easily. Excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice easy reference, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundation Licence Now (Paperback)
I passed first time when I took the test in 2010, good introduction to the Foundation Licence, I used this book in conjunction with the Ham Tests website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Jan 2012
By 
C. Lyne "colin@colinlyne.co.uk" (Richmond Yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundation Licence Now (Paperback)
Brilliant, easy to read book, taking a foundation leveller to foundation level! Never thought that I would say it but a "Must Buy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and to the point..., 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: Foundation Licence Now (Paperback)
I found this book to give you all the information you need to pass your foundation.

It only covers the topics involved in your exam and does not distract you from what you need to know.

73's

Darren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for Ham Radio Enthusiasts!!, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Foundation Licence Now (Paperback)
This is the MUST HAVE text book for those looking to sit the foundation exam in order to become a Radio Amateur. This text book covers all the areas needed to pass the exam and updates to the text book can be found on the Radio Society of Great Britain (RSGB) website.

Even though the subject is wide ranging and can be a little daunting, this book is very easy to read and will take anybody from complete novice to exam ready in very little time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, but includes everything you need to know, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Foundation Licence Now (Paperback)
Didn't realise how easy it would be to get a foundation licence, but this book covers everything you need to know and includes a practice test and ideas for practical exercises. Easily read and understood within a few hours. Recommend topping up exam practice with free online tests (quick Google).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foundation Licence Now!, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: Foundation Licence Now (Paperback)
Without this book, written by such an important and accomplished author, I would not be on my way to "Advance!" as I am now! If you want to know what you need to know, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foundation Licence Now
Foundation Licence Now by Alan Betts (Paperback - 1 Jan 2002)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews