Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Worth reading just for Hess and his memory-loss claims. Personally I found it quite neutral in its attitude to the various sides. I liked the style of writing, a sort of reconstruction/dramatisation of the events(there is probably a technical literary term for it).Many establishment figures around the world have denounced the proceedings as a show-trial but our...
Published on 12 Aug 2012 by Wolfie

versus
10 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book of excuses.
Mr.Irving's book does not really add a great deal to our understanding of what took place at Nuremberg.
In my view there are more objective and better works which illustrate what took place and why those responsible had to answer for what they had been part of.
Irving's view of history is tainted by his approach to those on trial and it shows in how he perceives...
Published on 8 Oct 2009 by R. Stewart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 12 Aug 2012
This review is from: Nuremberg: The Last Battle (Hardcover)
Worth reading just for Hess and his memory-loss claims. Personally I found it quite neutral in its attitude to the various sides. I liked the style of writing, a sort of reconstruction/dramatisation of the events(there is probably a technical literary term for it).Many establishment figures around the world have denounced the proceedings as a show-trial but our (increasingly disregarded) media pundits always cite it as an example of Justice not Retribution. It only takes a little reading to see how many absurd claims were accepted as evidence here.Maurice Bardeche wrote a more philosophical response to the proceedings at the time called 'Nuremburg or the Promised Land'. An interesting event which should be examined more regarding its implications for the Europe to follow and in which we are left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping..., 6 May 2013
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nuremberg: The Last Battle (Hardcover)
As always David Irving is unmatched for the sheer weight of research and erudition that has been devoted to the subject. It is also a refreshing change to read a book on this subject that is not hindbound by received ideas. The text refers in detail throughout to the actual testimonies of the defendants, witnesses and counsel. As always with Irving's writing the narrative flow is tight and controlled and is easy to follow..

I have read the bulk of David Irvings work and once again find I am not disappointed in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent well written by far the best book on subject, 22 July 2013
This review is from: Nuremberg: The Last Battle (Hardcover)
Monumental Expose of the whole farce for what it was, brilliant narration, i couldn't put it down !
!
relying heavily on diaries and private documents of the prosecution as well as defense, all referenced and sourced.

"In this trial, there is no question of according to the defendant a blind and impartial justice; the trial has been set the task of giving to an injustice a veneer
of legality by cloaking it in the language of the law." Streicher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bringing to light little-known or forgotten facts, 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: Nuremberg: The Last Battle (Hardcover)
How many today knew, before Irving's book that Robert H. Jackson, who served as the chief American prosecutor was arguing in Washington with his superiors, even before the Tribunal's opening session, emphatically expressing his ethical and professional position:

"If we want to [execute] Germans as a matter of policy, let it be done as such, but don't hide the deed behind a court. If you are determined to execute a man in any case, there is no occasion for a trial; the world yields no respect to courts that are merely organized to convict."

Irving shows that as Jackson came to more fully understand the nature of the role he was expected to play at Nuremberg, he became more troubled and dismayed.

Who knew before Irving's book that in some cases, the Nuremberg defendants were charged with or held guilty of crimes that were actually committed by the Allies. Most noteworthy, perhaps, is the massacre, at Katyn and elsewhere, of some 11,000-15,000 Polish officers and intellectuals. At Nuremberg Soviet prosecutors presented what they suggested was conclusive evidence of German responsibility for this crime, and several Germans whom a Soviet court had found guilty of these killings were publicly hanged in Leningrad. Yet we all know now that the Soviets themselves were responsible. But who knew that Churchill and Roosevelt were aware of that at the time and still allowed this false accusation at the trial?

Who today knows that the Allies so grandly exploited the Tribunal for propaganda purposes that US-made "documentary" films of German atrocities which the defendants were forced to watch, deceitfully included scenes of corpses filmed in the wake of Allied air raids on German cities and factories. And who knew that some of the German viewers spotted the deception. I didn't before Irving's book made it known.

Etc., etc.

Irving presents much unknown data of this sort in this well-researched book. Whatever one may think of his political views, this is a very welcome addition to the history of WW2 and I am glad that we have someone like Irving who is prepared to do the research and present an alternative viewpoint to the biased 'victor's history' with which we have all been spoon-fed since birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuremberg: The Last Battle (Hardcover)
This book is a fascinating insight as to what the reality of the Nurnberg MIT trials were all about. A trial or "show" trial from the outset, the defendants were guilty before the trial even got off the ground.
It really shows just how twisted the victors can become in order to justify the barbarity (on both sides.
The book arrived within the time stated on ordering and was about 20% cheaper than offered elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take with a pinch of salt., 22 April 2012
By 
Matei Clej (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nuremberg: The Last Battle (Hardcover)
An intriguing book. I read it less for the political and historical aspect and more to shed light on the question of whether this was a fair trial, which I am researching as parts of a Human Rights course. I found that I had been naive to think the legal aspect could be approached in isolation from the other two.

Irving weaves a sometimes convoluted tapestry of the conflicting motivations, both political and personal, of the legal officers of the Tribunal. You get the impression of the Americans, Biddle and Jackson, being the lone chaperones of Lady Justice in more than one occasion, as the British and Russians take their turns to exert influence and cut deals on parts of the case sensitive to their own countries' interests.

He also tends to paint a picture of the trial itself as hopelessly loaded in favour of the prosecution from a legalistic point of view, and proceeds in this vein for quite some while before including a somewhat token mention of the document mangagement facilities which the defence were granted the use of.

I am fully aware of the author's public reputation and cannot personally say whether it is fully warranted. I did however find that reading this book you can't help but develop some measure of sympathy for the Nazis. More attention is spent on exploring the human characters of these men in their correspondences, their reactions to captivity, their hopes and longings, and so on, and not an awfully lot made of particulars of their offences. Their deeds however were by then past, and the book is about the Trial itself, as a political, legal, historical and human event. I any case, if the accepted lore about David Irving is true and he is a raging neo-Nazi, and this book is nothing but propaganda masquerading as history, intended to brainwash the unsuspecting into being raging neo-Nazis themselves, then Irving is a talented hoaxer indeed and gives you a lot of good information for your trouble.

As to whether the trial was fair or not, by contemporary standards of the European Convention and the Human Rights Act, then it was certainly not. The mere inequality of arms between the beleaguered defence counsel one one side and the Prosecution with the full might of State Departments and Intelligence services behind them on the other, smacks of such modern charades as Steel v UK (the McDonalds leafleting protesters case). It is futile however, to try to place this trial in one of two boxes, 'fair trial' by modern standards, or legalistic lynching. It was in fact, quite possibly as fair as it could have been in those particular political an historical circumstances, and in any case its purpose was more than simply as fact-finding tribunal as any ordinary domestic court is. It was a delicate and unprecedented attempt by four contrasting human cultures to sanctify a new moral, legal and political order for the rest of the 20th century and the coming millennium, and should be approached as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lucid and detailed history of the trials at Nuremberg., 28 Nov 2000
This review is from: Nuremberg: The Last Battle (Hardcover)
A great and wonderfully written history of one of the darker times in our history. David Irving created a splendid work on this trial of the century. He describes in detail all of the participants and how they interacted. The purpose behind the trials at Nuremberg was to identify the various German and Italian leaders, brand them as war criminals and punish them with the full severity of international law. Irving used original documents including diaries and papers of the lawyers,of the judges, and of the defendants. With his concise style, Irving describes every facet of the trial. He also makes a very good point as to the hypocritical nature of the Allies. While the Allies had won the conflagration, they were trying these leaders for the same things they were also guilty of doing. I can highly recommend this history by David Irving...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Firstclass account of the revenge charged trials conducted far too ..., 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuremberg: The Last Battle (Hardcover)
Firstclass account of the revenge charged trials conducted far too close to the end of the war . A ten year period would have produced a fair and more balanced result in the light of the coldwar which followed .Nevertheless a fascinating informative account
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE TRUTH WILL SET US FREE., 3 Mar 2010
This review is from: Nuremberg: The Last Battle (Hardcover)
I looked forward to reading this book immensely, and I was not disappointed. I also highly recommend to read the following "CENSORED" books:

1) "THE HOAX OF THE TWENTIETH CENTURY" by Arthur R. Butz.
2) "NOT GUILTY AT NUREMBERG" by Carlos W. Porter.
3) "FLASH POINT - Kristallnacht 1938. Instigators, victims and beneficiaries" by Ingrid Weckert.
4) "TREBLINKA - Extermination Camp or Transit Camp?" by Carlo Mattogno & Jürgen Graf.
5) "AUSCHWITZ: The First Gassing" by Carlo Mattogno.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book of excuses., 8 Oct 2009
By 
R. Stewart (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nuremberg: The Last Battle (Hardcover)
Mr.Irving's book does not really add a great deal to our understanding of what took place at Nuremberg.
In my view there are more objective and better works which illustrate what took place and why those responsible had to answer for what they had been part of.
Irving's view of history is tainted by his approach to those on trial and it shows in how he perceives the legal process and those who sat in judgement.
Irving writes well but in my view he is not objective nor is he always reasonable in the conclusions which he draws or the basis on which he makes them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nuremberg: The Last Battle
Nuremberg: The Last Battle by David Irving (Hardcover - 10 Feb 2004)
Used & New from: £13.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews