Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched
I regularly read the blog on "Snouts in the trough" and so I am well aware of the approach taken by the author and this book is written in a similar though slightly more constrained style. It makes a very informative read and every chapter adds more facts which cause me to ask how our government can get away with it. I would like to say it is an enjoyable book and...
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but worth reading anyway
This book is basically an updated version of all the other books David Craig has written where he rants against all the smug arrogance, corruption, incompetence and hypocrisy of the people who run modern Britain.

Even for those who have read his previous books, there are good things about this book. There are updated statistics and examples demonstrating where...
Published 15 months ago by D. Halliday


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greed Unlimited: How Cameron and Clegg Protect the Elites While Squeezing the Rest of Us (Paperback)
I regularly read the blog on "Snouts in the trough" and so I am well aware of the approach taken by the author and this book is written in a similar though slightly more constrained style. It makes a very informative read and every chapter adds more facts which cause me to ask how our government can get away with it. I would like to say it is an enjoyable book and certainly the style is excellent and well researched - it is just that so frustrating to find out what is being done by the Coalition. Having said that I am thoroughly enjoying it and I recommend this to anyone who wants to be able to argue with researched facts rather than opinions. An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A devastating critique of modern Britain's elites, 31 July 2013
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greed Unlimited: How Cameron and Clegg Protect the Elites While Squeezing the Rest of Us (Paperback)
"Greed Unlimited" is an incisive deconstruction of how a minority within society (bankers, politicians, 'executhieves', senior bureaucrats etc) are doing very well while apathy and austerity rules across the nation. A Marxist would perhaps put this down to 'false consciousness' on behalf of the masses (who are usually more interested in football, soap operas and reality TV). While those on the right would point out the distortions of crony capitalism and imperfect market governance.

As Britain careers towards possible national bankruptcy around 2017/2018, this investigative offering explains how a narrow strata of ruling elites are conveniently rewarding themselves with largesse. In doing so, David Craig shines a forensic light on public sector officials and private sector boardrooms.

If you're beginning to get the feeling that we're perhaps living in a kleptocracy, then this book will confirm your worst fears. Personally, when growing up, I used to naively believe that politicians were in it to improve society. That view has long gone.

Unfortunately, this is a huge topic and I've no doubt that the author could probably produce several tomes of a similar ilk. In terms of content here, I think the book would have benefitted with more analysis of the BBC for example.

David Craig also blogs daily and his site is well worth a click. If you've not given up yet on the 3 mainstream UK political parties and aren't yet inclined towards alternatives, then you might very well change your mind after reading this useful and damning book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staggering Story, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an absorbing read that highlights the immense failings of our 'leaders' over the past 3 governments.

It will leave you feeling outraged and helpless that incompetence, greed, nepotism and selfishness has reduced UK to a shadow of what it should be on the World stage.

Our futures have been blighted by the Unlimited Greed of those whom we thought we could trust as honourable, upstanding men.

Highly recommended by for any Briton who cares about UK and the future of their families well-being. Every voter needs to read this book this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but worth reading anyway, 24 July 2013
By 
D. Halliday (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greed Unlimited: How Cameron and Clegg Protect the Elites While Squeezing the Rest of Us (Paperback)
This book is basically an updated version of all the other books David Craig has written where he rants against all the smug arrogance, corruption, incompetence and hypocrisy of the people who run modern Britain.

Even for those who have read his previous books, there are good things about this book. There are updated statistics and examples demonstrating where the coalition is failing to live up to its promises to reign in the excesses of Labour waste.

Much of the book summarises his other books but often over simplifies. The tone is sensationalist, sarcastic and often fails in attempting to be witty, all contribute unnecessary verbosity. Most annoying is its vagueness about details. An example is on page 275 where half the page describes "one of the most histrionically vociferous members of the Public Accounts Committee" and this individual's arrogance and incompetence... but this individual is never identified. Why not? If Mr. Craig is factually correct and avoids exaggeration then he has no reason to fear libel. Throughout the book, these kind of unnecessary omissions are frustrating and sometimes, detract from its credibility. In other places, identities of people can be inferred by checking the (sparse) references but omissions remain annoying.

So overall, the book is disappointing. Far from his strongest book but nevertheless, interesting in some parts for the updated material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every voter should read this book, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greed Unlimited: How Cameron and Clegg Protect the Elites While Squeezing the Rest of Us (Paperback)
David Craig quotes Winston Churchill in his blog at http://www.snouts-in-the-trough.com/ "The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter". EVERY VOTER SHOULD READ THIS BOOK! Then maybe we will vote the right people into Government rather than get the many that are in it just for what they personally get out of it by ripping everybody else off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greed Unlimited: How Cameron and Clegg Protect the Elites While Squeezing the Rest of Us (Paperback)
very well written and thought provoking, easy to read, i couldn't put it down, everyone should read it, in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Craig at the heart of the matter, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greed Unlimited: How Cameron and Clegg Protect the Elites While Squeezing the Rest of Us (Paperback)
It's going to take more than 'soundbites' if Cameron has any chance whatsoever of winning the next election. David Craig's book pulls no punches. Solid evidence from reputable sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly depressing but David Craig is on the money again., 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book which deserves a much wider readership. Craig takes the reader past the superficial spin and froth of what passes for political debate in this country and identifies the sad reality facing the tax paying electorate. I thoroughly recommend this book and his others to anybody wishing to inform themselves about the dysfunctional abyss into which the UK is slowly sliding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for every taxpayer, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greed Unlimited: How Cameron and Clegg Protect the Elites While Squeezing the Rest of Us (Paperback)
This book should be read by everyone. The truth about 'austerity' laid bare. We're all in it together, Mr Cameron? It seems we are not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the read, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greed Unlimited: How Cameron and Clegg Protect the Elites While Squeezing the Rest of Us (Paperback)
Another good book from David Craig,he tells it like it is and it makes worrying reading about the way
we are being led or ruled by the so called elites.
His "snouts in the trough" site is also well worth the regular visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greed Unlimited: How Cameron and Clegg Protect the Elites While Squeezing the Rest of Us
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews