Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slim, no nonsense guide
This is a fantastic little book packed with all the information required to safety embark on your first alpine peak. The contents are divided into somewhat arbitrary headings, sorted into alphabetical order, but will tell you where to go, what to take up the mountain, and very importantly, good easy to follow rule of thumb information about the ropework required to cross...
Published on 22 April 2007 by Mr. Harry W. Bach

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written full of incoorect and dangerous information.
The moment you read that someone says 'don't bother tying an overhand knot at the end of an abseil rope as it wastes time' then you immediately throw the book away so that no one can ever read this dangerous piece of 'literature.' Avoid this book like the plague along with his infamously bad book on mountain navigation. Peter Cliff; you truly are an idiot.
Published 17 months ago by Zander


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slim, no nonsense guide, 22 April 2007
By 
Mr. Harry W. Bach (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering (Paperback)
This is a fantastic little book packed with all the information required to safety embark on your first alpine peak. The contents are divided into somewhat arbitrary headings, sorted into alphabetical order, but will tell you where to go, what to take up the mountain, and very importantly, good easy to follow rule of thumb information about the ropework required to cross glaciers and climb the peaks. Informative and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm a fan, 12 Mar 2010
By 
S. Norton "Shane" (Zurich, CH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering (Paperback)
This is a great little book. I read it back to cover before my first trip to the alps and then it went on to do a tour of my friends on our campsite in Chamomix. Its really concise which means its an easy read and a great tool for revising techniques before a trip. I'm not sure how good it would be for someone who has never rock climbed or mountaineered before so if you are a complete beginner I'd recommend you team it with a more detailed book and preferably a course as well. Happy climbing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written full of incoorect and dangerous information., 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering (Paperback)
The moment you read that someone says 'don't bother tying an overhand knot at the end of an abseil rope as it wastes time' then you immediately throw the book away so that no one can ever read this dangerous piece of 'literature.' Avoid this book like the plague along with his infamously bad book on mountain navigation. Peter Cliff; you truly are an idiot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A present worth giving, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering (Paperback)
I wanted to find a book that would be read and valued.

This was a special gift for a milestone birthday so I was delighted to have this feedback:

'feel free to give it 5 stars and say it's crevasse-tastic. It is very useful though, with good photos of rope technique. It is also a recommended text for everyone doing winter mountaineering so that's good.'

As safety is timeless I would recommend this book as a practical guide to anyone looking for a present for a son, daughter or loved one who is determined to indulge in the thrills of mountaineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More useful than books ten times its size., 26 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering (Paperback)
Great intro to Alpine techniques. It is well written, and instuctions/illustrations are clear -- despite being in black and white. Since reading this book, I have changed some of my techniques, because his ones are easier/quicker/more appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Summit Mont Blanc & Mount McKinley, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering (Paperback)
I wanted to have a book that would give my team a review on Alpinism and walking on crampons and Ice. This book by Peter Cliff exceeds that and is very informative for tips and advice with good alpine safety. Many Thanks from a Challenger http://jasonsmith.me.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alpine Mountaineering, 16 Jun 2013
By 
ALUN PRICE-DAVIES (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering (Paperback)
A useful reference book covering all the important aspects which need to be considered for Safe Alpine Mountaineering and for taking groups through the Alps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 10 May 2013
By 
J. Sandercoe "justinguitar" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering (Paperback)
I'm just starting out in Alpine adventures, but even as a novice I can see obvious mistakes in the book.

It's not well structured, there are many things referenced that are not explained.

It's simply not a well written book.

I bought a few Alpine books and by far the best so far is

Alpine Mountaineering: Essential Knowledge for Budding Alpinists

- which is well written with lots of clear pictures, good advice and also common alternatives to the authors opinion are explained - which shows humility and good teaching. Get that and not this imho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall very good, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering (Paperback)
A concise guide to alpinism there are some typos in the text that can lead to some confusion e.g. " and ' are used for inches and feet but are used the wrong way round a couple of times. Other than that a great aide memoire for anyone doing a winter or alpine course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the essentials..., 1 Nov 2010
By 
Richard Scott (CND in UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering (Paperback)
I ordered this book before my first climbing trip to the Alps. Think of it as the notebook you might make if you were on a 10 day introductory Alpine training course - it covers all the essentials: abseiling, avalanche risk, glacier travel, crevasse rescue, moving together, belays, basic knots, navigation.

Unlike other books where you more or less dismiss 90% of the content and you might actually learn 10% of what is inside, this one comes 'pre-digested' as it were - learn it all and you will be competent in the Alps.

Can't ask for more than that.

(But if you do ask for more than that :-) a highly complementary, and equally highly recommended source of knowledge is the BMC DVD called Alpine Essentials, simply the best introductory DVD on the subject ever).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering
Alpinism: Introduction to Safe Alpine Mountaineering by Peter Cliff (Paperback - 1 April 1998)
5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews