Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book whether an absolute beginner or an expert!, 5 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: Totally Guitar: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
This book is a real bargain - not only is it excellent value at [RRP 20 - cheaper bought here], it is also full of fascinating and useful information.
Chapters are [including comments from the contents page]:
Sound and Construction
Essential ingredients that determine the sonic characteristics and playing feel of the world's most popular guitars.
Amps and effects
A look under the hood of the gear that shapes your sound.
Maintenance
A guide to care, cleaning, set-up, repair and minor customisation of your guitar.
Play Guitar
Take a taste of the ten most popular guitar styles - to find new inspiration for your own playing, or an entirely new direction.
--Acoustic
--Rock and Pop
--Blues
--Country
--Rock'n'Roll
--Metal
--Latin
--African
--Classical
--Jazz
Guitar Manufacturers
A unique illustrated directory with all the inside info on the great electric guitars and the stories of their development for 130 leading brands.
Glossary
A detailed, comprehensive and fully illustrated guide to the language of guitar.
If you have an interest in guitars then there will be plenty in this book to entertain you. The maintenance section is particularly useful - with everything you need to start maintaining your own guitar rather than paying someone else to do it! I actually discovered that I had been stringing my guitar incorrectly for the last 10 years - I would tie up the slack straight onto the tuning head, which it describes as bad practice. That is just one example of many tips and tricks the section includes. It goes into real depth, covering many different types of guitar and setup.
The Play Guitar section is excellent too, covering a wide variety of styles and including useful and concise information to get you started playing in a new style, or rounding off your existing abilities.
The sound and construction, amps and effects and guitar manufacturers are for those who want to know more than just how to play. To me, all of the information there is very interesting and is well laid out and described - generally in chronological order. Having said that, not everyone is interested in the detail. If you're not then this book should still be of use (and great value!) as the first two sections discussed above really make this book great value for money. The informative sections are a bonus for those interested.
Whether a newbie or an experienced, knowledgeable, player I think there will be something in here for you. I would recommend this book to any guitar player as a great reference and really interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Gem, 28 Dec 2004
This review is from: Totally Guitar: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Tony Bacon Has done it again, if you are buying this book I am sure you know of Tony's previous ((incarnations)) on this theme, but this is BY FAR the best, and most comprehensive yet, by ANY author in my opinion.
Granted the book weighs more than a stratocaster, but that also makes you realise what a bargain it is, with it's hard cover and glossy informative pages.. The Sheer amount of detail, and bio's into so many manufacturers - no matter how obsure and (small) they are. Plus the setup tips and lessons are a great bonus..... If you are a seasoned player - a budding enthusiast, or just an Axe hound it is sure to keep you busy for a long time !
If you need convincing any further then..... you must be a drummer ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one you've been waiting for., 16 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simply the best all round coffee table book on guitars, their history, playing tips etc. Contains uperb photography of all the classic instruments and more. What more can I say? I gave 10 copies of this book away as presents last Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny., 23 April 2009
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Totally Guitar (Paperback)
What a book! Worth having for the close-up of Clapton's Cream psychedelic SG on the cover alone, never mind the reams of pages of photos inside detailing practically every guitar ever made, plus those bespoke axes owned by the likes of Jimi Hendrix, Rory Gallagher et al.
There are pages on guitar assembly and crafting, and after making one at school 45 odd years ago now, I wish I'd had this book as I'd have made a far better job of it.
Sections on different styles of acoustic guitars, the above on electric guitars of all shapes and often some quite odd ones, too, amplifiers, effects pedals, how to string and adjust the instrument; everything you want or need if you love the guitar.
If you prefer just looking at guitars rather than owning and / or playing one, for the price, this is a knockout coffee table book which will create talking points with everyone who picks it up and flicks through the 600 or so packed pages.
Top Notch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like guitars? You'll like this too!, 8 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. B. T. Lynn "Barrie Lynn" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Totally Guitar: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Totally Guitar. The Definitive Guide, is a bit of a boast to have as a book title but this nearly hits the mark. It's a big, lavish book that's beautifully illustrated with hundreds of guitar pictures as well as information and trivia, such as period advertisements, plus a hands-on playing guide to many basic styles and a great deal of technical information and maintenance guides. It's far more than a lavish 'coffee table' book and far more than be described here. It has a huge amount of interesting reading as well as guitar pictures to drool over if you're an anorak,( but it serves this purpose beautifully) The only criticism I would offer is that the A-Z guitar makers guide and history concentrates too much on the electric instrument to the cost of the acoustic guitar. Highly recommended but at a sensible price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totallt guitar, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Totally Guitar: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Bought this as a second hand book and apart from a few pages being folded in which could have been noticed and straightened out before shipping maybe, and a few dents to the outer boards it is fine. And at such a cheap price for the multitude of such interesting information that it contains. From any angle it is stuffed with information about guitars, playing them and maintaining them and illustrated with a profusion of great photos that should keep any guitar afficionado happy for days if not weeks!! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and informative book., 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Totally Guitar (Paperback)
I was lent a copy of this some time ago, and was so impressed that I just had to buy my own copy. A most interesting and informative read, and a handy reference source, I would recommend it to any keen guitarist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enough of everything to be a VERY worthwhile purchase, 24 Oct 2010
By 
A. J. Sturgess "Alan Sturgess" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Totally Guitar (Paperback)
Previous reviewers have pretty well said it all - this is a superb book if want a good insight into all areas and aspects of owning, learning and playing guitar. There is enough detail in each of the sections to answer most questions or to put you onto the right road for developing knowledge, skills and understanding.

If you want to see why I say that, read the other reviews, especially the excellent detailed description submitted by Mr G. Bonney.

HIGHLY RECOMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Totally Guitar: The Definitive Guide
Totally Guitar: The Definitive Guide by Dave Hunter (Paperback - 29 Oct 2004)
Used & New from: 17.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews