Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2003
If you love or hate Christmas, believe or disbelieve passionately, or simply value short, pithy poems, this book will surely be a treasure for you. It's funny, irreverent and godly all at once. Can be given to the aged aunt or the stroppy brat in the sure knowledge that it will make both chuckle and feel it was written for them. I have bought 3 copies (and no, I don't know the author!)
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2011
FOR MANY YEARS U.A. FANTHORPE WROTE A SHORT POEM TO INSERT IN HER ANNUAL CHRISTMAS CARD. EVENTAULLY THEY WERE GATHERED TOGETHER AND PUBLISHED IN A BOOK, BEAUTIFULLY AND SIMPLY ILLUSTRATED BY A FRIEND. DESIGNED TO FIT INSIDE A CHRISTMAS GREETING CARD, THE POEMS ARE NEVER VERY LONG, AND ALWAYS MOST THOUGHT -PROVOKING ABOUT THE WONDER OF CHRISTMAS AND GOD ENTERING HIS WORLD TO SURPRISE AND CHALLENGE MANKIND WITH HIS LOVE. THERE ARE ALSO SOME LOVELY SURPRISES - LIKE THE CAT FORGOTTEN BY THE EVANGELISTS!

DEFINITELY A MUST!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
This was bought as a gift for a friend. The book is a slim but well presented volume. I knew only a little of the poet's work previously to this but there is more to the collection than meets the eye- it is thought provoking at a time of year when everything tends towards the formulaic. A good purchase.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2009
Elegant and witty gems. What a shame there will be no more.
C. Cooper
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
I have long been a fan of the late UA Fanthorpe’s poetry, and knew that she had written a couple of more well-known poems about Christmas and Advent. What I didn’t know was that these poems were the fruit of her annual tradition of sending her friends a Christmas poem in place of a usual Christmas card. This has the whole witty collection, together with the hand-drawn illustrations that would have accompanied them each year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
This is a slim volume of highly entertaining poems, which we saw while visitng an open garden and immediately wanted to acquire. As an example, the cat's poem refers to "Anti-cat evangelists" (Matthew & Luke) because they fail to mention the presence of a cat in the stable where Jesus was born. Ingenious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
This is the second time I have given this wonderful volume for a Christmas present. Written in short clear verses, the poems are witty, quirky and thought-provoking. What greater joy than to see the recipient of your gift so amused and delighted that they want to share the poems with you. A real treasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
This is a book of delights. The poems are both thought provoking and funny. Poems for people who think that they are afraid of poetry. Recommended (highly). Read for yourself - you will find the poems far more enlightening than anything that can be said in a review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 January 2013
I love this edition of U A Fanthorpe's poems, because I am a real fan of her poetry anyway. The quirky drawing add a dimension I did not expect, and are delightful. This is well worth buying, either, if you are not sure of poetry, or if you already love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
An interesting collection, some whimsical, others with a deep spiritual meaning. The collection would certainly be of interest in those looking for unusual readings for Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.