Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still getting away with it, and so he should.
If you want to read dirt dishing, then this is not for you, but if you want an honest book that is spread over a life and love for acting from TV's golden age to the present this book is a fascinating insight to how the profession has changed over the years. And if you read "Five Rounds Rapid" you have to read this.

Candid thoughts and reflection gives the...
Published on 31 May 2006 by D. Cohen

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unsure about this one
It starts with a delightful piece written by Tom Baker, and then Nicholas Courtney begins his story.

And indeed we are fascinated to learn of his parents and early years, but interest starts to flag when we enter into his career (pre-Who). Generally it felt a little like reading a beefed-up list of who he acted with and where.

His Dr Who career is...
Published on 3 Jun 2011 by Zeddy12


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still getting away with it, and so he should., 31 May 2006
By 
D. Cohen (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Getting Away with it: The Life and Times of Nicholas Courtney (Dr Who) (Paperback)
If you want to read dirt dishing, then this is not for you, but if you want an honest book that is spread over a life and love for acting from TV's golden age to the present this book is a fascinating insight to how the profession has changed over the years. And if you read "Five Rounds Rapid" you have to read this.

Candid thoughts and reflection gives the book a voice that makes the reader feel like you are chatting with the author.

If you are a fan of Doctor Who you will love it and if you are someone who is interested in biographies of the world of the thespians you will adore it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take this on your holiday!, 2 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. G. N. French "Gavin F" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Getting Away with it: The Life and Times of Nicholas Courtney (Dr Who) (Paperback)
An excellent and enjoyable read for any Doctor Who fan, but also for anyone who's interested in learning more about the realities of being a jobbing actor.

Nick Courtney has clearly lead a fascinating life and this is brought out well within the pages of this book. A definite improvement on Five Rounds Rapid, no doubt due to the influence of his co-author, Michael McManus.

It's a great holiday read, because you won't want to put it down to have to get on with the normal chores of daily life. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chap with Wings, 31 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Still Getting Away with it: The Life and Times of Nicholas Courtney (Dr Who) (Paperback)
I first read a draft of this excellent book whilst on a long flight to Los Angles. By the time the flight had landed I had read this enthralling tail of an actors career. The added bonus being that I am a big Doctor Who fan and a particular fan of the great Mr.Courtney.
The book is superbly written and has an easy going style that makes it an essential read for anyone interested in the arts! I thoroughly recomend this book to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just Dr Who, 7 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. T. D. J. Dommett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Getting Away with it: The Life and Times of Nicholas Courtney (Dr Who) (Paperback)
This is a very entertaining book. Nicholas Courtney comes across as a lovely and thoughtful man. It is also an insight into life as a 'jobbing actor' beyond the star parts on TV. Nicholas talks about family, politics and his Christian faith. It seems a very honest account of his life with all its ups and downs. Nicholas has a great sense of humour - some of his lesser known roles have been in comedy with Frankie Howerd and even TV written by Galton and Simpson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unsure about this one, 3 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Getting Away with it: The Life and Times of Nicholas Courtney (Dr Who) (Paperback)
It starts with a delightful piece written by Tom Baker, and then Nicholas Courtney begins his story.

And indeed we are fascinated to learn of his parents and early years, but interest starts to flag when we enter into his career (pre-Who). Generally it felt a little like reading a beefed-up list of who he acted with and where.

His Dr Who career is more engaging, yet here, too, I was somewhat disappointed as many portions of the text are directly lifted from an extensive interview he gave Dr Who magazine years ago.

Mr Courtney himself still comes over as a most charming gentleman and, curiously enough, he remains as elusive to the reader as he was before we read the book. And somehow, with Nic Courtney that's how it should be. And in that, the book is a success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Praise of Nicholas Courtney and Michael McManus, 5 Jun 2006
By 
C. Sealby (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Getting Away with it: The Life and Times of Nicholas Courtney (Dr Who) (Paperback)
This book is essential reading for Dr Who fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Still Getting Away with it: The Life and Times of Nicholas Courtney (Dr Who)
Used & New from: 14.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews