Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective.
I learnt harmonisation of a Bach chorale when I did my A-Levels in 1997-1999. I recently had an interview for a place on a PGCE course, and so had to brush up on this skill.

For me, this book is pitched just right, giving helpful tips and reminding me of the main rules of harmonisation. Any more in depth and I would have been swamped, and probably wouldn't have...
Published on 11 Mar. 2009 by Mr. A. J. Lawrence

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the worst book ever...
This is a very thin book (actually two very, very thin books put together) that covers things in an overly simplistic way with no real depth. The book is not without merit, but there are far better resources out there for this sort of thing (for example, check out Four Part Harmony by Classroom Resources which is considerably better at explaining what you need to know).
Published on 28 Nov. 2011 by Little Endian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective., 11 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. A. J. Lawrence (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Chorale Harmonization and Instrumental Counterpoint (Paperback)
I learnt harmonisation of a Bach chorale when I did my A-Levels in 1997-1999. I recently had an interview for a place on a PGCE course, and so had to brush up on this skill.

For me, this book is pitched just right, giving helpful tips and reminding me of the main rules of harmonisation. Any more in depth and I would have been swamped, and probably wouldn't have finished it. There are also a number of harmonisation exercises that, to be honest, I didn't do, but could be helpful to people who don't have their own harmonising exercises to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the worst book ever..., 28 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Bach: Chorale Harmonization and Instrumental Counterpoint (Paperback)
This is a very thin book (actually two very, very thin books put together) that covers things in an overly simplistic way with no real depth. The book is not without merit, but there are far better resources out there for this sort of thing (for example, check out Four Part Harmony by Classroom Resources which is considerably better at explaining what you need to know).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but could do with more depth, 1 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Bach: Chorale Harmonization and Instrumental Counterpoint (Paperback)
This works as a basic introduction to Bach chorales that will point you in the right direction from scratch, but I agree with the other reviewers who point out that there is a lack of depth - certainly it would benefit from more discussion of harmonic resource, and the inclusion of more musical examples to illustrate this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and informative, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Chorale Harmonization and Instrumental Counterpoint (Paperback)
This little book is most helpful in understanding Bach chorale harmony. The section on counterpoint is also most helpful. It's a shame that this volume goes out of print so often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great quality. I couldn't be happier, 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Chorale Harmonization and Instrumental Counterpoint (Paperback)
Quick delivery, great quality. I couldn't be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointment, 17 Nov. 2006
By 
Dr. Douglas G. Corr "Diapason" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Chorale Harmonization and Instrumental Counterpoint (Paperback)
I thought the idea and outline of the book had good potential. But to cover harmonic resource in 2 sides is rather a joke - this is typical of the light weight of the section on chorale harmonisation - it takes much longer to read the daily newspaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Chorale Harmonization and Instrumental Counterpoint
Bach: Chorale Harmonization and Instrumental Counterpoint by Malcolm Boyd (Paperback - 18 Dec. 1999)
Used & New from: £8.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews