Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful find and great for girls too!
The female equivalent of this book is not nearly so good as this well written and researched little gem -having bought it for a gift I spent 4 hours cover to cover before wrapping it! and there is so much in there for girls and guys alike - well done on such a hidden and quiet and hugely informative guide....
Published on 1 Nov 2008 by avid british reader

versus
39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, but somewhat GQ style.
I thought it will be, first and foremost a etiquette book. It is not. Somehow very GQish. It covers a lot of area, from bespoke suit to how to sand a wooden floor to five famous hotel room deaths. Because a huge range of topics covered, it is a shallow book. I thought Debrett's should delete gossips like "Six psuedo-shakespearean insults","four celebrity-owned hotels"...
Published on 12 Mar 2009 by Park John Neil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful find and great for girls too!, 1 Nov 2008
By 
avid british reader (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman (Hardcover)
The female equivalent of this book is not nearly so good as this well written and researched little gem -having bought it for a gift I spent 4 hours cover to cover before wrapping it! and there is so much in there for girls and guys alike - well done on such a hidden and quiet and hugely informative guide....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman (Hardcover)
Very popular Christmas gift .Husband loves it .All the things you have always wanted to know but wouldnt ask the directions for !
Highly recommended .Good read ,to dip into ,interesting,entertaining .....and sometimes surprisingly revealing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, but somewhat GQ style., 12 Mar 2009
By 
Park John Neil (South Korea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman (Hardcover)
I thought it will be, first and foremost a etiquette book. It is not. Somehow very GQish. It covers a lot of area, from bespoke suit to how to sand a wooden floor to five famous hotel room deaths. Because a huge range of topics covered, it is a shallow book. I thought Debrett's should delete gossips like "Six psuedo-shakespearean insults","four celebrity-owned hotels" and give a better detail about the essential operas, unquestioned rules and etiquette, how to write a polite letter, et cetera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and amusing read., 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman (Hardcover)
I bought this for a bit of fun really. Good coffee table book that has some useful pointers when it comes to sartorial matters and questions of etiquette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What every modern gentleman needs!, 8 Jan 2012
By 
S. Turnbull "Bookworm" (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman (Hardcover)
An excellent Christmas present for two young men I know!! They both loved it and are constantly dipping into it. Both informative and fun, excellent value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every mans knowledge, 31 Aug 2010
This review is from: Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman (Hardcover)
Excellent book providing everymans knowledge and a good text book for teaching manners and protocol especially when used in conjunction with 1870520882 Debrett's Correct Form and 0713683252 Titles and Forms of Address.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 Jun 2010
By 
M. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman (Hardcover)
I'm a big fan of Debrett's, they are normally reliable and really good quality. This book sadly isn't.
Think of it as a hardback FHM/GQ. It's quite amusing but you will read it only once. In no way is this the reference book to life that other Debrett volumes are.
Basically it's a good present for a male in your family or friends it really isn't worth buying for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, fun guide to good manners, 21 Dec 2014
By 
R de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman (Hardcover)
This is a bit like an annual comic-book in style, but for adults interested in the intricacies of good manners for all occasions together with what is expected of the modern male, with some insights into the thinking of the modern female on a range of subjects. It is light reading, but interesting and would make a good Christmas-stocking filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting a fun read for everyone, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my brother. When I first received it, I couldn't help but look through it myself. It's written in such a way that you can just open the book to any page and read something interesting, from movies you should own, to the history of the tie etc... My brother quite enjoyed the book, and I catch him, and whoever else picking it up quite often. It's definitely a great gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Actually useful and relevant, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman (Hardcover)
If you want to feel at ease in all social situations, no matter how posh/successful/professionally senior those around you are, this is the book to get. The advice is timeless, but leaves room for you to be yourself, too. I bought it for my God Brother and my other half wanted a copy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman
Debrett's Guide for the Modern Gentleman by Debrett's (Hardcover - 22 Sep 2008)
£13.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews