Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ILove It!
I bought this for a very rude man at work for secret santa at Christmas and i must say - his attitude is definitely different! It must have worked! Recommended for all those rude people out there!
Published 15 months ago by Tanita Marshall

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get the Earlier Version
If you want what you thought was going to be in this book, you need to get 'Debrett's Etiquette and Modern Manners' edited by Elsie Burch Donald, also for sale at Amazon, 2nd hand. It is concise, precise, and correct, and will tell you how to address everyone you may ever want to; in person, by letter, or on an envelope.
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by AD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get the Earlier Version, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners (Hardcover)
If you want what you thought was going to be in this book, you need to get 'Debrett's Etiquette and Modern Manners' edited by Elsie Burch Donald, also for sale at Amazon, 2nd hand. It is concise, precise, and correct, and will tell you how to address everyone you may ever want to; in person, by letter, or on an envelope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ILove It!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners (Hardcover)
I bought this for a very rude man at work for secret santa at Christmas and i must say - his attitude is definitely different! It must have worked! Recommended for all those rude people out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting, 31 Dec 2008
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners (Hardcover)
I was looking for the definitive guide to modern manners when I ordered this book. Unfortunately, it's rather more like an expensive and cumbersome ''Bluffer's Guide to..." (In fact, The Bluffer's Guide to British Class might well serve you better.)

There are a few tips that are both true and not obvious, which, if you didn't know them before, are well worth noting. But they are buried amid a large amount of quite random advice which isn't really about manners at all. There are much better books on lifestyle, on dress and on how to eat with chopsticks. What would have been more useful would have been the correct forms of address when greeting the host at a Chinese or Japanese meal. This kind of detail, though, isn't there.

As much fun as browsing this book is, it fails in its fundamental purpose of getting you up to speed with polite life in the global, digital age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners (Hardcover)
This book was bought for my son. I was hoping for a nicely turned out gentleman by the end. It is a really good read. I guess you can take a horse to water but can't make him drink ha ha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really useful, 1 Mar 2009
By 
Susan Aldous (Dorset uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners (Hardcover)
This book would provide anyone with the knowledge to deal with any unusual situation that may arise unexpectedly and give the confidence to carry it off without embarassment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More to it than meets the eye..., 16 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners (Hardcover)
This is a really beautiful book. I was surprised by how in depth and varied all the topics are - it even includes social networking. A great gift book - perfect for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners (Hardcover)
I found it useful but I was hoping it would include more specific stuff like how to set a formal dinner table. It does cover a LARGE scope but not absolutely everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners (Hardcover)
It was on the list of "I would like", so it was a part of a Christmas present.
Recipient seems very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book and had forgotten just how important it is to conduct ones self at certain times, good manners cost nothing and you caneasily forget to say and do the right thing without evenrealising you are doing it. Everyone should read this type of book as badmanners seem to be a massive problem these days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Outdated?, 15 Jan 2014
By 
Leaf (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners (Hardcover)
I gave this to my 15 year old granddaughter as an 'extra' at Christmas. She said she laughed out loud at it, and it took her some time to realise it was supposed to be a serious book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners
Debrett's A-Z of Modern Manners by Ruth Massey (Hardcover - 15 Sep 2008)
11.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews