Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent, Thorough Psychological Approach
At first glance, you could be forgiven for thinking that this is a heavy-going psychological textbook. It's a bit of a beast, boasting 300+ pages of thorough text; and your first introduction to the field is the daunting title of 'Transactional Analysis'. And so it's easy to believe that this is more something that medical students should purchase, or at least those...
Published on 23 Nov 2010 by Patrick Løye

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Info in One Book
I first became interested in TA way back in the late eighties. I read a number of books on the subject including most of Berne's publications. However, I did not take in this book, which was first published in 1987. After a few years, I lost interest. A few months ago, I bought this book on a whim and decided to reaquaint myself with the subject.
I found this book to...
Published 19 months ago by Big Andy


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Oct 2009
By 
Alan Darwin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TA Today : A New Introduction to Transactional Analysis (Paperback)
I'm doing the TA101 course early next year and
this book has been invaluable in learning about the fundamentals of TA. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, easy to read - i would recommentd it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TA. yes, but.., 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would like to give this 5 stars. But i also agree somewhat with the 1 star reviews and those inbetween.

I have read almost all the TA books avalible and other works.

TA is fantasic in it its own way, really potent. Really is, almost everything.
Every time i circle back to TA after reading other books, i cant really flaw it. But not flawless.
In many areas TA is.. or has been ahead of everything and everyone else. (But TA has also drawn from others)
Many times, in other newly published books i come across some point of view, way of thinking, that is not much different than some much, much older TA books.

TA is alot about how we talk to each other, hence, Transactional analysis. On that point alone, i think it is better than many other models or ways of understanding speech, communication and acting assertive, many of those books focus on getting your way, and being confident, which this is not all about.
Some say body langauge is way more important, but research has also shown recently that it has been massively overrated. Consider all the security guards professionally trained in spotting bad guys in airports, out of some 151.000 people withheld for further investigation, only 1~% had acually done something wrong, and none were terrorist. (taken from other book)
After all, how we talk.. commuicate, is the only real way we communicate. I cant order a pizza on the phone with body langauge either.
But sometimes langauge is a barrier, and this is perhaps where you can fault TA, because others wont understand you, if you begin mentioning things, in a TA terms.
And the ego states, altho not supposed to be understood as 3 seperate selfs, in that sense.. That can be massively confusing, and abit maddening if you start thinking too much in those terms.

Also while TA puts many complex terms into simple terms, that in itself can also be confusing. Because it does not match other terms used in generel.. yet is much the same, just translated into TA.

This book will be mostly for those in the field, or entering the field i think.
Or those who show a general big interest in this subject.. as a layman, like me.
But perhaps not the best book for those seeking guidance, when their really lost and confused. Because psycology is much of the way, all about theory, not 1+1=2, but more like rounding numbers up and down. Then perhaps it would be better reading something inbtween Introduction to a full model, and those promising power and succes in 3 simple steps or 2 days.
Staying skeptic and true. But not paranoid or carried away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful text book, good as an introduction, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: TA Today : A New Introduction to Transactional Analysis (Paperback)
This is a good introduction to Transactional Analysis however can sometime over simplify things so it is worth reading this then going to the original text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. J. Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TA Today : A New Introduction to Transactional Analysis (Paperback)
One reviewer asked the question `So why isn't TA more popular?"; in my opinion, it's because it's unconvincing. The analysis is a mixture of the blindingly-obvious and the highly-contentious. As a text book to learn TA, it is probably as good as you will get. If you are a layman/amateur like myself, you are unlikely to learn to understand yourself from the analysis techniques in this book. I would recommend `Personality Types' by Lenore Thomson, and for those wanting to understand men/women relationships `The Moral Animal' by Robert Wright. The book reeks of jargon and labelling. The book is perfectly readable by the general public, but the vast array of specialised labels would make it heavy going. If you have read Jung, you will not like the analysis techniques used in TA. The main bone of contention I have, is that TA is presented as if it were fact; it is a theory. There is nothing presented in this book to prove that Transactional Analysis is valid. The fact that people talk in scripts and play psychological games with each other is fairly obvious, but that doesn't prove that TA is true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 Jun 2010
This review is from: TA Today : A New Introduction to Transactional Analysis (Paperback)
It was small print so not easy to read,its rather boring and I really couldn't get into this book at all, even though it was recommended reading. Disappointing. For this subject matter try alternatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UTTER RUBBISH, 25 Feb 2014
Any one suffering from an identity crisis would assume they are made up of 3 people. which is untrue,and can cause untold suffering,
we are 1 self who thinks not 3. fancy telling a child they are made up of 3 ego states they would be so confused. I do not recommend this type of therapy to anyone. pure fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 164 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible,horrible nonsense, 2 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: TA Today : A New Introduction to Transactional Analysis (Paperback)
Please wake up, all of you! This book manages to be toxic and incoherent at the same time. I feel queasy at the thought that an army of therapists, equipped with the crass oversimplifications and crude categorisations that fill these pages, will descend on troubled and vulnerable people promising to fix their problems. Berne seems to be a focus for all sorts of charlatans and hucksters. Scientology looks respectable by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TA Today : A New Introduction to Transactional Analysis
TA Today : A New Introduction to Transactional Analysis by Vann Joines (Paperback - 1 Sep 1987)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews