Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Endeavours Fade
Rose Coomb's book is indispensable for anyone interested in touring the French and Belgian WWI battlefields. I visited the battlefields in December of 2002, following the detailed routes from the Michelin maps provided in the book. The descriptions of the events are brief enough that you can read them while at the actual battlefield sites, and they will greatly aid in...
Published on 25 Jan 2003 by Tim Kelley

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEF
This is an excellent book but a newer version is now available , fully updated from the Imperial War Museum . Wish I had known that before I purchased this one for the same price !
Published on 9 Aug 2010 by tiwsc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Endeavours Fade - Rose E Coombs, 7 Jun 2009
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
This book is suberb, I would class this as the best book anyone could buy when making a visit to the battlefields of WW1. It is packed with information, pictures and maps. This makes for superb reading even if you are not able to make the trip to Belgium or France. The amount of research this must have taken to write must have been vast. Another thing to point out which is worth mentioning is that the book is really tough, I've taken my copy to the western front 3 times now and it has led a hard life in my rucksack when out walking for theday and the spine has never given up any pages and is still fully intact, imagine a book that fell apart in 5 minutes, you wouldn't be able to take it anywhere. Don't think about buying this book, just buy it, you won't be disappointed !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEFINITIVE, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. P. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
simply the most useable complete overview and guide to the entire western front
full of useful information guidance and anecdote
indispensable to plan any trip
then try to get the battleground book for the intimate detail to back up
top value however
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book that needs an updated edition, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
This book is a straightforward, geographical account of the Battlefields of the Western Front.
It is interesting, well written & presented. My only critisism is that many of the photographs are looking very dated & if the publisher goes for another edition, someone should really invest the time to update these. It would be a shame if they didn't, the book is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good background reader, 14 May 2014
By 
Asa (belfast, antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
Definitely worth a look if you're thinking about going to the battlefields and memorials in Belgium and France, which I hope to do in 2015. It looks like a general reader, if you want more detail about specific battles then otehr sources are needed. But as most people say this book is a classic and can't be bypassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sobering, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
This book is a sobering read of a time and places etched in our history. May the actions of our forebears be rememberd forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Before Endeavours Fade., 16 Mar 2014
By 
Chris "book lover" (Hemel Hempstead UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
This is an exceptional description of what to visit, regarding the WW1battlefields. I could probably add to this when I return mid April
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read. Lots of valuable information, photos, maps, battle plans., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
Excellent information about battlefields on World War I Western Front. Lots of photos, maps, information about memorials, cemeteries and information about where different regiments and units were situated. One of my grandmother's brothers had rejoined his regiment in the British Army, the other brother had enlisted in the Australian Army, and the book gave valuable information about where each of their units and regiments were fighting over a period of several years. I was surprised to find their involvement at some well-know places and battles - e.g. Hill 60, Ypres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant research tool and guide, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
I believe this to be one of the best guide books to WW1 cemeteries and am very pleased with the updated version. I have visited the graves of my family's WW1 dead or the memorials and found the book most useful and informative. It's one of the books I couldn't do without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get the best out of your western front visit, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful 'work of dedication' that has become what it was intended to be. An indispensable companion to anyone who wishes to make the most of their visit to the battlefields of Belgium and N/France. With this guide, you will make the best of your available time and learn a great deal that is not available elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
A great reference book for anyone interested in World War One. Addition of Fromelles a welcome entry to bring it up to date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Before Endeavours Fade
Before Endeavours Fade by Rose E.B. Coombs (Paperback - May 2006)
17.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews