Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Endeavours Fade
Rose Coomb's book is indispensable for anyone interested in touring the French and Belgian WWI battlefields. I visited the battlefields in December of 2002, following the detailed routes from the Michelin maps provided in the book. The descriptions of the events are brief enough that you can read them while at the actual battlefield sites, and they will greatly aid in...
Published on 25 Jan 2003 by Tim Kelley

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEF
This is an excellent book but a newer version is now available , fully updated from the Imperial War Museum . Wish I had known that before I purchased this one for the same price !
Published on 9 Aug 2010 by tiwsc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Endeavours Fade, 25 Jan 2003
By 
Tim Kelley (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Rose Coomb's book is indispensable for anyone interested in touring the French and Belgian WWI battlefields. I visited the battlefields in December of 2002, following the detailed routes from the Michelin maps provided in the book. The descriptions of the events are brief enough that you can read them while at the actual battlefield sites, and they will greatly aid in your reconstruction of your travels when you develop your photos. Make certain that you go to the battlefields to pay homage to our brave and never forgotten Commonwealth soldiers.
"Their bodies are buried in peace, but their name liveth for evermore."
Ecclesiasticus 44:14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for visitors to War Graves, 1 Mar 2001
I found that every WW1 site I entered had this book as a "must" on their reading list. After I'd browsed through its pages I had to agree. It's meticulously researched with all the CWG cemeteries described in great detail, neatly put into map sections with all the relevant information for visitors. It's also full of snippets of info about interesting graves eg VC winners, young soldiers, first & last men to die in WW1. For anyone seriously intending to visit several war cemeteries it is an invaluable tool - and a good read to boot. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exelent guide, 16 Nov 2001
By A Customer
It is wonderfull to see that this marvelous work is being kept up to date. It provides both routes and facts about the whole of the western front from the first world war. Originally written twenty five years ago it has now become an historical document in its own right while its revision has made sure that it is relevent to the modern traveller. Unfortunately the author passed away some years ago but she is well remembered and respected and I would recomend that anyone following this guide to the town of Ieper (Ypres) should add to their itinerary a stroll along the Rose Coombes memorial walk on the Ramparts of the town (Starts at the Lille gate).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Journey along the Western Front 1914-1918., 16 May 2000
By A Customer
There is hardly anyone who knew the Western front as well as Rose Coombs. This updated version corrects some factual errors, but is worthy of a read since there are many photos and maps of the entire western front 1914-1918. For beginners, this is a must read in order to familiarise yourself with that conflict, "the war to end all wars", so it was said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even more invaluable than the original edition, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
I bought the original edition of this book in 1981 and over the years I have found it an invaluable reference work. While planning a visit to the Somme / Ypres areas earlier this summer I saw that an updated edition of this book was still on sale, but wondered if it was worth getting. I am glad I decided to go ahead with my purchase. The 100 extra pages contain a wealth of additional information (such as the existence of a British trench section in Auchonviliers) and the book details many of the changes (new monuments, car parking facilities, disappearing relics) that have happened in the 30+ years since I bought the original. I was also pleased to see that the incorrect labelling of the German Front Line on the aerial photograph of Newfoundland Park has been corrected. Anyone still using an early edition of this book will not regret buying the current edition. Anyone else looking for a comprehensive, authoritative guidebook should not hesitate to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Endeavours Fade, 14 Feb 2012
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
I bought this as an upgrade to a much older version. For those people intending to spend a lot of time exploring the battlefields and memorials of World War 1 this is a comprehensive and indispensible source of information.. There is so much to see and do and Rose Coombes has managed to collate much of what is available into excellent tours for the motorist. I wouldn't be without it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, 23 Nov 2012
By 
S. E. Huxford (berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone travelling to France and Belgium this is a MUST, even if you think you're not a history buff it's such a great guide book , finding all those out of the way places and telling of their history. We have had so many happy fulfilling holidays with Rose beside us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
I had this book many years ago when l first went to the ww1 battlefields, this updated book still has the ease of use and information as before .
If your going the visit the battlefields well worth taking along
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Endevours Fade, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
Excellent book full of facts, details and photos. Very good value.

Delivery was held up due to christmas and the weather but no fault of supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 1 Dec 2009
This review is from: Before Endeavours Fade (Paperback)
Having recently toured the World War One battlefields of France, I thoroughly recommend this book as a guide. Very imformative,also a good book to read without being at the sites.Photo images are poignant.If anyone is interested in the First World War this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Before Endeavours Fade
Before Endeavours Fade by Rose E.B. Coombs (Paperback - May 2006)
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews