Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, a great tribute to bomber command, 9 Feb 2010
By 
D. L. Ainsley "reviewer" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now (Hardcover)
I originally purchased this book to find out more infomation regarding the five airbases I've lived on in the past. This book is packed with infomation from the development of the stations, changes in operation units, and station events and famous faces for all former bomber command airfields in the UK.

This high level of infomation is backed up by a huge amount of pictures, ranging from ariel photography, then and now comparison photos of the bases and a great deal more.

The author has created a fantastic book that depicts life on a wartime airbase and is a wonderful monument to the men and women of bomber command who were ordered to perform a controversial duty by their country at great risk, only for their goverment to distance themselves from them after the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant moving tribute to the men who gave us freedom, 6 Mar 2008
This review is from: Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now (Hardcover)
Renowned aviation expert Roger A. Freeman has compiled this well-detailed digest of all the airfields of RAF Bomber Command. In the often imitated but never beaten style of the After the Battle series, the book contrasts wartime images of the airfields with today's comparisons, giving life and context to the writing. Nature, in many cases, has sown weeds on the concrete where once lumbering four-engined Lancasters took off to fight.

All the Bomber Command airfields are covered, with useful aerial photographs and histories.

After the controversial bombing of German cities and centres of production, the British government rapidly washed their hands of this service (which had been following the government's own orders) and the airmen's sacrifices were quietly and deliberately forgotten. This book is a moving and factual memorial to the 55,000 men of RAF Bomber Command who lost their lives as part of the Allied war effort that gave us freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, sadly not in color., 10 April 2011
This review is from: Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now (Hardcover)
This is really a nice book. Hopefully this book one day gets a sequel, that describes the other RAF bases (not only Bomber Command).
It tells a beautiful story of each bomber base. Also all Victoria Cross recipients are mentioned.
Small disappointment: All pictures are in black and white. This makes it sometimes difficult to estimate the time period. Normally you see at a glance what is old and what is new, this is a bit tricky. Especially due to the fact there are often photos used from the '60s and '70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book., 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now (Hardcover)
Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now...is another excellent book in the series .....it covers the layout of the bases as it says...then and now....loads of information and photographs....glad I added it to my other Then and Now collection.....a good purchase..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as gift - loves it, 18 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Susan Hills "Sue With A View" (HOCKLEY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift which my husband loves. He is very well read and this was up to his exacting standards!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative journey into the past of these airfields, 6 Feb 2014
By 
A. R. Richardson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now (Hardcover)
This book is a real treasure and the pictures of the Bomber Command bases are of a high quality.
Roger Freeman as ever gives us a picture of what these airfields were like both during their active service and also how they appear today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What we can learn about our history., 10 Oct 2013
By 
Philip Bedford (Henlow, Beds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now (Hardcover)
A terrific mine of information concerning the job taken on by the whole of RAF Bomber Command in the second world war.
Something here for anyone researching a family member who worked in that Command, or the story of that Command, or the bases that were the homes of that Command.
A great histoical resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bases of Bomber Command, 5 Sep 2013
By 
D. Ashworth (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for my father who has a interest and passion for all things Bomber Command related, it was an instant hit with him. As a former RAF serviceman my self who had served on a number of ex Bomber Command bases, it was really interesting to read the history of the base and see recent photographs.
It was quite an expensive book, but worth every penny to see the enjoyment my father got from reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now, 24 Jun 2013
By 
M. Watkins "cbxmel" (North Wales.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now (Hardcover)
Although this book had been out for a number of years it really does not date when you study the details of the various airfields back in WW11. An excellent addition to other books in the 'Then & Now' series. Now a bargain second hand as was definately not cheap when originally published. If interested in the RAF during WW11 it is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now
Bases of Bomber Command Then and Now by Roger A. Freeman (Hardcover - 15 Nov 2001)
38.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews