Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "THE" art book, 9 Nov 2010
By 
Mate Jako "entenn" (Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of District 9 (Hardcover)
Now this is what I call an "Art of" book! I cant praise this book enough! I love WETA (the New Zealand company was responsible for the designs and efx work on D9) and I knew how passionate about everything what they do but even I couldn't imagine that this book is going to be this good And trust me I buy an art book every week! There is so many things I could say the I would definitely sit here writing this review all night, but instead let me just say that: the book comes with an enormous amount of illustrations, designs, ideas, with all the description and movie images! The text is written by Daniel Falconer ( one of the very artists working on the movie) quoting from Greg Broadmore, and Richard Taylor just o mention some!
I do not want to waste anyone's time who reads this so I just say if you like art, if you like design, if you have a passion for movies, and you digging D9, or whoever you are BUY THIS BOOK! Simply beautiful, precise, and exciting! No compare! Thanks WETA!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and inspiring, 30 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of District 9 (Hardcover)
I was looking forward to this book since I am a fan of District 9. The book didn't disappoint. It takes you all through the processes they took on creating the alien species with lots of pictures of their work and how the Prawns were developed. It also includes pictures of the uniform logos, gun types and more. It's a must for any fan of the movie. Nicely presented and informative without too much writing for those who wish to see more artwork but enough writing for them to explain each design well. It has a fair mix of both. I suggest if you're a fan, you buy it before it goes out of print as artbooks seem to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It has more than what you saw in the film, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 1:04 Mins

Weta Workshop is a brand that's synonymous with quality creative work. The Art of District 9 is another testament to the amazing work they do, on top of what they have already done - Avatar, Lord of the Rings, King Kong and Narnia.

The Art of District 9 is a 160-page hardcover. This book actually cost a few dollars less than typical art books of this size. This is a fantastic bargain.

The book is filled with concept art. Most of the things you see are in their various stages of development, from the idea to the final designs. There are lots of iterations for character designs, the aliens, props, weapons, the mothership and many other stuff. All the visuals in the book are in high resolution with great detail.

What you see in the film is actually a small part of what's presented in the book. You can see a discarded concepts like crazy Organ Retriever which can harvest organs at the press of a button (I suppose), and then there's the variation of the exo suit which was designed to the stage where a life-size model was created and then dropped - I can't even begin to imagine how it feels like to have work at that stage of completion thrown out. And there are a few impressive mothership designs which weren't used as well.

Other than the illustrated art, there are also lots of pictures on the sculpts created. What impresses me are the weapon designs. They look really good, and they are printed really big, and there are lots of them.

Lead conceptual designer Greg Broadmore, creature designer David Meng, Neill Blomkamp and other artists provide good insight into the conceptualization process with their commentary.

This is one of the better art books for 2010.

Highly recommended.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prawns galore, 21 Aug 2011
By 
Stephen Crawford (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I managed to get a copy of this from USA after it was out of print or unavailable in the UK for a couple of months. Well worth the wait, as the District 9 book provides a terrific insight to Weta and their conception and production of District 9 characters and weapons. Quality of the photographs are outstanding and there's enough text to accompany the pictures without detracting from the visual feast. Can't recommend this books enough, just like the film itself. Roll on District 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Distract 9, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoyed the film or simply show an interest in art and model making, then you'll love this book!
There are hundreds of sketches; renders; models; and graphics, showing the development of all elements from the film. There is soo much packed into this book, it's well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prawn free.., 6 May 2011
This review is from: The Art of District 9 (Hardcover)
A packed book of design artwork and visuals, some produced by the director, covering almost everything from the film. The artwork is not just the aliens, spacecraft and exo-suits but also the quirky graphics that enhance the believability of this future South Africa. Ignoring the more contentious issues of the film, this is another inspirational resource for any would-be film maker. A lot can be achieved with the dedicated attention to detail shown here. Like most 'Art of' books, the main focus is on the visuals and this is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love the film, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of District 9 (Hardcover)
If you love the film, you will love this book. It's a true artbook, in the sense that has all kind of draws and concept sketches of weapons, vehicles, etc. You wont be disappointed if you buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed the film, you need this book..., 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of District 9 (Hardcover)
If you enjoyed the film, you need this book, trust me. Filled with awesome artwork and photos, really gives you a great insight into the creative process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of District 9
The Art of District 9 by Daniel Falconer (Hardcover - 28 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: 45.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews