Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to African wildlife
I bought this book whilst living in South Africa. The author has a great depth of knowledge about the wildlife of africa, it's habits and how to track it. The book will give both an insight to the animals and will be invaluable to anyone going on holiday to one of the great African game reserves.
A great book by a great game guide.
Published on 18 Nov 2003 by A. North

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good book for starting trackers
very good book for people starting to track animals in Southern Africa. nice pictures, but sometimes the drawings of the spoor and droppings are not clear. I purchased the twelfth impression done in 2009 of the fifth edition of 1996. perhaps this explains why some of the distribution maps (e.g. Giraffe) are not up to date
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by J. vanderschueren


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to African wildlife, 18 Nov 2003
By 
A. North (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Signs of the Wild: Field Guide to the Spoor and Signs of the Mammals of Southern Africa (Paperback)
I bought this book whilst living in South Africa. The author has a great depth of knowledge about the wildlife of africa, it's habits and how to track it. The book will give both an insight to the animals and will be invaluable to anyone going on holiday to one of the great African game reserves.
A great book by a great game guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking little book..., 21 April 2010
This review is from: Signs of the Wild: Field Guide to the Spoor and Signs of the Mammals of Southern Africa (Paperback)
This is an easily used reference book for broadly having a grounding in African tracks... it won't turn you into a tracker overnight, and if you look around, there are huge works written about the intricacies of tracking. What it will give you is a quickly accessible and easy to learn guide to common tracks and spoor so that if you are spending time on safari in South Africa, you'll have a good idea of what tracks you're looking at, or at least have the fun of having a good stab at an idea!

Pretty comprehensive, well illustrated with sketches rather than photographs which works really well in this instance though the addition of more photographs would have been nice. However, the book is small enough to carry with you which is probably more important... plenty of information in a succinct style - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars About the best reference book on African mammal spoor, 11 Nov 2011
By 
Andrew Kerr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Signs of the Wild: Field Guide to the Spoor and Signs of the Mammals of Southern Africa (Paperback)
Clive Walker is a legend in wildlife circles, and his book on spoor is about the best reference book on African mammal spoor out there. If you want a book on spoor and signs of the African bush this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book for starting trackers, 7 Mar 2011
By 
J. vanderschueren (Mechelen - Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Signs of the Wild: Field Guide to the Spoor and Signs of the Mammals of Southern Africa (Paperback)
very good book for people starting to track animals in Southern Africa. nice pictures, but sometimes the drawings of the spoor and droppings are not clear. I purchased the twelfth impression done in 2009 of the fifth edition of 1996. perhaps this explains why some of the distribution maps (e.g. Giraffe) are not up to date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Signs of the Wild, 27 Feb 2011
This review is from: Signs of the Wild: Field Guide to the Spoor and Signs of the Mammals of Southern Africa (Paperback)
I am delighted to own another copy of this book. My first copy was well-used and falling apart due to age. My new, revised copy is a delight and it arrived in good condition and very promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Safari "Must have", 28 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Signs of the Wild: Field Guide to the Spoor and Signs of the Mammals of Southern Africa (Paperback)
I bought a copy during a Safari in Kruger in 2004. I've since taken it to Kenya, Zambia and Tanzania. Its a really practical and entertaining little book that is suitable for grown ups as well as children. When you can't find the animals, the book helps to identify their tracks and even their droppings. Kids find that bit especially good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Signs of the Wild: Field Guide to the Spoor and Signs of the Mammals of Southern Africa
Used & New from: 17.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews