Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars secrets in the fire, 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Secrets in the Fire (Paperback)
Not at all what I was expecting from this author. Absolutely gripping, read in one sitting on a plane journey..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A life, 3 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets in the Fire (Paperback)
This is a moving story based on fact and not a usual Henning Mankell subject. It is sesitively handled but at times grim and is more suitable for older teenagers. Probably 14 plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My opinion, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets in the Fire (Paperback)
This was unusal reading matter for me but because it was a Mankell book I drew conclusions that it must be good. I was not wrong I have no need to tell you that Mankell is worth your money and time. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very touching Story about a terrible situation, 27 Nov 2012
By 
J. Jones (Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets in the Fire (Paperback)
Enjoyed the story, although it was some what shorter than I expected. Feels very much like his other African work, very honest and understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that blows up the issue of mines and unfairness, 6 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Secrets in the Fire (Paperback)
This book is surprising good. It is about two girls named Maria and Sofia. Who are sisters. They live under poor conditions in Africa.
The book is very different to other books. It is touching and moving. It makes you see what the world is really like, and how different our world is to theirs. It also make you think about how lucky you really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good introduction to Mankell, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets in the Fire (Paperback)
This is basically young peoples fiction,however if you like Mankell you will love this book . It introduces you to his love of Africa which isoften a theme of his adult fiction. If you have never read books by him other than the Wallander novels this is a good entry point regardless of age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something different from the creator of Wallender, 22 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets in the Fire (Paperback)
Set in Mozambique sometime during their war torn problems, this story, based on a true account, follows the young life of Sofia and her sister Maria, brother Alfredo and mother Lydia, as they flee bandits who burn down their home. Resettling in another village miles away from their homeland, they start to rebuild a new life, until the day Sofia steps on a landmine. She is seriously injured and ends up losing both legs, whilst sister Maria is so badly injured she later dies. The story then follows Sofias return to health, learning to walk on two artificial legs and her return to the village to her mum and new man. Not able to live in the household, she makes a new life for herself - initlally in the city, before returning as steamstress to the village.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 6 May 2013
By 
Mr. A. E. A. Baldry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets in the Fire (Paperback)
All Mankell's books make a great read, and this is no different. I found this book to be very interesting from the moment I started reading it and was loath to put it down untill I had finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets in the Fire
Secrets in the Fire by Henning Mankell (Paperback - 1 May 2000)
4.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews