Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great bicycle routes through France
Used the LP to bike from Nimes to Carcassonne. LP did a great job of outlining the trip. Each day there was a map that showed the elevation of the ride, detailed directions, and what to expect. Unfortunately, in the trip we took, some of the descriptions were vague on what to see or how to get around, so I would have liked to see more details on this. Also, a few new...
Published on 20 Aug 2001

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No entry for Calais?
This book is probably great if you're at the planning stages of a trip. If you're after general information about getting to France and cycling, then it's a bit vague. I expect that the majority of English speaking cyclists arriving in France will be coming via Calais or Boulogne, or perhaps over-land through Belgium. This book contains no entry for either French city,...
Published on 22 Aug 2006 by Hannah Dee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No entry for Calais?, 22 Aug 2006
By 
Hannah Dee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: France (Lonely Planet Cycling Guides) (Paperback)
This book is probably great if you're at the planning stages of a trip. If you're after general information about getting to France and cycling, then it's a bit vague. I expect that the majority of English speaking cyclists arriving in France will be coming via Calais or Boulogne, or perhaps over-land through Belgium. This book contains no entry for either French city, and doesn't cover the border with Belgium at all. So if you're thinking of pootling about north eastern France this simply isn't the book for you as it doesn't actually contain any specific information about the Nord-Pas-de-Calais region.

The regions covered in the book don't overlap, so there are other departments you won't be able to find much about: Poitou-Charentes is largely omitted, the cities of Lille and Lyon and surrounding areas don't appear in the index (or as far as I can tell the book) and there's a band of un-covered territory stretching from south of Nantes on the Atlantic coast to just south of Grenoble on the borders with Italy.

In all - if you want to parachute into the Champagne region, or teleport to the Pyrenees with your bicycle, then this is the book for you. If you're interested in getting aross France it's simply not going to be enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great bicycle routes through France, 20 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: France (Lonely Planet Cycling Guides) (Paperback)
Used the LP to bike from Nimes to Carcassonne. LP did a great job of outlining the trip. Each day there was a map that showed the elevation of the ride, detailed directions, and what to expect. Unfortunately, in the trip we took, some of the descriptions were vague on what to see or how to get around, so I would have liked to see more details on this. Also, a few new roads showed up that weren't mentioned, so bring a detailed map. Overall, a great biking book that I will use to explore the rest of France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best option available, but certainly not a bible, 29 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Benjamin Radford (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: France (Lonely Planet Cycling Guides) (Paperback)
A good idea, and the best option available for covering the whole of france in one simple book. But when riding some of the routes, I did get the feeling that they hadn't actually done so themselves, for example some hills and gradients will be mentioned while other far more significant ones will be missed out, and the choice of roads at some points are certainly not always the safest option when you have a bike loaded with panniers and camping gear.

By No means perfect, but if taken with a good pinch of salt will certainly show you more than bumbling around by yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best way to see France!, 15 Jan 2004
By 
Kim (St Albans, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: France (Lonely Planet Cycling Guides) (Paperback)
And you can eat as much as you like, because you're going to burn those calories off! We've done a few of the routes now, and though they vary in accuracy, and ease of following the directions given, that justs adds to the fun. The routes are superb in taking you off the beaten track as much as possible, showing gems of villages and stunning scenery along the way. Best off all are the suggestions about where to stay, e.g. we stayed in a vineyard on the Alsace route where a full, and very generous, wine tasting was thrown in for the price of the B&B. I would recommned the LP cycling books to those just wishing to start cycle touring, it makes it extremely easy, as well as those who wish to tackle the more serious routes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book will be your best friend, 29 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. Gareth Lewis (cardiff, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: France (Lonely Planet Cycling Guides) (Paperback)
As with any of the lonely planet books, this book is super.
There are detailed maps, guides where to eat for cheap or if you find you have a bit of money some days, places to spoil yourself, places of interest that you should visit etc.
We cycled all over France for 8 weeks and this book was our bible.
A few places here and there need to be updated but you won't be lost in the middle of nowhere with this book.
Fully recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title, 5 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great fan of both Lonely Planet and Rough Guide and own about thirty titles all of which have lived up to expectation and enhanced our travelling immensley. I bought this book as we are planning to cycle from Roscoff to Santander this autumn and thought it would describe Eurovelo and local cycle routes throughout France.
Instead it describes about five circular routes in various parts of France and completely fails to mention any of the long distance routes you might actually want to do.
A better description in the Amazon advert would help others to avoid wasting their money too!!
Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not comprehensive, 12 July 2011
As I live in Paris I bought this book hoping to find dozens of different routes that I could try throughout the country, and particularly in my region. Instead the book concentrates on just one or two routes for each region which is a shame I think. Take the Ile de France as an example: the only routes that are given in detail are Fontainebleau, Paris city centre and Giverny (with casual mentions of one or two others). A few more options would have been much more useful.

Rant over, this is still a well written and useful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LP Cycling in France 2009 - a real disappointment!, 27 Aug 2009
By 
J. Eastham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have the 2002/3 version of this book and you're expecting a suite of new routes and rides, you'll be bitterly disappointed. Although updated for Euro pricing and new contact details etc, the routes and rides are essentially the same. Moreover, they've removed most of the inspiring glossy photos midway through the book and used an awful purple & white print scheme throughout. The maps are not as clear as the older version and they use a grey-upon-grey colourscheme for some maps which makes it difficult to distinguish between terrain-features; the 'sea' grey cannot be distinguished from the 'national park' grey for example. Had LP made it clear that this was an updated reprint of the 2002/3 book, I would not have been so disappointed. If you don't have the 2002/3 book, you'll enjoy the routes but the poor printing choices will make using the guide a chore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inconvenient logistics and poor quality mapping, 29 April 2013
By 
mr (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are a few good points to this book, but there are many reasons why I would advise against buying this guide. The main ones are:

1 - Most routes are linear (rather than circular), and there is very litttle information regarding travel to and from the start and end points of the rides with your bike. Many routes don't appear to begin or end anywhere near transport hubs (e.g. train stations).

2 - The maps are very poor quality and they would be completely useless as a navigational aid on the bike. As as example one route I was interested in doing (a 3 day 167km loop in the Pyrenees) is shown on a map at scale approx 1cm:30km. The entire loop was contained within a square inch of paper, and it didn't even show many of the towns/villages that were described in the guide, including one of the overnight stops. The book does give you advice in which IGN maps you can purchase for a particular ride, but surely the point of a cycling guide is that it can be used to guide you when cycling?

3 - There is a superfluous 20 page section at the back titled 'Your Bicycle' which is essentially a guide to basic bike mainenance and set-up. This just seems a bit tokenistic as most people considering going on a foreign cycle tour would I suspect already know how to fix a flat tyre, or oil a chain, and could almost certainly identify their rear pannier bag. People who are completely new to cycle touring would be much better informed with one of the many excellent instructional books on bike maintenance and touring. The pages would instead have been better used adressing issues mentioned in 1 & 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs updating but good, 22 Aug 2009
By 
Richard Napier (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I live in France and whenever planning a cycle ride or trip we use this book. We have used it to ride the Brittany ride as well as a number of others. The details are good, but now seriously out of date - this includes no Euro prices, as well as some omissions and changes to the roads and routes used. If you keep your wits about you and use good sense you should be able to work round it.

I appreciate that this book was designed to be a lot of information squeezed into a small volume but there are a couple of points to think about

1) Non-locals would surely appreciate a guide to french road signs (colors and meanings particularly)
2) The size of the maps is so small, it is good practice to photocopy them and blow them up so they can slide into your map-holder
3) A bit of color would not go amiss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

France (Lonely Planet Cycling Guides)
France (Lonely Planet Cycling Guides) by et al (Paperback - 1 Feb 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews